We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveler rating
282
122
39
19
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
122
39
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverturkeyhalf boardpool attendantbreakfast and dinnermeal timesancient citywatching the boatsflat screen tvturkish bathexcellent showerair conturkish cuisinerelaxing holidaypool towelsisland boat tripnext year
Filter
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 473 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2010

As has been said by many this hotel is in a fabulous location. Spacious well cared for, flower filled gardens roll down to the river, the ruins of the ancient city of Caunos can be seen on the other side with the rock tombs opposite and mountains in the distance. There is never a shortage of sunbeds and plenty of shade available if you want it.
We stayed for 2 weeks on bed and breakfast though it seemed that dinner is so reasonably priced that we might as well have booked half board. Breakfast had plenty of choice though would have benefited from a little more variation each day. We stayed for dinner on two nights and found the starters and desserts great but the main courses a bit disappointing.
The standard ground floor rooms are smart with small terraces, they are adequately sized but no more. We didnt find that a problem as most the time you're out of the room anyway. Cleaning standards were excellent. We did have a look at other kinds of rooms and discovered that the family rooms are probably best value, they are quite a bit bigger but dont have terraces and are on the first floor. The suites are lovely, and in the quietest and most picturesque part of the hotel.
The hotel operates a complimentary boat service to the nearest beach every other day - do go, its fabulous!
There are one or two things that we were less keen on. The bar service is very variable, with one or two of the bar staff being very slow and seemingly unsure of how to make some of drinks on the menu. All drinks are very overpriced and that does get a bit annoying when you are spending the day sunbathing by the pool so have to buy them or die of thirst!
Only one of the three main reception staff speaks good english and is a rather melancholy character. The stand -out winners for overall friendliness, helpfulness and a high standard of service were Ali Osman - who looks after the pool area and will also row you across the river should you wish to visit Caunos and Ercan - a barman/waiter who is very helpful in organising trips.Having read the other reviews on here before we went i was a bit concerned abouth how long the walk to the town was and quite how dusty. So that you know what to expect, it takes 7 mins to walk it a normal speed, 10 mins when its middle of the day and hot.
A small part of the route isnt tarmaced and is a bit dusty but i did it most evenings wearing heels and a maxi dress without any problem (Im female I hasten to add!).
Having looked round the town we did feel that it was without doubt the best place to stay, there are other nice places but nowhere that has the same stunning setting. Ive also reviewed some of the restaurants we visited in that section.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WatfordWelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Dalyan Resort, nothing very different to add to some of the recent reviews - positives are the location (on the river and very close to Caunos) and the staff (who by and large were great, especially Ali) - the food isn't wonderful but is actually pretty good for Dalyan - breakfasts had plenty of choice however unless you are a huge fan or rather tasteless processed meats and similarly tasteless cheeses you will struggle to over eat. Avoid the lunch menu at all cost!. Beware of the bar prices as mentioned by others and a price list would certainly be a good idea - I was shocked on the last day to find that a coke and a sprite were £2.50 each!. Had the evening meal now and again, good choices of salads and desserts, but sometimes let down by the main courses.

The gym is very weary and not worth using, the equipment is of poor quality and has clearly seen better days, although the Turkish Bath was well worth it.. The standard rooms are small but adequate, although the aircon was too noisy for me. The previous reviewers gripes about the hotel rules when you check in are well founded, especialy being given a small piece of paper and made to read it by the front desk outlining their policy about the use of towels!! Did make you wonder whether you checking into a hotel or a prison. Overall however I would recommend the hotel.

The greatest disappointment however was the food at restaurants in the town, of which there appear to be several hundred - as a previous reviewer has already pointed out they have many things in common, the menus are all virtually identical and with one or two exceptions the quality of the food was mediocre at best, often very poor, with little evidence of any chef like skills at all. Exceptions were Ramazan Han in the centre of town with excellent service and great food and the Taj Mahal near the mosque if you fancy a good curry - which after several days of so called Turkish specialities came as a blessing - all too often as at Safran and the Hidden Garden the service was slow, the meals were poor and were followed by a cabaret of cats and occasionally dogs fighting for scraps (often fed to them by the waiters) under you feet.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sgrenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Just spent a week B&B at the Dalyan Resort. We have been to Turkey many times and been to Dalyan before so we know what to expect.

Positives;

The cleanest hotel and most immaculate grounds I have ever stayed at anywhere not just Turkey. There was no hard sell for anything here unlike other hotels I have been in where they pester you all day to buy Turkish bath, ice creams and trips etc.

Rooms, (we were upgraded to a suite having only booked a standard room) appointed to a high standard with quality furniture and a wonderful shower station. (I think standard rooms have different showers). Separate lounge with 3 piece suite with LCD TV and separate air con which was free. Bedroom had a firm double bed, separate air con, sliding wardrobes and TV plus other furniture. Free safe with a proper key not a number pad.

The Grounds; As I said, beautiful, lovely setting by the river, lots of garden furniture scattered around the garden so you can get away and find a peaceful spot. Absolutely immaculate with gardeners working around the hotel all day on and off. A real credit to the owner.

The Pool; Again the cleanest pool I have experienced anywhere and it was nice and warm, been to other hotels in Turkey the same time of year and they have been freezing. However quite deep all over so maybe not ideal for all. Separate small kiddies splash pool.

Food; Only went B&B so can't comment on the evening meal but the breakfasts were excellent. Normal Turkish fare plus a chef cooking fresh omelettes and eggs plus a hot selection every day. The view of the tombs from the breakfast room was beautiful. Snacks were available all day, (Club sandwiches, burgers etc) and they were excellent too.

Drinks; 6Tl for a large Effes compared to 5Tl down the town so I didn't think that was too bad, you pay your bar tab at the end and we kept a count and it was spot on. Dogan the barman is a really nice guy and always helpful.

Staff; All of the staff "On the ground" were helpful and friendly to a tee, some of the back room staff need take a lead from them. Special mention to Dogan the Barman and Erkan who kept it upbeat.

The Trips; You are invited to the hotels trips by Erkan (excuse the spelling) a great guy, always friendly and happy and again no hard sell just go if you want. We did the mud baths in the hotel boat, these were a different mud baths than the more touristy ones we went to last time and were far better, the trip cos 25 Tl (about £11) plus 4Tl (£1-80ish) to get in to the baths. We also did an all day trip out in to the countryside on the hotel minibus cost 55 Tl plus you pay for lunch and other bits and pieces, cost about 35 Tl on top for food and drinks. This was an ok trip seeing the real Turkey and going up the mountain to look at the Delta but at one point we visited a hot sulphur spring and this was like a death trap, the steps were broken and under the water were lots sharp rocks that could do serious damage to your shins so I wouldn't recommend doing this part of the trip. Erkhan organises the trip around what the guests want to do. The hotel boat goes to the beach every other day and this was free.

Out and About; Got to recommend the Kordon restaurant, great staff and excellent food, you'll find in in the town on the river where the taxi boats dock. Also the Mustang bar which is in the town and they own the Dalyan Cafe opposite, great snacks and beer and really good prices, try the chicken wrap, delicious.

Negatives;

We too were read the do's and don'ts and consequential penalties and fines as soon as we arrived ( as previous reviews) even though we were behind another couple and heard it then. The receptionist didn't speak good English and just read off a sheet. (He couldn't understand we didn't want hotel towels as we brought our own, so took the tokens anyway) This could just be left in the room, it made you think you were checking into a detention centre.

About a 10-12 minute walk to town so a bit far out if you aren't very mobile but you do get the benefit of peace and quiet being that far away from the town.

If you want loud music and banging nighlife then go to Marmaris, this hotel is not for you. Kids may get bored easily in Dalayan, again if you want theme parks and aqua parks try somewhere else.(This isn't really a negative for me)

Feedback for the Hotel;

Thankyou for an excellent holiday we found the hotel excellent but there is always room for improvement. I think it's a shame you charge for the canoe's etc it would be nice to be free as there is not much other entertainment.
A courtesy bus to the town maybe twice a day would be nice, you have your own minibus so it would be minimal cost.
Please don't be so officious with the rules at check in, leave them in the room. I can understand not being allowed to bring alcoholic drinks in but as for water and snacks like crisps and chocolate etc. I think this should be allowed as I didn't see any snacks for sale in the hotel, may be a hotel shop??
Also a minor issue, we loved the swings in the garden but without covers it was too hot to sit on them.

Here are a few things that may be useful if you are travelling to Turkey or similar countries for the first time;

1) Watch your luggage weight, there is a strict £12 per kilo charge for overweight bags. It's much cheaper to buy the extra allowance before you go. Be careful buying Turkish delight to bring back it weighs a ton.

2) Wear mossie spray at all times day and night otherwise you will get eaten alive especially by the river.

4) Take anti bacterial handwipes and use before eating if you are out and about or on trips,

5) From 1/1/2010 you cannot take fluids over 100ml through Dalaman airport. Make sure you eat and drink before you get there it is one of the most expensive airports I have ever experienced.

6) Unbelievably there is now a smoking ban in Turkey in inside spaces which is excellent for non smokers like us who like to eat in a smoke free environment. What constitutes an inside space however seems open for interpretation.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank rbwndover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights in early June & my views are similar to those of Wilberforce posted earlier.

Positives...great location on the river; large clean & lovely rooms (pity they did not build balconies though) with great towels; decent restaurant; very good breakfasts; fabulous pool and lovely service from Ali. Kaunos (great Roman ruins) is 15 minutes away and the nearby beach is one of the best in Turkey (accessible every other day via the hotel's own boat).

We booked Half Board through Travel Republic and got good value for money.

Negatives...the welcome! I've never experienced anything like this in my life. The manager at reception is a decent man who has to work ludicrously long hours and I assume follow a horrible welcome script. This is a long list of rules...essentially fines for losing towels, safe keys, room keys and a mini lecture on the penalties for bringing drink into the hotel (including water). We were told that if drinks were found in the room they would be confiscated & kept in reception. We were then offered a welcome drink! Priceless.

If we must have rules and fines print them up & leave them in each room but please don't welcome your guest with them.

Socially not much happens at the hotel. Trips are run but they are not advertised (you are invited onto them). There's a nice bar but its over-priced so people don't stay there long & instead head off on the 15-20 minute walk into town after dinner. If the bar cut the prices (happy hours?) guests would stay & socialise and spend money. And the hotel would make more money.

Furthermore If the hotel didn't charge for the table tennis, the canoes, the tennis people would use them. Instead they remain forlorn and unloved.

Would I recommend this hotel? I have to say no...its not much fun & the owners could generate so much more repeat business if they made it so. Maybe this is what happens when you rely on tour companies for business rather than independent holiday makers. So go to the Hotel Kilim until Dalyan Resort sorts out its small but significant failings. They are not that hard to fix.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honda2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

The riverside location of this hotel, about 10 minutes walk away from the busy town, is excellent and makes for a most relaxing holiday. The staff are superb and the hotel is serviced to a very high standard. We particularly enjoyed the food which has a largely Turkish influence, so don't expect chips or even many potatoes, just delicious, flavoursome dishes from the four course buffet, served alfresco around a floodlit pool in the evenings, and sometimes with a solo guitarist in the background - very atmospheric. Plenty of options at breakfast too and great omelettes, but I wish fresh orange juice was included as a matter of course in the daily tariff and not charged separately - perhaps just in small glasses rather than hi-ball as now could be achieved?

During the day, there are plenty of sunbeds to choose from either around the wonderful and well maintained pool, anywhere in the pristine garden, or on a reed edged deck along the riverbank. There are shady options too on giant bean bags near the river for a quiet read, or lots of umbrellas to erect for those who want them. There's generally a good ambience at the hotel, and we particularly enjoyed chatting to our fellow guests or picking up local knowledge from the friendly staff. The rooms, whilst simple, are clean and well kept, with good air conditioning and mosquito netting at the windows, and a wonderful shower in the compact bathroom.

This is a quality hotel, and not for those on a tight budget, as obviously it can be a little dearer than B&B's or restaurants in the town. Yes, they are very strict about not bringing drinks in from outside, and I have suggested that they display their prices for bar drinks and wine more clearly so that guests can at least make an informed choice, enjoy what they have, and not live in fear of their bill at the end of the holiday. Imported drinks always come at a premium whichever country you visit in my experience, and we always choose locally produced alcohol to make our spend go further and these are indeed available at the Dalyan Resort - just not obviously so. I do however agree with a previous reviewer that bottled water is too expensive and a staple like this should be priced as a commodity.

In any case, you'd be hard pushed to find a more delightful setting in Dalyan to spend your well earned holiday, with friendly, efficient staff, excellent service and well maintained grounds and facilities. I thoroughly recommend the Dalyan Resort Hotel, and will certainly return in the future.

As for Dalyan itself, we loved it, what with the hustle and bustle of the boats up and down the river, the surprisingly lively town - a bit more touristy than we expected, but a good contrast to our hotel - the wealth of wildlife and stunning surrounding countryside, and especially the wonderful Turkish people, who always make you so welcome. Kas has long been my favourite Turkish destination, but definitely have to return to Dalyan and see more!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wirralite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews