We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming”
Review of Gecit Restaurant

Gecit Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 159 Restaurants in Dalyan
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: You have to try the Gecit Restaurant which is family run and serves the most delicious food. We tried a number of differant restaurants during our last visit to Dalyan and rated the Gecit as one of our favourties. The staff are so friendly and the food that they serve is wonderful. We will be back next time we visit Dalyan. Forgot to mention that the prices are very reasonable compared to the other places that we tried.
bristol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

With Eray, also known as ' Ali' (owner) at front of house, and his two nephews Chan & Yogi you will receive a warm welcome at the Gecit. Once you have eaten here, we are sure you will return. 'Mrs Ali' is in the kitchen and is the main cook although Ali is an excellent chef!
Gecit offers a good selection of traditional Turkish cuisine, which is a must!
If you are lucky the 'boys' will also do a little Turkish dancing.
We went out on Ali's boat at a very reasonable price and experienced fishing, crabbing, swimming, and a fantastic BBQ.
If you like crab Ali will cook your crabs for you that night!

A restaurant not to be missed!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brizzisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    20
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“restaurant is "AWESOME".”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

THIS FAMILY RUN RESTURANT IS THE BEST WE WENT TO IN DALYAN,great turkish food,great service and hospitality,eray the owner is a wonderful man and (yogi and chan)you were superb.i forget which one of you said you were to be married in november,but we both wish you all the luck and happiness in the world. .kathy&graham.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katykins1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Awesome"”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We visited Gecit on our first night in Dalyan and were really impressed. Eray was a fantastic host and looked after us, paying particular attention to the requirements of our Son with food allergies. We booked to have a boat trip with him and had a memorable day. Turtle watching, snorkeling, crabbing, mud baths, swimming, fishing and a bbq thrown in as well. The boat trip was for a family members birthday and when Eray found out he asked if we would like to eat at the restaurant that evening and he would look after us. When we arrived he had arranged a "birthday table", cooked the crab we had caught earlier in the day and served as a course in the meal and topped it off with a birthday cake - made specially. We would encourage anyone visiting Dalyan to visit Eray and his staff at Gecit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Still my favourite Restaurant”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Still my favourite and always make it my first place to go in Dalyan, Family run, great service & great Turkish food

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T-3man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gecit Restaurant, great food! great hopspitality, and perfect location!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in Dalyan, but in particular we enjoyed the great food, and hospitality of all staff at this family run Restaurant. So good was the welcome that we decided to eat there twice a day and the location was just right being near to the town and Dalyan River. Eray the owner is an absolute gentleman and made us feel so welcome. His attention to the slightest detail and professional attitude is so much appreciated and I understand that his restaurant is one of the oldest in Dalyan, going back some 17 years!
A big thank you to Eray, his wife, his Nephews Yogi and Chan and all the staff at the Gecit, we look forward to seeing you next year. ps Benjamin still misses you and always talks about your Kebabs and chicken Burgers! lol Best wishes Brian, Eva and Benjamin

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianLondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gecit Restaurant also viewed

Dalyan, Mugla Province
 
Dalyan, Mugla Province
 
Dalyan, Mugla Province
Dalyan, Mugla Province
 

Been to Gecit Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing