We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place for lunch or afternoon tea!”
Review of Dalyan Iz Cafe

Dalyan Iz Cafe
Ranked #1 of 9 Dessert in Dalyan
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Art Gallery & Garden Cafe closed on Thursdays
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A wonderful place for lunch or afternoon tea!”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Just got back from a 2 month stay in Dalyan and took the time to visit many old favourites & new restaurants too, Dalyan Iz Cafe being one of those we have been going to since it opended and are always made v welcome and served the most delicious food.
The highlight are Louise's homemade cakes (usually with ice cream eg Apricot Muffins, Victoria Sponge with Strawberries!!); their salads are gorgeous and so fresh too especially the Chilli Iz salad (my husband's favourite!).
The cafe is in a lovely, peaceful garden with lovely plants & music as well as plenty of shade.
Inside should not be forgotten either as it holds rooms of delightful arts & crafts and traditional Turkish items ideal for gifts.
We have recommended Dalyan Iz to many friends and like us, all keep going back time & time again so, need I say more??!!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahM2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    49
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Wondeful.”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We have been told about this place many times over the years but this was the first time we have actually made the effort to find it - in fact, its no effort at all, you just go up the street by th post office and its the third right turn with the turkuaz estate agency on the corner.
I honestly wish we'd gone looking for it earlier as this is an absolute gem.
The garden truly is a little oasis of calm and feels cool and shaded even in the hottest midday sun, the house has been converted into an art gallery displaying arts and crafts from people local to Dalyan and you are left alone to wander at your own pace with no hassle whatsoever.
Back outside, we decided to have a spot of lunch and were very impressed with the small vegetarian menu offering open sandwiches, salads and bruschettas plus homemade cakes and muffins for those with a sweet tooth. We both chose different open sandwiches which were much bigger than expected and extremely tasty.
The drnks are all fresh too and we particularly enjoyed the homemade lemonade.
I cannot recommend this place highly enough , we will definitely be returning!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Selina_J_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A little oasis of tranquility”
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Run by a Turkish man and his English wife, Dalyan Iz serve a limited and reasonably-priced range of vegetarian snacks and cakes in the beautifully shady garden of their house. Perfect for a light lunch, or just a coffee and cake, away from the heat and bustle of the busier areas of Dalyan. Part of their house has been converted into a gallery displaying/selling Turkish art and crafts, and you are free to browse at will. Try it and you'll be hooked! I can't give exact directions, but it's a stone's throw from Metin Pizza (which is just off the mosque square).

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BristolBoy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawforth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A beautiful experiance”
Reviewed June 2, 2011

If you want something a little bit different then visit this restaurant. Run by a turkish man and his english wife so the best of both worlds. It is also an art gallery and if you run out of books they have quite a selection from which to choose. Either to swop or buy.
The food is tasty, well presented and the cakes are out of this world. Yes I really was impressed. the cafe is open from 9am to 17-30 but closed on a Thursday.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShawforthBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dalyan Iz Cafe also viewed

 
Dalyan, Mugla Province
Dalyan, Mugla Province
 

Been to Dalyan Iz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing