We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel!”
Review of Holiday Calbis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Calbis
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Dalyan
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“What a great hotel!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I visited the Calbis between 7th and 14th July 2013 with my wife and son and must say that it is an excellent hotel despite it's 3* status. The whole of the complex is immaculately clean and the grounds are stunning. 2 great pools, no loud music and exceptionally friendly staff (Ronaldo - my favourite waiter)

The rooms were basic but totally adequate with air con standard. We had a pool view 1st floor my son had a roadside balcony just across the corridor from us and both were fine. No mould in the bathroom, fresh decor and nice furniture (no fridge or TV but who wants one of them on holiday???). Breakfast was tasty if a little limited at times - always fresh fruit, toast, cheeses and salamis, coffee and teas and sometimes omelettes, traditional Turkish foods and beans / egg etc. Lunches were very tasty and good value.

WiFi is free all over the hotel and grounds, ideal for my lad to keep in touch with his mates back home. the Calbis is about 800 meters from the resort centre with a pleasant walk passing bars, cafes, restaurants and shops on the way. Dalyan is a wonderful place to holiday, nothing like my distant memories of Marmaris. Turkey has a reputation for mither and relentless touting from owners of bars and shops but not here, Dalyan is small and personable and if someone asks you once to try their establishment, they remember your face and do not drive you mad asking over and over the same things, simply wishing you a pleasant day which was welcome!

The night security guy at the Calbis was a lovely man - didn't catch his name but we always chatted after a night out. He works for 6 months continuous without a single night off doing 12 hour shifts on his own, sometimes in 30-35 degrees at night!!! Lovely fella.

If trip advisor had a 1 to 10 green circles instead of 5 then Calbis would get 9 from me, it's 90% quality. The limited breakfast choice was the only downside for me, plus the walk into the resort centre if you had trouble walking may be an issue. Value for money it is spot on and we hope to go back in October.

Room Tip: Pool view or Garden view rooms are preferable to the roadside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashdec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    84
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
161
294
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Fifth visit to Dalyan first at the Calbis. Cannot fault the amenities and cleanliness. Staff very helpful and friendly, special mention to reception staff and Ronaldo who greeted us every morning with a smile. Rooms would benefit from a small fridge for drinks and a telephone. The only criticism we had was the breakfast which was very basic and the problem with flies around the serving area. The pool area here excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitanPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Spent 2 weeks at Calbis - and what a delight it was. The complex was beautiful and kept very clean and tidy. All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The town had lots of lovely restaurants - we were particular fans of Sinan's. We also hired a scooter 2 explore the area (thanks to the services of Dalyan Rent-a-car (opposite the start of the marina). No matter where we went local people could not have been more friendly or helpful. And yes - like so many others we hope to return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwibat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is gorgeous!! There is two pools , both very big and plenty of sun beds! You don't have to move if you don't want to as Calbis gets the sun all day long!! However, it is not too far from restraunts or "town".
It is very peaceful and the view is gorgeous. You are surrounded by well kept grounds.
The poolside is kept extremely clean and the garden is very tidy!

The staff were also very nice and made us feel very welcome!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abaigh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited this hotel after having it recommended to us by people we met on holiday last year. Also read the Trip Advisor reports on it. We loved the Hotel, loved the resort and loved the people.Everybody I spoke to at the Hotel was of the same opinion as us and many planned to return along with all the many other return guests already there.
The rooms were basic but spotlessly clean and comfortable.
Breakfasts are not what some Brits like.No big fry ups .As we only eat fruit and toast wherever we go,this didn't bother us.
Tried lunch at the hotel on our first full day but were not impressed.After that we walked along the road to the Wishing Well Restaurant each day where we had delicious cheese salad rolls.(ask for butter if you like it on your rolls)
I don't think the hotel promoted their bar or evening meals very well and seemed quite content for all the guests to go out in the evening.
The pools were both very nice and both were clean and of a good size.I do not think they are suitable for children as they have no shallow end and are the same depth from one end to the other. The main pool is 6ft. deep and the other pool is 5ft. 3in deep.
The grounds are beautiful, there are loads of sunbeds and plenty of shade, both natural and man made.
We went on Captain Ali's boat trips from the hotel on two occasions and had two good days out, The food on the boat was very nice and loads of it.
All in all an excellent holiday and would recommend the Cablis and the resort without doubt.
A special mention for Ronaldo and Mehmet the waiters in the Restaurant.Thanks for the excellent and friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

If like us you want,peaceful,relaxing,quality surroundings this is the place to stay.The slightly out of town location is perfect - the walk (or stagger) helps walk off the lovely meals available in Dalyan.
There is not a lot to choose between many of the restaurants,but some are not in the best of locations to put it politely. Calbis Hotel is mainly a senior couples type hotel,there are couple of 'villas' for larger groups. If you are not so good in the pool or have small children who cannot swim be aware that the main pool is over six feet deep all around-floats are available! Also if you require the pool to convert to a volley ball court - you might find it a bit difficult.
Generally great, however the bar food and drink,quality,choice,pricing and general ambiance all need reviewing in our opinion....but were acceptable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartynN905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Calbis twice before, and the hotel is still as great as ever, the rooms, in the block we stayed are of a high standard and although this time we did not have a pool view this did not matter, all the staff and management are friendly, without being in your face, Erbu on reception is always smiling and helpful, the restaurant staff are the same. we were greeted every morning by a cheery good morning, even though they worked all day and in the the late eveining, special mention to Ronaldo, Mehmet and Nasra, Boris the bar manager and the other young lad who works behind the bar(sorry we didnt ask your name). even the cleaning ladies, who kept our room sparking. Gokan(the manager) and his dad are always around and they too always say hello. I was unsure this year if the fact that other companies have now discovered the Calbis that the increase in people using the hotel might change the atmosphere, but no it is still a nice hotel, just with more people around the pool, we used the restaurant at lunch time for a snack and the food was reasonable and tasty and freshly prepared, Drinks in the bar were the same as you would pay in town. my only quibble if there is one was that the bar lacked atmosphere in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor overlooking the pool, there are not lifts. Free Wifi around the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TudorWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalyan hotels
1.2 mi away
Dalyan Resort
Dalyan Resort
#14 of 63 in Dalyan
393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crescent Hasirci Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Hotel Calypso Plus
Hotel Calypso Plus
#15 of 63 in Dalyan
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel Montana
Boutique Hotel Montana
#21 of 63 in Dalyan
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Club Alla Turca
Club Alla Turca
#13 of 63 in Dalyan
470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Safak Apart & Hotel
Safak Apart & Hotel
#1 of 63 in Dalyan
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Calbis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Calbis

Property: Holiday Calbis
Address: Gulpinar no 75, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dalyan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dalyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Calbis 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the best Hotel in Dalyan,we have 3 swimming pools, one is for adults only,our garden is the biggest in Dalyan Come and stay ,you will love our place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Calbis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Calbis Hotel Dalyan
Holiday Calbis Dalyan
Hotel Holiday Calbis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing