We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and quaint hotel in great position”
Review of Hotel las Leyendas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel las Leyendas
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Avila
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quirky and quaint hotel in great position”
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I visited here with my boyfriend for two nights recently. The hotel is in a great location, being right next to the wall that goes around part of Avila. It is really easy to get around to all the main areas so would recommend it as a good base.

The hotel itself is really quirky and charming, having been converted. They have kept a lot of the old stone walls and beams and it really adds a good atmosphere. The staff were pleasant and polite and the hotel was very clean. There is no parking, but we were directed to a free parking area just a few minutes walk away.

Our room was equally spotless and clean. It wasn't overly big but very comfortable and again with rustic features. The bathroom is really nice and there is plenty of space to put things away. There is also free wifi in the rooms which is a great extra.

We didn't try the restaurant as it was quite pricey and there were some excellent value meals in the city itself. However, the food looked very nice. The breakfast was buffet style and I thought was very ample. There was lots of types of bread, cake and biscuit as well as spanish omelette, meats and cheese.

The only issue I had was with the position of our room facing the street. The hotel is right on the street and our room was on the first floor overlooking the road. The road did have traffic and the odd person walking past throughout the night, and even with the windows closed, you could hear the traffic. I am a light sleeper, so I am sure it wouldn't bother some people, but it might be worth asking for a room at the back. These look lovely as they open out onto the private garden and it's really quiet back there.

Overall though very nice place and would definitely recommend if you are looking for a good value, comfortable and clean place which is right near the centre of Avila.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittlePix7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    142
    45
    15
    3
See reviews for
51
235
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

This hotel was a surprise gem. Really comfortable room, very friendly service, lovely view over the surrounding country and a nice little tapas bar attached. It's only 30 seconds walk into the old town. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEF_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We liked this little hotel a lot. Our room wasn't huge but was clean and comfortable and we had an excellent view over rooftops to the mountains in the distance. The road outside was quite noisy at night so best sleep with the windows closed and aircon on. Breakfast was adequate - plently of rolls, cereal, tortilla, juice, cold meats etc about the room it is in doubles as a meeting room and has the feeling of a school canteen. If you like tea in the morning forget it, they only don't seem to have what I would call English tea.
The lunch and drinks service on the terrace above and adjacent the old walls was very good. Dinner was very good but there were very few customers so it lacked ambience. We parked for free on two occasions just down the hill - once on the street and once in a little car park. We would choose Las Leyendas again to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
438 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

We stayed three nights in Hotel Las Leyendas in May 2010. The hotel is located across the street from the old city walls and is in a perfect location for site seeing. The room was pleasant and comfortable and the views out the balcony were lovely (see pictures). The bathroom was very spacious and the hotel staff was friendly. The receptionists spoke some English and helped us find convenient parking. There is a parking lot a short distance up the hill that cost 10 euros a day (I believe) that made driving convenient.

I cannot recommend the restaurant. I thought the prices were a bit high and the food was okay, but not great. As in most of Europe, smoking is allowed in the restaurant and in the halls of the hotel...but our room was smoke free.

Breakfast was served from 8:30 to 10:30 and included a variety of meats and cheeses, toast and pastries, fruit, fruit juices and chocolate milk, yogurt, a potato casserole, and sweets. I would definitely stay here again and can recommend it to anyone wanting to site see in Avila and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington UK
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2009

This is only a small hotel but the rooms are very attractive and well proportioned with natural exposed stone/brick on one wall. Staff were very helpful at all times. Free wifi was a big bonus not expected. Although the hotel has no parking, there is a public car park a few minuted away, and the hotel is perfectly positioned just outside the mediaeval walls of the city. There have been comments about noise, but this is only from traffic in the street and it is pretty quiet after about 10 pm. The selection available in the buffet breakfast is a little limited, but overall this hotel is excellent value for money. The hotel also has a high quality restaurant ( La bruja) which serves excellent local foods and which is good value if the fixed menu is chosen.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hispanamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2009

We really enjoyed this hotel. Our room was quite spacious, although very hot at night from the under-the-floor heating. The restaurant was fabulous, with great service. The daily menu is €5 more at the weekend, but certainly worth it. The breakfast buffet was also varied and plentiful.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColleenMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of our 6 week holiday in September and it was almost fantastic. The location is good, the service friendly enough and the building quite charming. All seemed well until a couple checked in next door to us and we realised that we could hear virtually everything from the adjoining room. Conversations, bags being unpacked, bathroom activities - the lot. The snoring from next door actually kept me awake at night. We were staying in one of the 3 courtyard rooms across the back garden - I can't speak for the rooms within the main building. Also, the wifi did not reach to the garden rooms and only worked in the main building.

However, the breakfast was good value and Avila itself well worth the stay. Don't stay in the garden room if you can help it!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElCapitanTinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avila hotels
0.2 mi away
Palacio de los Velada
0.3 mi away
Parador de Avila
Parador de Avila
#1 of 29 in Avila
852 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Las Moradas
Hotel Las Moradas
#4 of 29 in Avila
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Valderrabanos
2.4 mi away
Hotel II Castillas
Hotel II Castillas
#3 of 29 in Avila
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palacio de Monjaraz
Palacio de Monjaraz
#7 of 29 in Avila
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel las Leyendas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel las Leyendas

Property: Hotel las Leyendas
Address: Calle Francisco Gallego , 3, 05002 Avila, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Avila > Avila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Avila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel las Leyendas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Leyendas is a restored historic house which was built in the 16th century. The rooms are comfortable and contemporary, yet still retain much of the original charm of the building with exposed stone walls and beams and have views of the city Wall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel las Leyendas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Leyendas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing