We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second change - same result!”

Gel Gor Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #101 of 160 Restaurants in Dalyan
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Second change - same result!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Second time this year that we visited Dalyan and decided to give Gel Gor a second change. We arrived on a lunch time and during the whole time there were no other visitors to the restaurant. We were aware from our first visit that there are no menus or prices so when we ordered, we asked the prices. We precisely chose 3 meze from a vast selection as we werent that hungry (we were told 6 tl each), one crab (which wasnt the crab that he showed us and one crab salad and a bottle of white wine. When the meze arrived it was a huge plate of about 12 different meze which we most definately did not order. A single crab (not blue crab) and an average crab salad. The waiter came to our table just twice, to bring the wine and then the food. The staff completely ignored us, not once asking if everything was ok. We asked for the bill, staff had their backs to us reading newspapers, we paid the bill and left. There was no point in trying to complain because they did not even understand hand gestures (pointing at 3 meze). We will be returning to Dalyan in June 2013 because it is a beautiful place but we will not be returning to Gel Gor. One other thing, the view is probably the least attractive along the whole of the river.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    10
    9
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Its changed.... for the worse”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have been going to Dalyan for many years and we stayed in Ozalpe accom at first but then found the Hotel Asur so stayed there for around five years before hiring villas for our latests stays. It was whilst at the asur we found the Gel-Gor and we just loved our first visits. We had the freshest of fish and personal service from the owner and a great setting and the prices were fine. (The smoke eel for starters still lives in my memory) However later visits found the restrnt had gone upmarket and there was a posh wine waiter type- fancy tablecloths- and the old sea wall and arch had been knocked down and a wine menu that frightened you with the prices (cheapest bottle of red was 55tl most were 75tl and over) Whilst the fish was still good we found the ambience had gone so we did not return this year. A pity!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank al1cante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“can't believe it.”
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We are in Dalyan at the moment, our third visit this year and we have just been unfortunate enough to go into Gel-Gor restaurant where they don't have menu's or prices on show. So willing to give them a try we ordered two beers and picked three starters each believing that they would just bring a bit of each as that is what we asked for, we luckliy we didn't order the main course as there was nobody there to tell us how they would cook our fish until later. Five of the starters arrived and each one was a full size portion ( a bit strange as there is only two of us) Now don't get me wrong I will normally eat anything put in front of me but out of the five we only liked one of them so we decided not to go any further and just ask for the bill, as it arrived so did our sixth plate which was hot on the outside and still fridge cold on the inside. Needless to say we didn't eat that either, with one Efe's each the bill came to 79tl !!!!!! We haven't paid that much for a full meal anywhere else. I don't like to knock places and I will be writing a full review of all the brilliant places we have been to whilst here when we get back, but we feel we have been stung on this one and wanted to warn everyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TopCat1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Deep Fried Fish”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were recommended this restaurant by a turkish friend of a friend. You can get a free return taxi from the centre of Dalyan which saves the long walk. The view and setting was lovely but it was very quiet on the evening we visited (Sunday), the service was friendly but very laid back, we waited ages for someone to take our drinks order. There is no menu, you are guided to a room where they display in a chill counter a huge selection of mezes (vegetarian and seafood) and a smaller selection of fish. We had a small selection of mezes followed by fish (Groupa, Vegetarian Fish and Red Mullet) washed down with a bottle of wine. The wine and mezes were excellent but we were so disappointed with the fish. We were advised that the fish would be fried which wasn't a problem until it turned up on the plate we realised all the selection of whole fish had been deep fried in a light batter which took away the delicate taste. We didn't complain as they did advise us how the fish would be cooked but we presumed it would have been lightly fried in oil or butter. If and when we visit next time we will learn from our mistake and ask for it to be grilled.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DAAA26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
345 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Delightful staff, delicious food”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This was the nearest restaurant to our hotel, the Asur, and we gave it a try late one evening when we were too lazy to walk the 800 metres into town. Good decision!
The other diners appeared to be Turkish, and the waiters spoke only a little English, which added to the authenticity. We were taken indoors to choose from a wide selection of meze dishes, and a big chiller cabinet full of gleaming fresh fish. We pointed to a large bright-eyed shiny specimen, which was duly cooked to perfection and served to us at our outside table. Simple and delicious - just what we wanted. The charming staff overcame the language barrier with smiles and attentive service, adding to our enjoyment of the meal.
Staying nearby, we saw the restaurant's location every day, however for visitors staying at the other end of town I'd recommend making the short trek along to Gel-Gor to eat a delicious meal in a lovely setting by the river's edge - it's well worthwhile.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gapdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gel Gor Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Dalyan, Mugla Province
Dalyan, Mugla Province
 
Dalyan, Mugla Province
Dalyan, Mugla Province
 

Been to Gel Gor Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing