We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a nice stay in Assosyal”
Review of Assosyal Otel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Assosyal Otel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Assos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Assosyal Hotel and loved the view of the valley- very quiet, great in fullmoon. The breakfast was quite good and we tried their dinner menu which was also satisfying. We'd be more satisfied if the bed was french bed. I defintely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NedretAkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 72 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

It is difficult to say anything negative about the hotel, so gracious and helpful and friendly the staff is that when you leave you seem to be leaving old friends. However there are a few things that need to be pointed out about Assosyal Hotel.
The tastefully renovated hotel has done a beautiful job integrating modern elegance into an ancient setting and original stone structure. The problem is that the rooms and bathrooms are absurdly small. Fortunately we had a superior room with a terrace twice the size of the room (number 4) overlooking the valley and adjacent Acropolis that served as a pleasant extension although it did not make up for the exiguity of the place. Besides, the terrace did not even have parasols, in a heat of 36°C! So we could not enjoy it to contemplate the fabulous view over the ancient ruins and scenic country.
It seems management wants their guests to use the elegant public spaces (unfortunately marred by music –whether jazz or elevator- constantly being played in the afternoon.
In the rooms there is neither TV (acceptable), nor mini-fridge, (unacceptable). The shades should be black and not white as it is very difficult to sleep in sunlight. The toiletries are down-market (you do not know whether it is shampoo, bath gel or hair conditioner as the bottles have no indications on them). Also strangely enough, they do not do the rooms and you have to dry your own towels outside.
Breakfast was classic Turkish fare but beautifully presented.
Dinner was excellent, (if extremely expensive – 70 euros for a bottle of wine) cooked by an adorable young lady, Mehtap, who willingly shared her recipes and made our stay extremely enjoyable.
Because of the small size of the rooms the hotel is certainly not worth the high price (300TL).
Although difficult to find, the location of the hotel is excellent: just a few minutes' walk from the Acropolis, Temple of Athena, and Hudavendigar mosque. Parking is on the street outside the hotel and can be difficult in the high season.
Finally the hotel has everything to it but the owners should neither be so greedy nor rest on their laurels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParisandVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel was very good and intelligently designed,stone building and the decoration was really attractive and making you feel like you are all away from you daily life and stress.Also the view was spectacular and the hotel is really nearby the athena temple which is a place that you should definately go and see.the staff was very kind,friendly and helpful. They had available rooms and informed us that they will upgrade our room free of charge its unbelieveble but we didnt even requested such upgrade :) shortly,this hotel is really out of the accustomeds.

Room Tip: Try to reserve a room with terrace and valley view. Please note that the hotel rooms are quite small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SrcnPrtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Very close to Athena temple. Hotel has nice view of valley and Ida Mountains. Assosyal has intelligent, helpful and kind personel. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is wonderful. Also, you can order your breakfast in any time. There is no time limit. That was a get relax and lazy holiday for me and my grilfriend. Architecture is amazingly naive, romantic and modern. Assosyal Hotel's restaurant and bar service good. Foods are delicious and fresh. They cook local and worldwide meals. Cocktails are generously tasteful. Assos has a very clean sea. Some times you can see fish when you swim.

Room Tip: Room which has valley view is better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gültekin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Though certainly not a "budget-friendly" hotel, we decided to indulge ourselves for a night and were not disappointed. They have done a beautiful job integrating a modern hotel with high standards of service and accommodation into an ancient setting and original stone structure. We didn't have any trouble finding it with our GPS. The food was great and the breakfast was AMAZING (the breakfast alone was worth spending a bit more on). They were great about accommodating a gluten allergy in our party and had made fresh GF bread for the morning. Everything about this place exemplified a very high attention to detail. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Neysa0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

First of all, I must complement the staff, who were intelligent and helpful. However, the design of the hotel, however elegant, does not take into account the comfort of the guests, and it is certainly not worth the high price. It has lovely publiic spaces, a great view (you can hardly miss in Assos), but the rooms are very small, bathroom is average, but no hot water in the sink and very little in the shower. There are no reading lights, but a few awkard light "sculptures" that illluminate nothing, and sort of Christmas bulbs around the mirror. The overhead light switch is located precisely where you cannot reach it from the bed. The door locking system is so cumbersome that the poor staff have to constantly run to the assistance of guests being locked into/out of their rooms. No TV, no minibar, the toiletries consist of unlabeled bottles of white and blue liquid. The bedroom doors are clear glass, making you dependent on a long shade for privacy and darkness; the cord for the shade broke immediately leaving it stuck halfway. The breakfast was very good, in spite of the fact that there was no electricity for an hour in the morning. At the entrance there is embarrassing metal sculpture strewn around, perhaps the cast off armor of Achilles.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hard to find. End of season service. World's smallest bedroom and bath. Nice employees.
Nice views. Average food. Stayed one night. This was a one night stop after a hard drive from
Sirince. We found it with our iPad map. The GPS was useless. The Otel is finely built, a good
example of Turkish stone work. Short walk to Athena entrance gate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assos hotels
0.5 mi away
Assos Behram Hotel
Assos Behram Hotel
#4 of 23 in Assos
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Assos Kervansaray
Assos Kervansaray
#5 of 23 in Assos
272 reviews
3.5 mi away
Assos Terrace Hotel
Assos Terrace Hotel
#14 of 23 in Assos
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ida Costa Hotel
Ida Costa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Assos
153 reviews
6.2 mi away
Assos Dionysos Hotel
Assos Dionysos Hotel
#8 of 23 in Assos
19 reviews
1.8 mi away
Assos Barbarossa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Assosyal Otel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assosyal Otel

Address: Koy Sokak No: 7, Assos, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Canakkale Province > Assos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Assos
Price Range: $123 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a terrace with views of the Kaz Mountains and valley, this hotel offers elegantly furnished accommodations. The Aegean Sea and ruins of ancient Assos are just half a mile away.The Assosyal Özel Otel is located in the historic village of Behramkale. It is housed in a natural stone building covered with climbing plants. A shaded courtyard and outdoor lounge area is available for guest use.Guests can have a drink on the grounds, or enjoy open-air dining from a varied menu. The restaurant serves international cuisine cooked with fresh ingredients, and vegetarian options are available.The rooms at the Assosyal Özel offer views either of the valley or of the green courtyard. The bathrooms are elegantly finished, and include wooden fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Assosyal Otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing