We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and different”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sterling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alaska Redfish Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting and different”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My partner Paul found the Redfish Lodge listed in Purpleroofs, the Alaska gay travel resource. There aren't many openly gay friendly places on the Kenai peninisula iso we thougth we would give it a try. Not a luxury place for sure, and not for everyone, but it was a change of pace for us. Met some nice families. Some of our friends who like roughing it plan to give it a try.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    2
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
35
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at Redfish and Steve and Leah (sp?) made us feel like family. I stayed 6 nights with 3 buddies and used Redfish as our "base of fishing operations". The bottom line for us is that Redfish gives us all we need for our Alaska fishing adventures and they are always so helpful and accomodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spicer, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our group of 13 stayed at Redfish for 8 nights starting August 2. Redfish is in a central location and easy to get to. We were looking for somewhere that was managable for us, age range of 10 to 76, as this was our first trip to Alaska. We found everyone to be very friendly and accomodating with our many questions. They frequently went out of their way to help us. On arriving, within a couple hours Steve was rigging us up with what we needed to fish Rainbows and Dollys at the lodge's river access. Over the stay we caught many, from trophy sized to tiny. We booked our trips through them. The flyout produced a lot of Silvers and sighting 6 black bear. The Glacier/Wildlife Cruise out of Seward was fantastic (don't forget Bonine for sea sickness.) The 2 disappointments were the float trip on the Kasilof although nice didn't have many fish in early August. We fished out of Seward and had a bad experience. Not recommended unless weather is good. Steve scrambled to get us another good outing to make up for the disappointment and 6 of us fished on the Kenai. Very memorable and excellent. If you are planning a trip to Alaska and want to stay at a place that is friendly and the staff care about you and the location offers a wide variety of things to do then check out Redfish.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregg_Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Hi Steve and Family! We can't thank you enough for all of your hospitality during our short stay in Sterling a couple weeks ago. Despite the lack of fish caught during our stay, you surely went out of your way to assist our rookie fishermen! Notice that I am not including myself in that comment! Thank you for rearranging things to fit our schedule and we just wish we had allowed for a bit more time so that we could have enjoyed the pig roast for Luke's birthday party. I'm sure everyone had a great time. I've included a couple pictures here and again, your customer service and accommodations were just top-notch!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Steve & his crew/family run a great operation. The cabins were great, the staff accommodating, the guides were awesome and we really appreciated the use of equipment (tackle, hip boots & coolers). It's Alaska, not an urban drive thru with pillow chocolates. We also enjoyed Steve swinging by in the evenings to check up on us and the other guests. We limited out on all our fishing trips (including a 52lb King).
Definitely heading back next year to Red Fish Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Redfish lodge for 9 nights. The cabin was spacious and well stocked, the bed very comfortable! We were there to fish and the location was perfect with many options for fishing the Kenai and Russian rivers and also some smaller creeks for trout! I am a bit picky when it comes to lodging as my parents were in the motel business when I was a child, THE CABINS WERE EXTREMELY CLEAN!!! Steve, his wife and their staff were very accommodating and helpful. I definitely recommend Redfish Lodge and we will stay here again in the future!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Linb113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice quiet stay at the Redfish Lodge. We used it as a central location to go fishing from. The room had all we needed. We stayed for 2 nights and never got to meet the owner Steve. We only got to talk to their children. It rained the whole time so we did not get to enjoy the campfire time. The dock area on the river was a nice place to hang out an we caught a few trout. A couple bald eagles hung out too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyHTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
12.3 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
78 reviews
12.1 mi away
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
11.5 mi away
A Cabin by the Pond
A Cabin by the Pond
#7 of 44 in Soldotna
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
No photo provided
Frenchy's Fishing Cabins
#11 of 12 in Sterling
4 reviews
2.4 mi away
Alaskan Wooden Bear Cabins
Alaskan Wooden Bear Cabins
#7 of 12 in Sterling
1 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kenai Magic Lodge
Kenai Magic Lodge
#5 of 12 in Sterling
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Redfish Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Redfish Lodge

Property: Alaska Redfish Lodge
Address: 32815 Eldorado Way, Sterling, AK 99672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Sterling
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alaska Redfish Lodge is an affordable family run business overlooking the beautiful Kenai River. We have 15 fully furnished, heated, spacious, beautifully appointed cabins waiting for you! Each is fully equipped to make your stay with us feel like your "home away from home." The cabins feature a private bathroom, flat screen TV, eat-in kitchenette, barbeque grill and picnic table. The lodge also provides rods and reels, hip waders, nets and bonkers for those who wish to take advantage of World class fishing on our private Kenai River lot! We can be your "one-stop-shop" for booking fishing trips, sight-seeing and fly-out trips, and more! Relax at the fire pit in the evenings to share "fish tales" while the kids play in our safe, well-equipped playground area. Open seasonally from May 15 to Sept 15. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alaska Redfish Lodge Sterling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing