We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so for the price”
Review of Bellerofon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bellerofon Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Cirali
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So-so for the price”
Reviewed August 31, 2008

After reading previous rave reviews on Trip Advisor regarding this property, I was excited for our five-night stay at the Hotel Bellerofon. The hotel is located directly on a swatch of secluded beach in a lush garden. Older chalets are located most directly to the beach, while newer bungalows, which are spacious, bright, and clean (and blessedly air conditioned), are located in a citrus grove at the back of the property (we stayed in the latter). The beds were comfortable,, the location was quiet, and the A/C (which is crucial in August) worked really well.

However, the service, which could be best described as careless, leaves something to be desired, particularly for the price paid. From sloppy beach chairs to sometimes-cold meals, the property seems mismanaged. Inconsistency ruled the day: sometimes we were offered eggs with our breakfast; other days we weren't. We weren't informed until halfway through our stay that coffee and tea were complimentary. Some days we received room cleanings; others we did not. We found the chickens running literally underfoot to be irritating. We were informed that the daily room rate was 165 Lira per night, with a 10 percent discount for cash payment. When we went to check-out with cash, we were quoted the 165 rate, and had to fight for the 150 rate. All in all, the whole experience was baffling.

The food was hit or miss, but usually a strange fusion of European and Turkish cuisine. Nothing was particularly outstanding, although some traditional Turkish dishes were accomplished successfully. The food was usually fresh, though sometimes cold, as the sole waiter/receptionist/de facto manager was often busy talking with friends. Bees routinely swarmed breakfast; one day, 10 bees made camp on our jam, while others drowned in the honey and olives. When we complained, he said, "That's normal!" and turned back to his friends.

We're not usually fussy people, but for $125 USD per night, we were expecting a certain level of quality and service, which unfortunately wasn't achieved. We really wished the Arcadia, located next door, had been available: it looked lovely.

  • Liked — Location directly on secluded beach, nice rooms
  • Disliked — Inconsistent and careless service, bees/chickens, very difficult town to access without a car
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deserttumbleweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    17
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We stayed at Bellerofon for a week in late July. I really recommend it.

The chalets and surroundings were fantastic. Beautifully green location, chalets set in trees, hammocks outside every chalet. We basically arrived and then didnt move for a week - which is very easy to do. However there is plenty to do if you're so inclined - although perhaps best to avoid July and August if you're wanting to walk in the Hills surrounduing cirlali

the staff were very friendly and extremely laid back - but in a good way. if you needed something they would deal with it.. Breakfast and Dinner are basically when you want them. Dinner was in particular, fantastic, 4 courses of home made food - simpler but lovely. All taking place overlooking the sea as the moon rises.

The chalet itself was comfortable and had a decent air conditioning system which was needed! If I went again (and I want to) I'd probably aim to go in May, June or September when its a bit cooler. If you dont mind 35-40 degrees then its fine.

The beach is vast (at first it takes a bit of getting used to its almost too big and barren) and even in August empy. Bellerefon has a number of loungers and umbrellas which you definitely need. The reason they are not that near the sea is because of the turtles which lay their eggs on the beach.

the water is warm and clear with fish swimming around your feet

All in All a great place if you want peace and quiet. But make sure you slap on the factor 30 in the summer months - its roasting out there!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthew32_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2007

My wife and I had pinned our hopes on the Belleraphon and Cirali wanting a holiday that met our mutually exclusive requirements for a relaxing time with lots to do. Our requirements were met in full.

the Bellerophon is a great hotel - just five chalets and a cookhouse set in a lovely semi-tropical garden on the beach. Hens and cats wander through the garden never bothering each other, even they are relaxed. The mood was set on arrival, we asked what time breakfast was served to be told 'whenever'. Dinner and breakfast were both served when you got to your open air table; the food was consistently good. The full Turkish breakfast was always spectacular with all the cheeses and jams and fruit and the four course diner, served by lamplight as all lighting must be subdued, was always a delight.

The chalets were comfortable, with a/c and ok beds, basic, but when each comes with a porch for relaxing and a hammock for further relaxing, who cares. In the garden were two Turkish lounging platforms: 'kuush'. These are shady and cool and a lovely place to sit and read. On the beach are sunbeds and parasols for more serious lounging. The beach is fine if a little stoney, the water is crystal clear and was quite warm in May. At any time we couldn't see more than twenty people on the beach; though the more public beach, near Olimpos and too far to see from the hotel, did have dozens of people, maybe even hundreds at the weekend.

The village has hardly any two storrey buildings and is a far cry from mass tourism, most of the hotels and pensions are on small olive or citrus farms. There are a few cafes, mostly cheap and all I tried were fine. There is excellent walking in the surrounding hills, enough to provide days of amusement, but the terrain is pretty rugged and the hills steep and high so best suited to experienced walkers who've remembered to bring decent shoes. The heat is a bit of a problem - climbing up for two hours in 30 degrees or more is an effort and that is in Spring. There is also the ancient city of Olimpos to explore, an enchanting place, where the remains of Lycian building are partially hiden by cyprus trees and flowers. All this and the Chimera, with fire coming ou of the ground; fantastic.

Back at the hotel the service was laid back, but attentive. All the other guests, all ten of them, were getting down to heavy duty chilling out too, even the children were Ok and I hate children.

In short we both loved it - I relaxed and I don't ever relax. We're going back next year.

If you are going do take books. Take good walking shoes, take a camera. Leave behind any stress, you won;t need it

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JamesBolivar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halesowen, west midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2006

Having worked harder in the last few months than during any time in our lives my wife and I (early 30's) felt the need to chill out in Turkey our favourite country. Although we had fancied going to Cirali for a while we found the website for Bellerofon quite by chance, but boy what a find!

Located at a protected 'Carretta Caretta' beach - the beach is quite literally on the doorstep - the sea is like a warm bath in July and a short stroll from the ancient site of Olympos.

The accommodation comprises 5 wooden huts with air conditioning and showers. Breakfast and dinner are served on the terrace - at the time you turn up. We usually feel the need to eat at a different place each night, but not here. Chef Noori lovingly prepares a variety of typical simple Turkish fare with all of the ingredients sourced locally.

You could easily spend a week in and around Cirali without getting bored but we hired a jeep locally for about £20 a day and visited Ulupinar, Phaeselis (great for swimming) and Adrasan.

Never been so relaxed, and we'll certainly return. Don't miss the Yanartas!

  • Liked — Noori & Akif's hospitality
  • Disliked — Leaving it behind!
  • Tips/Secrets — Try Turkish wine like Kav or Turasan, you'll love it.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank fortune82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2006

This is a small site situated directly on the beach at Cirali. There are 5 wooden bungalows each with their own balcony, bathroom, fridge, air con and hammock, reminded us of The Little House on the Prairie! The hotel is managed by Akif who is so helpful, with all the cooking done by Noori - the food is absolutely fantastic. There is a patio leading on to the beach where breakfast and evening meals are served along with shady seating areas for when the sun gets too hot to bear. Sunbeads and parasols are provided on the beach - combination of sand and stones but take shoes to swim in as very pebbly at waters edge. The nights are very dark, with lighting subdued to encourage the turtles on to the beach. The village is about a 10 minute walk or Akif lends out his bikes free of charge. Take lots of books - no where to buy anything in English!! Would highly recommend this hotel/hostel - if you want a chill out week with good food then this is the place

Helpful?
16 Thank essexdevongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cirali hotels
0.9 mi away
Canada Hotel Cirali Olympos
0.9 mi away
Kibala Hotel
Kibala Hotel
#4 of 18 in Cirali
246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anatolia Resort Hotel
Anatolia Resort Hotel
#11 of 18 in Cirali
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nerissa Hotel
Nerissa Hotel
#13 of 18 in Cirali
89 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aida Hotel
Aida Hotel
#5 of 18 in Cirali
118 reviews
1.0 mi away
Olympos Lodge
Olympos Lodge
#7 of 18 in Cirali
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellerofon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellerofon Hotel

Property: Bellerofon Hotel
Address: Ulupinar Village, Kemer, Cirali, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Cirali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cirali
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cirali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Bellerofon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellerofon Hotel Cirali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing