We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gecit Restaurant

Gecit Restaurant
Ranked #50 of 157 Restaurants in Dalyan
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: You have to try the Gecit Restaurant which is family run and serves the most delicious food. We tried a number of differant restaurants during our last visit to Dalyan and rated the Gecit as one of our favourties. The staff are so friendly and the food that they serve is wonderful. We will be back next time we visit Dalyan. Forgot to mention that the prices are very reasonable compared to the other places that we tried.
Stockton-On-Tees
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friendly place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Gecit restaurant was fantastic very good food, good service and just off the Main Street so handy to get too. I would recommend anyone visiting dalyan to have a meal here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SPD24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    20
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copthorne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and I went to Gecit on 17 Sept 2013. Arrived at around 9.15pm, ordered roast lamb, fish casserole and a bottle of wine. The usual bread and olive appetiser was served promptly. The we waited - and waited - and waited. The few other people in the place were also waiting and complaining. After asking the waiter a couple of times we got to nearly 11pm before the food arrived. The lamb was in a small dish, tastless and clearly poor quality meat. The fish casserole was better, but not much. Both dishes were accompanied by a spoonful of rice and about 6 chips. We were disappointed to say the least, so when I asked for the bill I told the waiter how we felt. His response: "If you didn't like it why didn't you send it back?" I replied that I wasn't prepared to wait another hour and a half! The bill was around £33 (100 lira) and I suggested in view of the poor food and service I should only pay 60 lira. The waiter replied that if I did this "his boss would call the police". The boss was also there and I felt the situation was becoming threatening, so I paid in full and left.
We have spent a couple of holidays in Dalyan and eaten in numerous restaurants, enjoying pretty good food and charming service. Gecit was without doubt one of the worst experiences we have encountered in Dalyan, and I feel people should be aware.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Inexpensive but patchy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Good flatbread and dips are free and delicious but service was slow although the restaurant was far from busy.Mixed meze for two was enough for four and was good quality, as was the lamb/aubergine and chicken/aubergine.The lamb shank 'special' however was reminiscent of boil-in-bag cuisine and the sauce was a watery Bisto-like gravy- a big disappointment.With 3 beers and 2 glasses of wine the bill came to £15 pp - great value with only the lamb preventing a higher rating

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice food shame about the service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We have been to our fair share of restaurants in Dalyan and had been overall impressed, we went to this restaurant due to its current ranking of 4 on trip adviser. Unfortunately we left disheartened and in need of a drink.

When we had entered one of the waiter's said he had no tables but would set us one up on the table he was currently using his laptop on .... at the time this seemed lovely but probably should have been a warning that the waiter would then spend 90% of his time on his laptop. We eventually managed to order our mains, the menu was good and catered for most. We didnt order any starters but were given free bread, dip and olives which was lovely.

Then the problems started whilst we waited over an hour and a half since eating the free appetisers, one of the waiters took our empty drink glasses and left not giving us a chance to order more. It was impossible to get a waiters attention when there weren't any around. We waited for one to surface and quickly caught his attention and ordered more drinks as we were very aware of all the other customer's waiting for attention too. We eventually got our drinks and without asking the waiter stated the food would be along soon.


In the end we waited for well over an hour and a half for our mains which in all fairness were very well cooked, the only fault was I had asked for no chips anything else instead .... but chips is what I got.

Overall the atmosphere due to other not so happy customers wasn't great and the service surprisingly was non-existent, but the food was amazing and the value was good. It could have just been an off day as their reviews are fab and thats why we went but unfortunately can only base it on our experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catfoot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All in the family...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our first visit to this lovely restaurant. Service excellent but not too intrusive. Very friendly and just off of the main street so not so noisy that we could not chat with friends. We had king prawns which were very succulent and a prawn 'stew' which was equally delicious. Lovely to find a family run restaurant - do try !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gecit Restaurant also viewed

Dalyan, Mugla Province
 
Dalyan, Mugla Province
 

Been to Gecit Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing