We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June 2009”
Review of Holiday Calbis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Calbis
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Dalyan
Certificate of Excellence
Welwyn Garden City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“June 2009”
Reviewed August 16, 2009

We stayed at the Calbis for the 2nd time in June of this year.
The staff were very friendly and remembered us from last year.
Our room was very well appointed overlooking one of the two pools.
If you want a relaxed, friendly, clean hotel then we cannot recommend the Calbis highly enough.
We look forward to returning again next year.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WGCCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    83
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
154
284
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
doncaster
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

we were very lucky to be staying in one of the new rooms - Melisa. It was beautifully furnished, the only thing missing was a small fridge to keep your water chilled. We had a very relaxing 2 weeks with very friendly staff who work really hard to make your stay an enjoyable experience and nothing is too much trouble.
We ate at the hotel a couple of times and the food was lovely, much better than the menu board would have you believe. We did suggest to the staff that if they improved the board, they would have more guests staying for a very reasonably price dinner. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the pools are very clean.
Thank you Gokman and all the staff for a really lovely holiday - see you next year!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoncasterCaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

This was our first time in Turkey and we found the Dalyan write ups on Tripadvisor by accident really. The Holiday Calbis lives up to it's reviews and reputation - indeed, I think that it is almost impossible to really describe this hotel well enough to do it justice. I am not going to repeat the words of all the other positive reviewers; I will simply support them in everything they say. This truly is the friendliest, most relaxed and peaceful place that we have stayed in. The owner and staff even recognise and acknowledge you in town when they see you and from the moment you arrive, you are genuinely treated as a guest rather than a paying customer. Like a previous writer, we never return but we are already planning our trip to Dalyan and the Hotel Holiday Calbis for next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JURNEYMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed at the Calbis for 3 weeks from early July and from the first day we knew this hotel was going to be something special.
Being a chap in a wheelchair it was pleasing to see the size of the room we stayed in which was newly renovated and very spacious and contained a comfortable large double bed.The amount of storage in the room was more than adequate and the bathroom was big enough with the shower superb. There was also a small balcony to sit on as and when required with table and chairs however, most of the time it was too hot so we chose to take full advantage of the excellent Air con which was included in the cost along with a superb Turkish Breakfast every morning. Lunch and Dinner can also be taken at the hotel if you wish for an extra charge.
The Hotel was also spotlessly clean in all areas.
The hotel has 2 very nice swimming pools and on our pool days for obvious reasons we chose the larger one which gave us plenty of room and there was ample comfortable sunloungers with thick mattresses even towards the end of our 3rd week when the Hotel was getting full.
The hotel is owned and run by Gokmen and some of the most pleasant and helpful staff we have ever come across in Turkey and this was our 20th visit to the country.
From our collection at the airport to our trip back there 3 weeks later the whole Holiday Calbis experience was spot on and we will definately return in the near future.
A very big thank you to Ebril on reception for your continuous advice and a special thanks to Gokmen for all your help and assistance.

Magic B

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurkeyTink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Just back from a week in dalyan and can only reinforce the positive reviews on here.

The hotel is just fabulous and SUCH good value for money. We had a large ground floor room which had an excellent large bathroom/shower.
Rooms spotless as are the very attractive grounds. Staff friendly and helpful. Airport tranfer a breeze with great wee driver (aka george clooney) with a wicked sense of humour.

We were worried it would be too hot in Aug but there was always a light wind. The mozzies were not a big problem, if you used the local mozzie spray.
We forgot to take pool towels so had to buy some.
Dalyan is lovely with mountain backdrop and lovely marina area. It is now a little over commercial in parts but has enough turkish charm to overide the........ "full english" .......karoke and live sky football etc!
We looked for where the turkish people ate and went there , as we like turkish food- lots of places are now sadly catering for the english market .....cottage pie in turkey , come on !!!!
Oh and if you like dogs and cats they are everywhere!. Most restaraunts had a family of cats/kittens with a few wandering dogs thrown in or even puppies!.
On the dog issue ...why do they all have short legs here!!

The waiters in the centre of town esp round the mosque area can be a little pushy for your trade, but are always polite if you say no thanks "maybe later." We found out that many work on a commision only basis (not direct wages) so that's why they are so keen to get your trade.

Highlight of the holiday was Captain Ali's BBQ boat trip from 4- 9pm - swam in the warm sea (weird as thermal springs means it gets hotter lower down you go ) , sunset on the beach and we had the best meal of our holiday cooked by Ali's wife in the tiny galley. Coming back into the town with the moon on the river and the sound of the mosque in the background was so atmospheric.
Everyone in Dalyan was so happy - people r working their butts off in the bars, hotels, restaurants but they always had a smile and time to say hello. Great country, great people........ we will be back !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank md0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2009

This was our first time to Turkey. We wanted somewhere small but not too small, quiet but not dead and friendly but not pushy or invasive. We also wanted somewhere international, with interesting things to do on offer but also the facilities to allow us to enjoy doing absolutely nothing. Dalyan and Holiday Calbis delivered on all accounts and we have recommended both to everyone we know since we returned home. The hotel had all of the conveniences you hope for if you book with a tour company or large hotel chain but it had none of the drawbacks or compromises you usually have to make to get them.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scruffysnorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Our first visit to Turkey and even after doing much research, it surpassed any / all expectations. The Calbis is a fabulous place. Set in beautiful, mature gardens.. immaculately kept, with 2 pools + smaller ones for the children. It is an oasis. The buffet breakfast was fresh and plentiful. There is a restaurant if you don't want to walk the 15mins into town in the evening and a pool bar serving lunches for those lazy days. The rooms are cleaned regularly, with fresh towels laid out beautifully with flowers from the garden. All the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and I can't rate them highly enough. Captain Ali's boat trips and bbq are not to be missed.
On our first day looking around in town, we arranged a boat trip just for the two of us to go to Turtle beach and the mud baths and hot springs with a bbq lunch... brilliant day.
Another great trip is the 12 islands tour. If your idea of heaven is sun and sea, visiting beautiful bays and diving in the crystal clear water, then this is for you, plus you have a really nice lunch cooked for you by the crew and fresh fruit on the return.
I can't say enough just how beautiful Dalyan is and how friendly the people are. We didn't get to see and do everything, so we will definitely be returning next year and staying at the Calbis - I wish it were sooner.
Sue and Sheila

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue_bn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalyan hotels
0.4 mi away
Safak Apart & Hotel
Safak Apart & Hotel
#1 of 62 in Dalyan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dalyan Resort
Dalyan Resort
#14 of 62 in Dalyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crescent Hasirci Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Keskin Dalyan
Hotel Keskin Dalyan
#7 of 62 in Dalyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Calypso Plus
Hotel Calypso Plus
#12 of 62 in Dalyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Asur /Assyrian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Calbis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Calbis

Property: Holiday Calbis
Address: Gulpinar no 75, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dalyan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dalyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Calbis 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the best Hotel in Dalyan,we have 3 swimming pools, one is for adults only,our garden is the biggest in Dalyan Come and stay ,you will love our place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Calbis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Calbis Hotel Dalyan
Holiday Calbis Dalyan
Hotel Holiday Calbis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing