We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Assos Kervansaray
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveler rating
101
115
36
12
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
115
36
12
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslate dinnerbeautiful settingseaaegeancoasttemplehistory
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 279 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here in June 2012 and I must admit, take the hotel and place it anywhere else, it would not deserve any more than 3 points out of 5 but Oh my was the beach beautiful! The season had not begun yet so the we had a quite, clean, turquoise and green spot in heaven for ourselves! Besides the location, the towels at the beach and the service was also wonderful - all the rest mediocre at best.

Room Tip: Check out the matresses before settling in, we had to change rooms twice because the beds were terribly worn out!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortusIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Assos at the Karavansary Hotel from Aril 14-16. We used it as a base to see Assos and Troy and explore the Troad a little bit. The Hotel was reasonably priced, and though a bit on the high side for Turkey, it did come wil half board. Dinner was good. The meza were very good, while the main course was okay. Breakfast was plentiful and typically turkish - I really miss that cucumber, tomatoe, and cheese for breakfats! There were also eggs and assorted pastries.

Driving down to the harbour was a bit scary, the drop off is steep, the road is narrow, but most of all there is the fear there will be no place to park or turn around when you get down. However, a sharp right at the bottom takes you to the reception area and then the staff park your car for you.

The hotel is right down on the tiny harbour front and you can see the island of Lesbos off shore. The room was comfortable and had a view of the sea.

We drove from Assos to Troy which takes about an hour through some very pretty country and past a 15th C Ottoman stone bridge. Assos it self is a fairly extensive site with an acropolis with a temple of Athena and a lower city containing a theatre and other assorted ruins. There is an entry fee to go up to the acropolis, but you can see the lower city and theatre for free. The views from both levels out over the Agean are amazing. It is not the best preserved ancient site, but it is atmospheric and if you are into Greek and Roman history it is well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mathwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

A group of 13 students and teachers stayed there for 5 days.The location is awesome, if you have the taste for the ancient and the peace and quiet. You can literally jump in the sea for a swim directly from the hotel diner. The breakfast is more than generous, the cuisine is perfect representation of traditional Turkish meals with different salads, seafood or grilled meats. The service is excellent even for Turkish standards, which are notably high. It is at a short distance from the fortress of ancient City of Assos, where great Aristotle lived and taught. The road to the place is a bit scary for inexperienced drivers, but if buses manage, so will a car. The building is a renovated 13-th century warehouse, and great efforts have been made to preserve the atmosphere, while providing contemporary conveniences. All of us - kids and teachers will surely be happy to spend a week or so there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoyantr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The hotel is an perfect location, just in front of the sea; rooms are clean, service is good, normal meal but nothing special to highlight. There is a long way to get the hotel and nothing to get you there longer. I understand that the hotel has three or four buildings, with different rates each one, but we do no received any option when we got there and asked for a room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snoww2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We only stopped for lunch at this delightful hotel on the edge of the sea after visiting Alexandria Troas. The restaurant was excellent food could not have been better-simple Turkish seafood.
The hotel seemed to have seen better days but I can only write about the restaurant. Because of difficulty of access you might have quite a walk down a steep road to get to the village from the car park above in the village but it is worth the effort.
The ruins of ancient Assos are of a Hellenistic city with probably Hittite origins.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninajp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews