We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem!”
Review of El Rastro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Rastro Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Avila B&B and Inns
Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Lovely location and easy sign-posting as one enters the city, which is not true of most other hotels. Excellent value for money and a cracking restaurant across the road with a lovely waitress named Mari-Luce.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffandi92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    60
    31
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
76
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottm England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2009

i stayed here for a single night while travelling around this section of spain in december.

Avila is a tiny little place, ideal for an overnight stay, the walls around the old part of the time look like they are straight out of a film set.

The hotel itself was excellent. nicest room i stayed in on my trip,
done in a rustic style similiar to one i stayed in , in toledo but i think cheaper and looked like everything had been newly refurbished.
Mine was a single room with a cracking bathroom, immaculate, very impressed

  • Liked — the room, location
  • Disliked — breakfast, a bit dull
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pauldrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2006

Located amoungst the historic buildings, of which it is one, the Hotel was perfectly located. The room was very modern, spacious and clean. The girls on reception were very friendly, flexible and efficient. The only negative, as with most building in similar wounderful locations, was the parking and although they recommended parking 100 metres away outside the walls we were able to park opposite, 20 meters away! The price was good too.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
America
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2006

I was terribly disappointed with this hotel - actually I was downright mad! I researched on line to find a hotel that had wireless internet access. I passed by one cheaper hotel without internet and one more expensive with internet that were one block from the train station and rolled my bag the INTERMINABLE distance( when you are toting all your bags) to the El Rastro for the promise of a good price and internet. The first disappointment was the fact you could only use the service in the lobby. Well, there was indeed a wireless connection - in the sense you could connect, but it was so unbelievably slow I couldn't even get my mail without the server timing out. Uploading pictures and stories was impossible. They claimed it was from the rain though I tried again the following bright sunny day with the same result. I tried complaining, very nicely, to the night clerk. The lady shrugged her shoulders and said it wasn't her problem. I asked for a discount. She offered to take off 5 euro. I explained that wasn't even enough to take a cab back to the train station. She handed me a list of hotels and told me I could go find someplace else - yeah at 11 o'clock at night in the rain. I tried complaining the next day - same response. The basic attitude was "we could care less that you have a problem that is our fault, pay us your money and go away." (Actually, I found this to be the attitude in much of the town.) The room was the size of a decent walk in closet, albeit with new fixtures and a decent bathroom. The breakfast was a joke - stale pastries in plastic bags and cold coffee. None of which mattered, the best amenities in the world couldn't make up for the I-don't-give-a-damn attitude of the staff. The only thing they did nice was keep my bag until the afternoon when I got a train and got the heck out of Avila.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank slhsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avila hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Las Moradas
Hotel Las Moradas
#5 of 29 in Avila
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palacio de los Velada
1.3 mi away
Hotel H2 Avila
Hotel H2 Avila
#9 of 29 in Avila
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Valderrabanos
0.1 mi away
Hotel las Leyendas
Hotel las Leyendas
#4 of 29 in Avila
352 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel II Castillas
Hotel II Castillas
#3 of 29 in Avila
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rastro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rastro Hotel

Property: El Rastro Hotel
Address: Calle Cepedas s/n, 05001 Avila, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Avila > Avila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Avila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Rastro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Rastro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing