We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Trout Fishing Dream”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sterling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Great Alaska Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Trout Fishing Dream”
Reviewed November 18, 2010

I don’t often write reviews but felt compelled to do so after my most extraordinary visit to the Kenai Peninsula last fall, Great Alaska Adventure Lodge was our host.
Upon arrival you immediately get the feeling that you are in good hands , The General Manager Toby Sprinkle heads up what is with out a doubt one of the tightest run organizations in the destination fishing lodge business I have every seen. I have spent the last 30 years and hundreds of thousands of dollars all over the world and can honestly say you will not find a more service oriented staff.

The Fishing and the Guides were excellent. The boats were well equipped with premium
Redington Fly rods and reels. I had torn a hole in my waders on the river at the very beginning of the trip in the morning about 2 hours into the float, our guide called Toby via his cell phone and Toby drove 30 minutes with back-up waders and socks in hand.
NOW THAT’S SERVICE!!! We caught plenty of trout avg 3- 7lb during the course of the week members of our party caught and released fish to 15LBS.

The Food was good and well prepared, I was hoping for a little more in the Seafood department at Dinner (I.E. CRAB) but overall I would rate the culinary department a 3.5 - 4 star rating.

The rooms were clean and comfortable but very basic, no 800 thread count sheets here.
This is one area that could us improvement.

The overall experience was awesome and the General Manager and Staff took what was a good trip and made it exceptional!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtnlvr42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    14
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
39
38
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

I would rate GAAL a very poor value. For $700 per night about the highest in Alaska, you get poor service, poor food, poor bedding, and while it is at the confluence of the Kenai and Moose Rivers all the day trips are miles away. The personnel were poorly trained and tired. We just had a very bad experience and in talking to the other guests at the lodge they all had the same feelings. We have traveled a lot and didn't expect a 5 Star experience but it truly was pitiful. You have been warned.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank mick1260898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent J, Owner at Great Alaska Adventures, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear reading traveler: of all of our positive reviews, we have 3 that have been marked as "terrible". All three have been on our one day fishing experience, and all three were with folks who have never fished before with a guide, and did not catch the fish they were hoping for. This particular guest sees 295.00 for a one day fishing experience that includes 270 mile of round trip, door to door transfer with a sightseeing guide, lunch, 4 1/2 hours with a licensed, trained and expert guide and 35.00 worth of daily fishing license as "much too expensive". The next time you are traveling, I encourage you to charter a van for a 270 mile trip, charter a fishing guide, pay for a license and then buy a lunch and let me know if 295.00 seems like too much. We have held the line on our one day fishing experience for 6 years now, and trust me when I say we don't make much money off it. It is a "loss leader", in that many one day guests have such a great time that they return for extended stays later on. We offer the one day fishing to 3 separate cruise lines, and 7 different "Alaska Only" travel agencies use if exclusively for their one day fishing experience from Anchorage. If you are in Anchorage with 1 day to spend, and want to try fishing the world famous Kenai or Kasilof rivers, I encourage you to find out for yourself. Thanks for reading our management response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS7293
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

I joined TripAdvisor just to sing the praises of this outstanding adventure lodge and it's superior staff. What a Team! From Toby Sprinkle at the top of the Team to the Lodge Culinary Staff to the guides to the beach staffers all we can say is WOW! Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and introduced to a few of the Team then off to our first adventure. An awesome hike with Guides Taylor and Adalie picking wild berries, viewing the salmon running up stream, the hike was spectacular with scenery abound. Happy Hour and dinner that night and planning the next day. Day two was a calm Kayak trip up the Moose River. Beautiful, relaxing and scenic. Back in time for another great dinner and then hitting Kings and Silvers from the beach. Day three on the Kasilof River with guides Ken and Nolan....two of the finest guides in drift boats. Day four Seward and the glaciers by sea (it really is Alaska's best). Day five, bad weather so no halibut but no problem with Toby's planning. It was back to the Kasilof for the boys harvesting limits of Silvers and a Sockeye for good measure (thanks Nolan!) and Homer's historic sites for the girls. Our last full day it's off to Bear Camp on a 'flight-see' over more beautiful Alaskan wonder. Every day we said "it doesn't get better than this" and the next day it did. We cannot wait to come back! THANK YOU GREAT ALASKA!

If you are looking for the right place to go to see what Alaska is all about, book it here. You won't be disappointed!

The Scott Group

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SS7293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

There are not many good hotels in Alaska. I think this is due to the small window of the tourist season. I chose this hotel due to the number of activities it offered in one central location. I was traveling with two children and did not want to drive for miles and miles to do different things. Great Alaska has a family package that included fishing, kayaking/canoeing, hiking, fjord/bay cruising, sight seeing, dog mushing and even an (optional) bear watching tour. This package, like most stays in Alaska, is not cheap, for a family of four you are looking to spend well over $1,000 per day, including food.

First the bad news.

The lodge is clean, the rooms are no frills, lower end motel 6 type accomodations. Plastic bathrooms, white paint and thin carpet make them really unnacceptable. All meals are serve yourself affairs buffet style. The breakfast usually had a special daily item (french toast, eggs benedicts, etc) and then bacon or sausage, toast and hashbrowns. Breakfast is over at 8 am. You make your own lunch from deli meats (ham, turkey or roast beef), a bag of chips and cookies. At 7 pm there is a happy hour with limited complementary drinks where you can meet your fellow travelers and the guides that will accompany you on your next adventure. There is an oderve serve during happy hour (sweedish meatballs, brushetta, cheese spreads, etc). Dinner consists of a salad, dinner rolls, one main item and one side. They do arrange for special diets, ie vegetarians.
Don't come here for the accomodations or food or you will be sorely dissapointed.

The good news.

You didn't go to Alaska for gourmet food and Four Seasons accomodations, you went for great adventure, so you are in luck at Great Alaska. This is primarily a fishing lodge so if salmon, trout and halibut are your cup of tea, this lodge has the finest fishing guides in the state. The property also sits where the Kenai and Moose rivers meet and the salmon are jumping just steps away from you, plus there is a guide right at the water's edge with all the gear and tips you need to reel the big one in, and many do. Want to hike and float down the Kenai instead? The non fishing guides are as good and friendly as the fishing guides, they will point out flora and fauna along the way and give you tid bits of information that will make your trip more enjoyable. Everyone here is enjoying themselves tremendously, even though they work long hours (wake up call for fishing is at 4:15 am, every guide is there at 7pm for happy hour). Many of the staff come year after year and are very familiar with Alaska, even if they are from somewhere else. Stan the breakfast cook has been there 7 years, he'll greet you with a sarcastic "good afternoon" if you show up after 7 am (he can't leave until you are done), after a week you'll love the guy.

The Bear Camp

We took the option of spending the night at the bear camp. This is a camp, not a luxury tent camp in Africa, a vinyl tent camp with a port a potty. It was raining constantly, and it was cold, not great camping conditions. But if you want to see bears, you've come to the right place. I counted 26 the first day, and you are close, truly as close as you want to get to these magnificent creatures. Since they have a day trip to the camp, I can't recommend you spend the night there.

Overall

Overall we had a great experience. The people staying at the lodge were all great, the staff was wonderful and Alaska is beautiful. Could the rooms and food be better? Absolutely, it would surely not detract from the experience. I, for one, would return.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room/Food
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank interterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2005

Took a family vacation here and did salmon fishing, bear viewing, kayaking in Homer, and rafting down the Kenai. It was an incredible stay! The lodge is peaceful and minimal. The meals each night along with the happy hour on the patio really added to the experience. You got to meet other people and tell stories of what you did for the day. Spent one night at the Bear Camp and it was an experience of a lifetime...something everyone must do once in their life. We saw a ton of bears and came within 15 feet of them, very scary for me at first. We did hear of people going the next night and seeing absolutely no bears. Our experience was quite the opposite, we watched a bear for about 45 minutes catch salmon after salmon right in front of us, amazing! The staff at the bear camp was so nice! We even met the homesteader of the land and enjoyed his company by the fire. It was nice to stay at a place and have them plan your activites and take you to them. Meals provided at all activites. We caught our limit of salmon and sent them home and are still feasting on them!
Would defintely recommend this place. Kinda funny, being from a metroplitan area, we were surprised that we were not given keys to our lodge rooms. We asked for keys and they said we wouldn't need them, theft nevers occurs. Imagine that! You can fish in the evenings right in front of the lodge before and after dinner, then your to bed to rest up for you next day's activities. Loved it and hope to go back!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank FLATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2003

If you can afford this place - book it! We decided that this lodge would be the "big splurge" portion of our trip to Alaska. Spent 4 nights (one of which we stayed at Bear Camp). The lodging was spacious and the complimentary happy hour each evening was nice as you got to meet your fishing guide for the next day. Best part of the stay was the location - right on the river. No fighting the crowds. 12 yr old daughter caught a 46inch King Salmon right in front of the lodge. A guide is on the riverbank all the time - you can fish as late as you want (after a full day of fishing off a boat or touring). Very nice people - especially Nate (beach guide - excellent with young kids). If you are flexible in your arrival time (a bit off season) they may discount the rate a bit.

Helpful?
19 Thank Maui Coconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
11.7 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
78 reviews
16.2 mi away
Aspen Extended Stay Suites
16.6 mi away
Kenai Airport Hotel
Kenai Airport Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kenai
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#3 of 8 in Soldotna
132 reviews
11.5 mi away
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
0.3 mi away
Kenai Magic Lodge
Kenai Magic Lodge
#5 of 12 in Sterling
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Alaska Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Alaska Adventures

Property: Great Alaska Adventures
Address: 33881 Sterling Hwy, Sterling, AK 99672-9510 (Formerly Great Alaska Adventure Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Sterling
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Great Alaska Adventure Hotel Sterling
Great Alaska Adventures Sterling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing