We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, loved it, cant wait to go again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Gardenia Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Gardenia Apartments
Ranked #8 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Dalyan
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful, loved it, cant wait to go again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

We checked out the reviews on trip adviser, which we found very useful,If your looking for somewhere hot and quiet, with fantastic staff and friendly family atmosphere then this is the place for you. Its run by two brothers and mum and dad.

Villa gardenia is around 7 minutes walk from Dalyan town center, which is a small town with a lot of restaurants and shops, you can walk down the main road, or take the more scenic dusty track, both are safe and don't take long at all.
The supermarkets are around half that distance walk, the best we found was called Migros, which is half way to town on the main road, although there are two closer to the
apartments with a good selection of goods.

The apartments are basic but very clean and comfortable, with maid service twice a week, the pool is perfect, and needed as it gets very hot, there is a good pool side food service, with home cooked meals at around the same price as you would pay in town.
The drinks by the pool are averagely priced, a small bottle of water is around 1tk, around 50p, the local beer (EFES) is around 5TK (Turkish Lira), they serve vodka, wine etc, light snacks right up to full meals.

Dalyan it's self has a lot to offer, the town centre is right next to the river, with most of the restaurants directly opposite the 5000 year old Lycian temples which are carved into the cliff face, around 20 minutes walk from the temples along a paved path is Kaunos, a roman city, which is amazing, well worth the walk, I'd advise getting there around 8am or you will burn in the hot sun.

There are lots of excursions to try, we tried a village tour, basically a full day from 10am to 6pm from the town centre, consisting of an hour or so boat trip up the river and over a lake to the village, a market day with all sorts of goods from Turkish tea to clothing and leather goods, followed by another trip on the lake, swimming then a fantastic barbecue, then a lovely trip down river to a mud bath, which i would definitely recommend, as this is a lot of fun, finally returning back to town. This cost around 40 TK for two people.

Another trip we loved was the best, the 12 islands tour, another full day, but on the sea in a big boat that held around 90 people, although only around half the spaces were booked which was better for room, this stopped several times for barbecue and swimming in the stunning turquoise waters, totally beautiful, we got collected from our apartment and dropped off at the end of the day with this trip, it cost around 90 TK for two of us, around £40 for 2, which is really good value.
We did find out though that if we had taken English currency the trips would have been cheaper than it cost in Turkish Lira, due to the exchange rate.

Air con is advisable as it gets very hot, it was over 40 degrees most days at the start of the season, we went the last week of June to the end of the first week in July, the air con is not included in the price and will cost 10TK per day.

A typical meal in town,:- I had grilled sea bass, which comes with head and tail still on etc, but was gorgeous, Kate had King Tiger prawns, a large bread loaf was included in the price, which was full of air and deflated when you cut it, but looks really good, and tastes even better, we both had local beer, the total price was 48 Turkish Lira, just over £20, you can get a lot cheaper, like traditional Turkish Kebabs or pizzas etc though.

The beach is not on the door step, but not too far away, 7 minutes walk to town, then you can either get a mini bus from the town square, or as we did get the boat to the beach, it took around 30 minutes slowly meandering down the river to turtle beach, it was well worth the time taken, and its very beautiful scenery on the way, so hardly a chore, it costs 8 TK per person for a return trip, we would recommend going in the morning as its very hot during the main part of the day, and the wind picks up slightly in the afternoon, you can get food on the beach, burgers and beer etc, but the sea is stunning, we couldn't believe how warm it was, its shallow for some way out so safe for the kids too, t was like taking a warm bath in the sea, beautiful turquoise water.

We couldn't find anything negative with this place really apart from the local dogs, the dogs are friendly and look clean but at night there seems to be a lot of them barking through out the night, to be honest I just went to the Chemist in town and bought some ear plugs which solved the problem.

This was a lovely place to stay, and I would recommend a visit, the family are very friendly, speak perfect English and bend over backwards to help you,we are looking forward to going back there in the future.

Andy and Kate.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CerbyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    22
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

The Villa Gardenia family is the best. It was a real gem--we stayed in the most expensive "villa". Our hosts were wonderful, had great suggestions for what to do and where to eat. Offered use of their internet if needed (no constand access to email, however). The one drawback of the lovely apartment was that only the "parents" room was air-conditioned. However, their lovely pool and bar area, the fantastic "home-cooked" meal we had, made it a wonderful place to be.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Taboadafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

A wonderful week spent at Villa Gardenia; from the moment we arrived the welcome from brothers Alpai, Hassan and their Parents was wonderful. The 1 bed apartment was clean and spacious and more than sufficient and great value for money. During our stay there, they made every effort to help you with anything you needed and any request for help and advice on Dalyan e.g. things to do and places to eat was met with nothing but enthusiasm.

On our last night we decided to eat there, and what a meal we had. ..you will NOT be disappointed (try the auberguine, beans and chicken saute).

The only slight downside was the distance to Dalyan centre (10-15min walk) as during our week the temperatures were very high, however, a cold beer from the fridge and a dip in the pool helped! However, a lot of hotels are located a fair distance from the centre so for what we got, we didn't find it a problem at all as we could also walk to and from town along the river.

I was extremely interested in seeing some of the local wildlife, especially birds, and had encountered the following website before leaving the UK. http://www.dalyanbirding.com/index.html
It's well worth a visit (even if you're not interested in birds) as it gives excellent descriptions of all of the birds that you may encounter in and around Dalyan and Koycegiz Lake, including advice on the trips and walks that you can do in the area .

One word of warning, the company we booked with arranged a visit by a local agent who worked for Yesil Dalyan; we booked a sail boat trip for the 12 island tour with him. However, without even having the decency to tell us, they transferred our trip to another company, onto a larger boat (a trip costing 25 lira less than what we paid). They are supposed to be a reputable company, but considering our problems with them (and other guests who also had problems with them) I would not book anything with them again and would follow the advice of others on Trip Advisor when it comes to companies.

We did book one wonderful moonlight trip with the boat Co-op whose prices were cheaper than private companies, and food and friendly family made it a wonderful boat trip not to be missed.

Finally, if you visit the Turtle Beach by bus, please visit the Turtle rescue centre and give a donation to the valuable work that they do there to protect this fantastic stretch of beach.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mwnci1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

I had a wonderful time at villa Gardenia, there is everything you need for a nice relaxing holiday. I first stayed there 15 years ago when i was 12, they had just opened, Hasan and Alpay were the same age as me and my brother. We were made to feel very welcome and soon we were all friends. You get a real feel for the turkish family life with mumma's wonderful cooking!!!!! I would highly recommend villa gardenia to everyone and if you need anything Hasan and Alpay are more than willing to help.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sconnor83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

These apartments deliver big style, yes they are basic as mentioned in other reviews but they give you all that you need for a week or two away in the sun.

Our first impressions on arrival from the airport (25 minute transfer) in the early hours of the morning (04:00hrs) started with a friendly greeting and help to get our bags to the room and a question of did we need anything; our answer was “a beer would be great” this was swiftly delivered.

The apartment we stayed in was a one bedroom apartment with the rooms coming off a central hallway, the bedroom (twin beds but easily pushed together) with a balcony, a large bathroom with a shower, always with hot water and good pressure, so no chasing around the shower trying to catch drips and a kitchenette kitted out with everything you need fridge, kettle, 4 ring Hob, utensils etc. Another larger balcony that looked towards the pool was accessed via a door from the kitchenette where table and chairs were to be found.

The lovely lady who does the cleaning gets full marks as this apartment was sparklingly clean as was the entire complex. The complex consists of 10 apartments and two villas (which I did get to look at) as expected the villas which can sleep up to 6 were of the same high standard.

Enough about the apartments I am sure that you have got the idea Superb!!!

The hotel is a family run business Mum, Dad and two sons aided by the lovely cleaning lady and one of the son’s wife when she is not doing her full time job at the airport.

The two sons Alpay and Hassan are two of the nicest people you would ever want to meet, they both speak excellent English and nothing is ever too much trouble these guys can’t do enough for you.

My wife and I are not really into the sightseeing thing although there is plenty to see in the area. We are more into chilling out by the pool or on the beach of which we did both during our stay.

The beach can be reached either by boat or bus (6 TL return) from the centre of Dalyan which is a 10 minute walk from the apartments then a 20 minute trip. The beach is clean and has a café for food and drinks along with sunbeds and umbrellas (9 TL to rent for the day) which are laid out to give you plenty of space around you.

The pool area where we spent most of our time has comfortable sunbeds around the pool and a bar area with tables and chairs in the shade. Quiet background music and of course your hosts who appear from time to time with Turkish Tea, Water Melon or a bit of mums home cooking (Great Cakes). The bar menu for lunch or indeed an evening meal gives you a choice of burgers, salads, sandwiches or traditional Turkish fare all cooked or prepared to order and again as you would expect was to the same high standards.

The prices for the bar and food are all reasonable you don’t pay anymore in the hotel than you would if you are in the town. We chose to run a tab each day and rather than ordering wine by the glass kept a bottle going in the fridge (a slightly cheaper way than buying by the glass).

Dalyan is a small town with plenty of bars, restaurants and shops to cater for all tastes. Our preferred restaurant and one that we would highly recommend is the Hidden Garden where both the food and quality of service was outstanding and should be on your to eat in list.

In Summary if you are looking for a relaxing and relatively inexpensive holiday then Dalyan and these apartments tick all the boxes, the only downside if there is one is that the beach is not on your doorstep but then the upside is that this means that the area is quieter than the big resorts.

Other useful stuff

To give you an idea of prices of things in Dalyan:

Beer = 4 – 5 TL
Wine = 25 – 35 TL
Cocktail = 10 – 12 TL
Burger = 6 TL
Two course Dinner for two including wine and coffee 65 – 85 TL
Cigarettes = 7 TL (it is cheaper to buy from the duty free at Dalaman airport on arrival than in Dalyan)
Fake Designer Sunglasses = 20 TL

As always bartering in shops is the way forward and our experience was that they average discount you can achieve is about 25 – 30%

There are a number of supermarkets to get supplies Migros seemed to have the best selection.

Mosquitoes are about in the evening but a locally bought repellent Sin Kov will do the trick to keep them at bay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Schof-Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

We've just got back from a week at the Villa Gardenia Apartments in Dalyan. The apartments are very clean although basic. The apartment which was for the two of us had two balconies, a bedroom, shower room and kitchen/living area.

The kitchen is equipped with kettle, 4 ring gas stove and fridge plus all cooking utensils you might need. We found it very helpful being able to get bits in so we could make breakfast before leaving in the morning and we could have a cup of tea when we wanted one, something that is not always easily available if staying in a hotel abroad. Also, the fridge was essential for keeping our water cold as it was extremely hot in Dalyan when we were there. There is an air conditioning unit in the bedroom for a charge of £4 a day. The doors to the balconies have an inner door with mesh to prevent the mosquitos from coming in to the apartment.

The family who own the apartments are very helpful and friendly. The apartments are cleaned twice a week and bedding and towels are provided. There is also a lovely pool and bar area.

The apartments are approximately 10 minutes walk from the centre of Dalyan which was a lovely little walk past traditional Turkish restaurants and bars.

Dalyan really is a beautiful place. The locals are very friendly and do not hassle you at all to eat or drink in their establishments. However, it is advisable to take some very effective mosquito repellant because there are a few there, being so close to a river.

We spent a day on the jeep safari tour and a day on a 12 island sailing trip, both of which were brilliant and excellent value for money. We would advise booking such tours through Yesil Dalyan, who are situated in the centre. They were extremely well run and very professional. Great value for money all round.

We went to Dalyan having no idea whatsoever that we were going to enjoy it as much as we did. It's one of the nicest places we've ever been too. The scenary is stunning and the locals are very helpful and friendly.

All in all a perfect holiday, a beautiful place and a great base to stay at the Villa Gardenia Apartments.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JenLov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

We have been staying here for years. Alpay and Hasan together with their mumand dad and the lady who clears the rooms cannot do enough to make sure everything is ok, The apartments are basic but spotless and what do you really need on holiday! We had a TV and DVD which was well used by the girls (catching up on TV viewing after GCSE's. ) whilst I enjoyed impromptu cooking lessons!!! I even came home with a bagful of borek.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sal011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalyan hotels
1.0 mi away
Berg Hotel
Berg Hotel
#18 of 63 in Dalyan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dalyan Resort
Dalyan Resort
#16 of 63 in Dalyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Calypso Plus
Hotel Calypso Plus
#12 of 63 in Dalyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Calbis
Holiday Calbis
#2 of 63 in Dalyan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Keskin Dalyan
Hotel Keskin Dalyan
#6 of 63 in Dalyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Safak Apart & Hotel
Safak Apart & Hotel
#1 of 63 in Dalyan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Gardenia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gardenia Apartments

Property: Villa Gardenia Apartments
Address: Gurpinar Mah. 323. Sok. No:33, Dalyan 48600, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Dalyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Gardenia Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run business situated in the beautiful resort of Dalyan. Our aim is for you to have a relaxing and enjoyable holiday in our comfortable apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Gardenia Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Gardenia Apartments Hotel Dalyan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing