We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different, but not quite our taste”
Review of Saki

Saki
Ranked #6 of 162 Restaurants in Dalyan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Something different, but not quite our taste”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff, we chose our food and drinks. We were served quickly as we were one of the first there. As the place got busier, we noticed service was a lot slower. The food was not to our taste, as it was quite plain. This is just a personal opinion. I think it should be tried to make your own decision.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank paultanksherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    69
    23
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Hidden treasure in Dalyan”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We visited the restaurant following a recommendation from our local rep. It is situated next to the river and just before the small park with water fountains with a good view of the tombs, and owned by a mother (who is in the kitchen) and daughter (who welcomes diners). After you order drinks on arrival, you are asked to go into the kitchen to choose your food as there is no menu. There are numerous starters to choose from and the owner advised not to choose too many as we were having main courses. Unfortunately we didnt have room for dessert but they looked very good too. Definitely worth a visit to taste some authentic Turkish food and reasonably priced too. Heard a few other diners saying how pleasantly 'different' the whole dining experience was - different yes and certainly very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmarthen
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Don't Pass This By”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We passed this place day after day but finally one evening we decided to have a good look see. The reason we passed by was that they had no menu just a recommendation that we come inside, inspect and choose and in order to do that you had to get up two flights of steps. Once inside the food was beautifully presented and looked (and tasted delicious). We thoroughly enjoyed the vegetarian dishes we ordered 'cos as meat eaters we do sometimes fancy a change. Would go back anytime.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton-Le-Dale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Order as soon as you arrive”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We ate here twice, and on the first occasion made the mistake of sitting at the table too long. You need to head straight for the counter and order from what you can see - there is no menu. Second time round we needed to eat early and quickly before out flight home and the range of mezes that was quickly and efficiently produced was superb.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fergs85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Bland meze and poor attitude”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is the perspective of a Turk and a Brit who has lived there. The setting is very attractive ( the prices reflect this) and the display of food looks enticing. But the meze were average with most tasting very bland. The main course , kofte, was found to be unevenly cooked - parts ok but others uncooked. We told the waiter who offered a replacement but by this point we didn't wish to try again. The dish was on the bill and when we said it should be removed we were informed very abruptly that this was not acceptable behaviour in Turkey! After a few words it was removed with very ill grace. A very strange and poor attitude from a restaurant that is at higher end of the market.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank jools58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saki also viewed

 
Dalyan, Mugla Province
Dalyan, Mugla Province
 

Been to Saki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing