We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel near Avila wall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Puerta de la Santa
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Avila
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel near Avila wall”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was a last minute reservation, so was not quite sure what to expect, however, we were pleased with our choice. Surprisingly modern interior but may have been recently updated. Rooms were relatively quiet and comfortable. Note this hotel is outside of the wall, but access is quite close. They advertise a cafeteria but we ate in a local establishment.

Room Tip: Food is not allowed in rooms, so plan ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    96
    25
    5
    9
See reviews for
44
157
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I'm just finishing a 3 night stay at this hotel and have loved it. The rooms are spotless, and modern despite what looks like a very old building from the outside. They are small, but certainly adequate in size. No breakfast is included in the price, but there's a little restaurant on the top floor that opens at 8:30 where you can get small breakfasts (and full dinners or just snacks to go with glasses of wine in the evening). Just across the street is one of the main entrances to the walled city (the entrance being one that leads to the church built on the site where St. Theresa of Avila was born, thus the name of the hotel. When I arrived on the the train from Madrid, the taxi driver found the place with no trouble. While noise on the staircase or in the hallway outside of the room can be loudly heard inside the room, it doesn't happen very often and doesn't last very long . One hint to the owner/operator would be to post a few signs asking those in the hallway to keep their voices down. If I were to come back to town, I'd certainly plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msafiri_Hodari_Sana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed two nights at this hotel in Avila. Very new and clean hotel. Looks brand new hotel. Staffs are kind. We enjoyed staying here. Cafeteria was also very good. Around 5-10 min by Taxi from train station and just outside of the Wall.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank justinsuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Even our GPS had trouble finding it behind the medieval walls! The initial greeting was cool, but our host soon warmed up to us. The room was very small, but immaculate. Bed made in heaven (and yes, we were really tired!)

Room Tip: No elevators here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovemydogSedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked this on the strength of other Trip Advisor reviews and on the whole were not disappointed.

Some perspective is required. This is a 2 star hotel offering great room rates and it is right by a gate into Avila.

The place was spotless and well maintained. Everything we needed was in the room and the bed was fairly comfy, if a little hard. From this point of view standards were high and our interactions with staff were very positive.

You will hear people in other rooms flushing toilets; having showers etc. Hard tile floors and walls transmit noise. If you want plush carpets and a cocoon go elsewhere, if you want a clean honest hotel give it a go!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked this hotel, based on Trip Adv When we got to our room, it smelled so strongly of chemical detergents that I requested another. The next room was no better. We tried to explain that I was highly sensitive, and that I just was not going to be able to stay there. They refused to give our money back. He threatened to call the police. We paid, left, and found a lovely hotel inside the wall of the old city.
I am shocked that the people who would visit a beautiful medieval city like Avilla, would want to stay in a sterile, unimaginative hotel such as the Puerta de la Santa. The rooms were tiny, the beds were uncomfortable an the management was nasty. Rated #1?????????

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulricehamn, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is a must if you are planning to stay in Avila. The room was impeccably clean and fresh, in fact the whole place is perfect. Located just outside one of the "gates" into the old town where you find lots of restaurants and bars. We parked the car on the street just outside the hotel, it's free and quiet =safe acc. to the hotel manager. But as always, don't leave anything visible in the car. It is the opportunity that makes the thief! Stroll around in the city and take your time. take a walk on the rampart, 5 euros incl. audio guide. One thing that could be better is the breakfast. Something more to offer than bread, marmalade, orange juice and coffee!

Room Tip: I guess all rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Per C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avila hotels
0.3 mi away
Palacio de los Velada
0.2 mi away
Hotel Las Moradas
Hotel Las Moradas
#5 of 29 in Avila
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parador de Avila
Parador de Avila
#1 of 29 in Avila
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Valderrabanos
0.2 mi away
Hotel las Leyendas
Hotel las Leyendas
#4 of 29 in Avila
352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palacio de Monjaraz
Palacio de Monjaraz
#7 of 29 in Avila
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta de la Santa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta de la Santa

Property: Hotel Puerta de la Santa
Address: Calle Empedrada 1, 05002 Avila, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Avila > Avila
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Avila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Puerta de la Santa 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Puerta de la Santa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing