We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveler rating
105
73
27
16
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
73
27
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmodern hotelold townreceptionisteuroscathedralcity
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 228 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2017

An excellent choice to stay in the interesting castle area of Avila. The reception was A1, the gentleman could not be more helpful in greeting us, advising us where to eat, places to visit etc. Really outstanding service! While the rooms are a bit small, they are tastefully designed with a modern decor providing a wonderful contrast with the centuries old castle city. The castle, cathredal, streets are all in wonderful condition. We were there on Maria Theresa day so the town was quite busy and we were able to see a short but colorful fireworks display between 9:30 and 9:45 that evening. Cost was very reasonable at around 100 euros a night.
Breakfast was very good as well, pastries, charcuterie, cereals, fruit etc and was included in the room price.

Room Tip: ask for away from the central courtyard as it may be noisy
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank towerpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile

El Encanto is a modern hotel in a lovely old building. It is in the old town and within easy walking distance of the cathedral and main squares.
We had the deluxe room and it was luxurious with a massive bed and fantastic walk in shower. The bath towels were lovely and big as well.
We couldn't fault the hotel, everything was clean and well looked after. The receptionist, Anais, deserves special mention. She was so friendly and helpful. The hotel even supplies an excellent map to show you how to find the numerous tourist hotspot
When visiting Avila do bring your walking shoes! There is lots to see and worth seeing! Avila has a train station and the taxi to the hotel was under €7. You could walk it, but easier to take a ride with luggage. The train service is excellent, frequent trains and cheap. We arrived by train before traveling on to Madrid. Very efficient and quick to reach airport.
Very little English is spoken, we mostly communicated in Spanish, although when they couldn't understand us they did their best to help us out with a translation.
Some really nice eating places nearby. We had lunch at Restaurant Bocoro - it is as good as the reviews and you do need to book in advance. Sigloduce is also very good. Cafeteria Restaurante Plaza de Zunaquin is just by the hotel - friendly service and great for evening time snacks.
Certainly visit hotel and city again.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank happyholidaymaker571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017

Boutique 4 star hotel in the centre of the old town, just up the road from the parador. In an historic building, but with modern renovation. Great big room, with good bathroom. Friendly people. One of the few places in town with reserved parking option.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon and decided to choose our supper from the 'menu gastronomic'. Well, either the chef had a night off or his/her eyes on the European Cup Final because 'Gastronomic' didn't feature in what we were served.
Our starters of 'Risotto' and 'Potato with bacon' were way too big, and far too stodgy.
The 'Cod' main course was smaller and tasteless although the meat main course was slightly better. Our 'double chocolate' dessert seemed to have been microwaved from frozen.
Very disappointing because the rest of the hotel cannot be faulted.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank trikemaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el_encanto_av, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Encanto Hotel & Gastro Espacio, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017
Google Translation

Buenas tardes
En primer lugar, muchísimas gracias por elegirnos como su hotel en su luna de miel.
En segundo lugar, sentimos mucho que nuestras especialidades le parezcan pesadas, la cocina castellana se caracteriza por ser bastante calórica. La carne de ternera es autóctona, con denominación de origen de Ternera Avileña. Es una lástima que comentando en el perfil del hotel sólo hable del restaurante ya que existe otro perfil exclusivo del mismo.
Nos alegra saber que le gustó mucho nuestro hotel y esperamos volver a verles pronto.
Muchas gracias y un cordial saludo,
Ana Berlana
Responsable de Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2016

Very nice modern small hotel wonderfully placed inside the city walls of Avila. All modernised very tastefully and our room was spacious with a very comfortable Queen bed and modern bathroom, all spotlessly clean. Very comfortable place to stay and staff friendly and helpful. The parking option was very good considering we were inside the old city. The breakfast provided enough choice and there were hot options which we did not have. In the evenings there were plenty of restaurant choices close to the hotel though the hotel itself has a restaurant which we did not try. I am sure in the summer eating outside in the street opposite would be excellent. Would definitely stay again if we visited.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Redward1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews