We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape to the mountains with the most lovely people”

Wandergebiet Beycik Alm / Beycik-Alp hikes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Escape to the mountains with the most lovely people”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent a few days in Beycik, It was such a relief after the packed beach of Cirali in August and the heat down there. Christian and Sibel are wonderful hosts, they take their time to explain the area and as much as you'd like to know about what's happening there (amazing how many international people seem to have quietly settled in Beycik).

The walks around here with Christian were absolutely delightful, fantastic views and a whole ancient city to discover. The donkey ride is great for small kids and Sibel's food is delicious with its local ingredients.

Overall highly recommended.

Michael

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beycik with Christian and Sibel: wonderful escape from crowded beach”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had founded Cirali slightly too crowded and too hot in August and wanted to explore the Olympos mountain and the national park next to it. We were recommended to contact Christian, who is a biologist, for guided walks and hikes. So we did, and also got to know Sibel, his graceful wife, and their lovely children. The hikes and dinners at Sibel's and the quiet, peaceful, and pleasantly cool village of Beycik were definitely the highlights of our family holiday on the Lycean coast, so much so that we did one 3.5 hour hike to the ruins of a Lycean city with our 5 year old son, two donkey rides, and ended up visiting Sibel's Four Season's Restaurant three times.

The first time, we drove up for a donkey ride and dinner (Christian has a brand new transporter and can also pick you up). Our son was so happy to help getting the donkey ready, lead it out of the enclosure and riding it in the village. Christian is very knowledgeable about the local wildlife and plants, as well as generous in sharing his insights from being home in Turkey. We had a very fresh and wholesome, carefully locally sourced and freshly prepared, dinner at Sibel's restaurant, which deserves a separate raving review.
We returned again to Chrstian and Sibel another time for a second donkey ride for our son who adored the animals (and Christian!). The donkey rides were the best experiences of his holiday.

We met up with Christian, couple of days later, to do a hike to the ruins of Laodikea which lasted 3.5 hours. Although we were initially worried whether our 5-year old boy would be able to keep up with the group, he was fine and even wanted to do the hike again the next day! He enjoyed learning about different plants and wildlife, as well as about the archaeological findings about the ruins. The terrain was not overly hilly, but did contain some getting over rocks and some narrow paths. Christian was very knowledgeable about every bits of the walk and without him we would certainly not have been able to do get to Laodikeia and see so many interesting things on the way.
Christian, Sibel and the family, have created a special place. We thank them as well as Sibel's friendly employee at the restaurant, for their wonderful, personal hospitality and hope to be back for a family hike to Tahtali/Olympos.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank hyogared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great entertainment for the children”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a lovely meal at this "mountain" restaurant near the resort of Cirali/Olympos. It made for a great change as the restaurant is really off the beaten tracks, in a sort of "alpine" atmosphere. The food is great, very wholesome, all in season and locally sourced, lovingly cooked by the owner. Our 3 children (aged 8, 6 and 2) all loved the ride on the donkeys in the village, which made the meal a great experience for the whole family. The owner Christian and his wife Sibel take great care and pride in running it and we can only highly recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
2 Thank erikina71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beycik Hiking Holiday”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Beycik is a wonderful place to visit if you want to relax in the beautiful surroundings of the Beydaglar national park. Come here for hiking, plant life, wildlife, photography and an escape from the pressures of city life. Christian and Sibel will give you a warm welcome and share their knowledge of the hiking trails and local ecology. It's a good place for a day trip, or if you arrange accommodation in the village, a longer stay. There is so much to explore.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very impressive alternative to a day on the beach”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We welcomed the opportunity to do a prolonged donkey ride together with the husband of Sibels Restaurant Christian through a Canon in the vicinity. Defenitly recommanded as well as Christian from Sibels Restaurant (very good Food by the way) who is very knowledgeable, helpful and not pushy at all.

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Klaus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wandergebiet Beycik Alm / Beycik-Alp hikes also viewed

Cirali, Antalya Province
 
Cirali, Antalya Province
Cirali, Antalya Province
 

Been to Wandergebiet Beycik Alm / Beycik-Alp hikes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing