We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent setting for a horror movie...”
Review of Palmeden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palmeden Hotel
Ranked #52 of 62 Hotels in Dalyan
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent setting for a horror movie...”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed one night at the Palmeden and that was more than enough. The staff appeared to be there under duress and the whole atmosphere was one of gloom and doom. The rooms look lovely, but are ridiculously shoddy. The air con did not work so we had to sleep on the floor to stay cool. The front door did not shut properly, the shower flooded the bathroom, there were no chairs on the balcony and no ash trays, the fridge didn't work....and there was no one around to tell! The grounds look abandoned and loud music blares out from the pool area long into the night, although the bar is unmanned. There weren't enough tables for dinner. The staff flooded the area outside our balcony to 'water the plants' but just succeeded in creating a mosquito infested swamp.
The surrounding area looks like a ghost town, with very few people, shops, restaurants, or cars and just some dogs roaming the streets. Creepy and awful. I would not go there again if i was paid. Our little budget hotel in Icmeler was loads better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kmart83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    9
    8
    9
    9
See reviews for
19
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Royston
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed here on a Thomson checkout day. The staff were helpful, we had assistance to our room with our cases, the girl even lugged one up to our rooms! The grounds were beautiful, but the kiddie playground looked rusty! The main pool was very deep, even my 6ft 4 Hubby found it to be deep, and there were lots of flies in it, my 4 year old was stung by a bee while swimming. There were also uncovered vents in the bottom of both the main and the kiddie pool, which was also in need of cleaning. We seemed to be the only guests. Food was nice, fresh, hot, and tasty. The mozzies were a pain, it's typical of the area. We needed some money changed and their rate was a rip off as were drink prices. 2 bottles of water and 3 orange juices for 20 lira!! The room was basic and the shower took a long time to drain, the door of the shower was also broken so water went all over the floor.
In short it served it's purpose as somewhere to crash for a few hours, but it's more travelodge than 3T!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDgbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dalyan hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Me and my partner stayed for a " relaxing evening " as part of the dalyan checkout from Thompson, we were told this was a 3t hotel but i believe this to be an utter lie. We seemed to drive for years through back roads to get there and when we did finally get there the receptionist made us leave our luggage outside in the rain until we got our keys, after getting our keys we made our way to our room and the grounds hadn't been kept atall,the grass was over a foot high and looked like the jungle from predator.

When we got to our room which consisted of a t.v which barely showed 3 Turkish channels, which actually made the lights dim when you turned it on and modern decor which seemed to have been thrown together at the last minute, we tried to relax but you could hear conversations from the rooms all around ours and the cracks in the front door were so big you could actually see people walk past.You could also turn all the rooms power off from the uncovered fuseboard outside the rooms.

It was then time for " dinner " it was supposed to be a buffet but we had to wait 10 minutes for the waiter ( who was wearing jogging bottoms and a t-shirt ) to refill the chip bowel this was enough for about 2 people before it needed refilling, chips with some cold beans and bread wasnt really enough for 12 people after a long day.I tried to use the toilet in the restaurant but after going down stairs i realised there wasnt one, only a building site.

On the plus side the pool looked quite nice, but ive stayed in the travel lodge on the M4 and i found that alot more welcoming.Im just glad we were there for a few hours and not a week and suicide may have been my only option

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sparky1009222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

I stayed very briefly at the Palmeden as part of a 'check out' service with First Choice. We were staying in Olu Deniz and had a late flight out of Dalaman so chose to spend the day in Dalyan with an 'evening room' at the Palmeden for food/shower/sleep before the flight home.

First Choice / Thompson class this hotel as 3T - they are wrong.

The hotel itself gives the impression of being in the middle of nowhere. On our way to the airport we did see the local 'town' but it was a fair walk from the hotel and didnt worth the walk when you get there. Certainly not a tourist hub.

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by a grumpy member of staff who grunted 'follow' and proceeded off across the gardens leaving us running along behind in his wake with our suitcases. We made it to the other side of the gardens before he told us that actually we were meant to be in reception so back across the gardens we went. When we arrived in reception we were told we should go to our rooms so we made the same trip for the fhird time and then had to haul our suitcases up two flights of stairs to the room.

We found our key in our door ( a little weird for a hotel ) and let ourselves in. The people in the room next door had just left, leaving all the lights on the door open and the key in the door - we should have read the telling signs at this point.

The room itself was uninspiring. A balcony that did not open, a tv with three turkish channels, a bed with a cover that was about two feet long so didnt cover anything and an air conditioning unit from the dark ages with a controller with frayed wiring hanging over the wardrobe. The room door didnt fit the frame at all and was so thin you could see the light coming through the panels. In addition the walls were SO thin that you could hear absolutely everything that everyone was saying and doing - lovely when the people upstairs decide to let their kids use their room as a race track.

The bathroom was disgusting, all surfaces were sticky and the shower trap had countless previous guests hair in it so that when I had a shower it took about 5 secs to start filling up the tray and about 20 mins to drain afterwards.

The crowning glory was the alsatian they had chained up under our balcony to the rear of the hotel. "Aww cute" on arrival soon turned to misery as it continually barked and howled throughout our time at the hotel making sleeping impossible.

So we decided to go down to 'dinner'. Dinner was a minimal buffet of a standard you would get at a summer fete. I had potato and something meant to be salad with a chicken leg. The food was bland and the chicken was very undercooked so I could not eat it. The worst thing of all, was the mosquitos. In the ten minutes we braved the food, we were eaten alive by the things. They were all over the food, the eating area and the hotel in general.

I could go on but I am sure you get the picture. We killed time until our coach arrived and couldnt wait to get out of the place. I can only thank the lord that this was a one evening stay here and we had not booked a holiday here!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul / Turkiye
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Palmeden hotel became our home in Dalyan. Last year in June we stayed there with our one year old son. For us it was a very relaxing holiday ever. Everything was clean and the staff were very very helpful. They provided us a nice baby bed and the child pool was very secure. The rooms were large with air conditioner. The mother of the family who cooks prepared special food for our son. Thanks to palm trees in the garden there were enough shady areas.. The food was delicious, variety was good. We recommend Palmeden hotel especially to families with young child. We shall visit Palmeden this year again..

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank witchhansolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2009

i stayed at the palmeden hotel in april and it was the best holiday i have ever been on. the rooms are big and clean and the staff a brilliant they cant do enough for you. ferdi the bar man was amazing and emre and vulcan the pool is good and the nightlife is great :) i went with my mate and his mum and dad and it was the best holiday i have ever been on

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaN_LFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool.
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Second time this year, and was yet again amayzing :) We went for the second time with 27 of us, and was brilliant again, the staff are now like part of our family, very very helpful and fun. The pool really nice and clean, enough sunbeds for everyone, a wide range of food and drink, a lovely reception area, rooms very nice, play area for children, 5 minute walk into town, lovely view from the hotels, im a teen and i had alot of fun, i would definatley reccomend this to my friends and i hope to see you all next year for the third time palmeden :) Elli xxx

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elli12344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalyan
0.7 mi away
Donmez Hotel
Donmez Hotel
#45 of 62 in Dalyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
8.4 mi away
Kaunos Hotel
Kaunos Hotel
#3 of 5 in Koycegiz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Montana
Boutique Hotel Montana
#21 of 62 in Dalyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dalyan Resort
Dalyan Resort
#14 of 62 in Dalyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Han Dalyan Hotel
Han Dalyan Hotel
#31 of 62 in Dalyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Caria Royal
Hotel Caria Royal
#48 of 62 in Dalyan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmeden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmeden Hotel

Property: Palmeden Hotel
Address: Gulpinar Mah. 341. Sok. No:6, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 62 Hotels in Dalyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmeden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmeden Hotel is centrally located in Dalyan, just a few minutes’ town centre and all animates and Iztuzu beach which is the home of Caretta Caretta, is only 15 minutes drive away from Palmeden Hotel.There is also a wide variety of drinks available at the licensed hotel bar,open daily from noon until late.Check-in is preferred between 14:00and 20:00, however, later check-in can be arranged upon special request.Check-out is required between06:00 and 11:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Palmeden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmeden Hotel Dalyan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing