We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday destination to go back to.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Calbis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Calbis
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Dalyan
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Holiday destination to go back to.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Holiday Calbis is exactly what it says, a holiday destination hotel. There are two pools set in spacious and well kept gardens with lawns and poolside for sitting in sun or shade. The rooms are very clean and functional. Each has a balcony and outdoor seats. The two poolside bars are relaxed, serve food and drink all day and are priced reasonably. The only evening meal we had was the BBQ night. It was pleasantly average. Downsides: breakfast was an uninspiring buffet, the beds have only a cotton bedspread to sleep under unless you asked for a sheet and rooms could do with a few more comforts like individual bedside lights. Be realistic; this is a 3*, Turkish hotel catering mainly to package tour operators. The competition is small bed & breakfast villas. If we wanted for anything the staff were really pleased to help, knew what they were doing and the main people had perfect english.

Overall this was a really nice place to be that was fantastic value. Expect to find the cost of flights + hotel on a package to be he same as just buying the flights alone.

The location on the edge of town in an area of villas is a bonus because the centre has become a little tacky with shops, restaurants and bars hassling for business. The short walk down a quiet straight road or via a paved walkway by the river gives you a choice about going there. There are cafe bars and restaurants on the way too if you do not want to walk.

We intend to be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a garden side room. The street is quiet but the view isn't much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brit_in_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    83
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
154
283
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The owner has certainly done his homework and come up with an excellent hotel. Spacious grounds in well kept gardens, chilled, laid back but attentive staff. May not have everything you want but if you ask and they can get they will.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to go late on in the year which was still warm but not too hard on the pocket. Just by chance, I'd gone to see a client who had just come back from Dalyan and was raving about what a great holiday he'd had and how lovely the hotel was. He made me go on the internet then and there and take a look at it. I had to agree with him, it did look nice and so we gave it a try. That was four years ago and we've been back to Holiday Calbis every year since and have just booked again for this September.

Holiday Calbis is a very comfortable family run hotel situated on the outskirts of Dalyan in pretty grounds and surrounded by mountains - just a short stroll from town but far enough away to be out of the hustle and bustle. The hotel does lay on a mini bus in the evenings for those who don't wish to walk (most restaurants will organise transport back and there are also taxis to be had in the centre of town) but we usually prefer to try and burn off some of the calories from the Magnums we've sampled during the day from the hotel bar! The walk probably only takes 5-10 minutes or so at my slow pace.


The staff are extremely friendly and are always on hand to help. The setting is lovely, the rooms airy and clean with good air con and lovely powerful showers, the pool area very pretty and with free wifi which is always useful. We stay in a standard room which is quite sufficient for our needs but there are larger rooms available and also two villas in the grounds. There is a library and lounge with television so if you run out of your own books or have forgotten your Kindle charger they have a good selection to keep you going. If you're not a lover of large, impersonal hotels like me, the Holiday Calbis is the perfect choice.

We book our flights ourselves and also the hotel direct using their airport pick up and we've never had any problems. It's all been very smooth. Much more so than the short break we booked in Venice earlier this year through a well known travel company!

We go towards the end of September/beginning of October as a 'late in the year chill out and recharge the batteries' type holiday and it has yet to disappoint. The temperatures are usually up in the early 30s still and even in the evenings, I think in the four years we've been going, I've worn a cardigan only twice. There is plenty to do and see in and around Dalyan itself. We highly recommend the trips the hotel organises with Captain Ali, particularly the Sunset BBQ which is spectacular, but there are also other trips which can be booked up in town. Well worth a visit is the ruined city of Kaunos and also the beautiful, unspoilt Iztuzu beach, famous for it's endangered turtles.

Dalyan itself has a large selection of cafes and restaurants to chose from, most offering traditional turkish menus but pizzas, chinese and indian are also available and you'll also find some cafes offering a full english breakfast if you really want one! (Personally we find the breakfast at the Calbis more than adequate). There are plenty of bars to try out as well - we particularly like the Jazz bar which has live music from about 9 every night plus a good range of cocktails - just right to round of the evening before heading back to the Calbis bar for a night cap or three. Eating out in Dalyan is very really reasonable and on average with a starter, a main and a couple of beers we were spending around £25-30 for two and most evenings my boyfriend went for steak so not the cheapest of options. The Calbis does do food though out the day and evening meals are available but we quite enjoy the stroll into town in the evenings after a hard days sunbathing! We always come back with a lot of lira left over.

I think it speaks volumes for both the Holiday Calbis and Dalyan itself that a lot of people return year after year - especially now in the present economic climate as it makes for a very reasonably priced holiday. Can't wait for September!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Sarah_Lou_222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 for 2 weeks in a family room. The grounds and hotel rooms are well kept and clean. The staff are the most friendly helpful staff you could wish to stay with while abroad, always smiling and ready to help. (Ronaldo and bar staff are a great assett). We stayed bed and breakfast and the breakfast was always lovely and fresh with a good choice. Good distance into town. We will definately return one day soon I hope.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sare2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlehampton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I only stayed one week at the Hotel Calbis in september 2012 but everything was excellent.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and well managed. It was just the right distance from the heart of Dalyan to be close enough to walk but not too close to all the hustle and bustle.
Dalyan was a great place. I took my inflatable kayak with me and spent many happy hours on the river and the sea. Loads to see and do. I would recommend both the hotel and the town. A special thanks to Captain Ali who made the stay more colourful.

Room Tip: we were just allocated a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was our first visit to Turkey, and we chose Dalyan because it is an unspoilt, environmentally protected area. We were there from 4-11 October. We are so pleased we found the Holiday Calbis - it is perfect! The staff are very friendly and helpful, especially Boris. The hotel was immaculately clean. The rooms very comfortable and cleaned daily (the bed linen was changed twice a week and the maids were very creative with the towels, shaping them into swans and decorating them with flower petals). Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. The buffet breakfast was brilliant, there was always plenty of everything including freshly made omlettes and fried eggs cooked to order while you waited. The town of Dalyan is an easy ten minute walk from the hotel, plenty to see on the way. There are loads of restaurants to choose from - we ate out every night and every meal was excellent, and the prices are very reasonable. We ate at Yeners; The Hidden Garden; The Chef, amongst others. Would loved to have tried all the other restaurants too, the menus everywhere were fabulous. Try the steaks especially, and the pancakes were very tasty for a lunchtime snack! We tried our first Turkish coffee one afternoon whilst reclining on very comfy deep cushions, sat outside a cafe in Dalyan, just watching the world go by. Bliss! And you must try the boat trips. We went to Koycegiz market - very colourful and bustling, great for a mooch around and don't be afraid to barter, it's all part of the fun! We also took a dolmus to Iztuzu Beach (where the Loggerhead turtles nest). Lovely beach, great restaurant. At the one end of the beach is the Turtle Hospital which is worth a visit to learn all about the efforts being made to keep the area protected. The mud bath and thermal pool is also a must! The hotel has its own boat and regularly runs trips for hotel guests, just check the list at Reception for what is available. We did have a couple of cracking thunderstorms two nights in a row which resulted in a powercut - we were in a restaurant at the time, and so the candles came out but it never spoilt the ambience and enjoyment of the evening. The powercuts never last long and all is restored to normal in a very short time!
Wished we could have stayed at Holiday Calbis longer - a week is just not enough. We will go for longer next time, there is so much to see and do around Dalyan. All in all, an amazing hotel, couldn't ask for better, and would highly recommend. You won't be disappointed if you stay here! I could write more, but you will just have to go and see for yourself!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 312. A nice ground floor room with balcony overlooking the main pool area. The o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SheShe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have just come back off a weeks holiday to the hotel calbis .This was our first family holiday abroad and we loved it :) ,the hotel was very clean and loved the bed making by the cleaners they were great . We took our 3 children aged from 12 to 5 who also loved the holiday was just a shame there was no other children really for them to play with . Breakfast was fine and was very pleased they were cooking eggs each morning , we ate out most evenings ,the patio was great and had very friendly staff which the children loved. We was a bit unsure at first but after a few days it felt like home, all the shop keepers also very friendly and made you feel very welcome. We hired a boat privately 1 day and went to see the turtles and swam under some caves which was great and he also cooked us lunch ! this was a lovely day and we only paid £80 and that was with a tip . The man was very nice and spoke good english (he also didnt mind when my son was sick over the side of the boat lol ).There are many good shops in the town and a lovely coffee shop called digbys , great carrot cake :) the boat mans name is captin mahmet . The only thing about the hotel was the pool is 6ft deep so had to buy inflatables but the kids loved them . Also dalyan is prone to power cuts so be prepared . If your looking for a nice relaxing holiday in amazing surroundings in turkey then this is it . The staff are all very friendly including borris :) x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mentalkids3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalyan hotels
0.4 mi away
Safak Apart & Hotel
Safak Apart & Hotel
#1 of 63 in Dalyan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Keskin Dalyan
Hotel Keskin Dalyan
#6 of 63 in Dalyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dalyan Resort
Dalyan Resort
#16 of 63 in Dalyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crescent Hasirci Hotel & Villas
1.3 mi away
Hotel Asur /Assyrian Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Calypso Plus
Hotel Calypso Plus
#12 of 63 in Dalyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Calbis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Calbis

Property: Holiday Calbis
Address: Gulpinar no 75, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dalyan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dalyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Calbis 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the best Hotel in Dalyan,we have 3 swimming pools, one is for adults only,our garden is the biggest in Dalyan Come and stay ,you will love our place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Calbis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Calbis Hotel Dalyan
Holiday Calbis Dalyan
Hotel Holiday Calbis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing