We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Bear Viewing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sterling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Great Alaska Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I was on a solo trip and stayed overnight at the Bear Camp. There isn't enough space here to express how nice the staff and facilities were. The food was EXCELLENT and the staff catered to your ever need.
If you want to see bears, this is the place. Bears were always around and the staff went out of their way to make sure we all had plenty of photo opportunities.
This place is a must while visiting Alaska.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twofst2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Great Alaska Adventures
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 130 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I experienced the overnight stay at the Bear Camp and loved it. We had only one other person with us and he was wonderful company. The crew and facilities were first rate for a wilderness camp. Actually, they were better than we had hoped. We had such a wonderful time viewing loads of bears in their natural environment. At one stage there were 14. I appreciate the care that the staff take in ensuring that humans do not impact on the bears either negatively or positively. This causes the bears to show little or no interest in humans and keeps us all safe. We highly recommend at least an overnight stay during which you will see and be able to photograph these gorgeous brown bears at different times of the day and at varying activity levels. It may seem to be a little pricey but I now know that it is really worth it and such a unique experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Louisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

if you are looking to go to alaska, go to Great Alaska adventure lodge!
everything was exactly as advertised. EXCELLENT!
great guides, great people, incredible fishing. they have a package for everyone.
i will go back again.
Larry H

Room Tip: bring or buy small cooler for room. all rooms had great view, some are closer to lodge
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed for a week and didn't want to leave. Everyone who works at the lodge was amazing. They all have an impressive knowledge of the area and Alaska in general even though most of them are not from there. It was such a warm friendly environment and it was great to feel like part of the family. Getting together with the staff and other guests at happy hour every night was the perfect way to end an exciting day. Great range of guests from serious fisherman to families. There are a variety of fishing options as well as other activities for the young, old and everyone in between. Bear Camp (and the flight there) was incredible.
I cannot say enough good things about my stay. Thank you so much for one of the best vacations ever.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyFNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent J, Owner at Great Alaska Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Great Alaska Traveler:

Thanks so much for your great review! There is nothing better than knowing that our guests appreciate the hard work we put in making sure your trip is all that you hoped it would be.

We loved having you, and hope we'll have the privilege of seeing you again some day down the road!

Sincerely,

Kent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My son & I stayed there June 2013 on our first trip to Alsaka to celebrate Fathers Day & to honor my late Dad(WWII) vet . We were not dissapointed ! Sockeye right from the bank every day-Daniel was great & so patient with my son ! Halibut fishing was nonstop action with everyone catching their limit with a great captain & deckhand. River fishing was tough but fun-my son caught a 15lb native king we released. 45lb & 60lb kings caught from the bank during our stay also. We're already talking about 2014 with other family members.
Saw moose every where everyday.
Lloyd Peirce & Erik

Room Tip: Don't be shy to call ahead & ask them anything !
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lloyd p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

A once in a lifetime trip to Great Alaska Bear Camp in June of 2012! My sister and I were picked up by van from our hotel in Anchorage and driven to the Great Alaska Adventure Lodge. The staff went above and beyond to make sure we had a memorable time. The Bear Camp was the highlight of our 3-week trip through Alaska. We were the only guests at the remote bear camp and our outstanding guides made sure we had every opportunity to see the bears in their natural habitat. Delicious meals, fun accommodations and enjoyable conversations with our guides made for pleasant relaxation when we weren't out observing the bears. Returning to the Adventure Lodge the staff arranged for our transportation on to Seward. Full service. Great memories. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Weather can change quickly in Alaska. The staff helped us find alternate activities in the rain. Sal...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noteworthy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The guides provided us with a lot of great info about Alaska as well as being great guides on our day trips. All of the staff were very helpful. The trout fishing and bear camp were especially amazing. Some of the activities in the family safari left many hours unfilled in the afternoons and no vehicle of our own to use. Every effort was made for us to be involved in other activities when I asked the coordinators. There were not any kid type meal options for evening meals unless specially requested. We overall very happy with our stay and recommended Great Alaska to several people we met during the rest of our trip in Alaska after staying with Great Alaska.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
11.7 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
81 reviews
14.7 mi away
Diamond M Ranch Resort
11.5 mi away
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kenai Magic Lodge
Kenai Magic Lodge
#4 of 12 in Sterling
21 reviews
12.4 mi away
Salmon Catcher Lodge
Salmon Catcher Lodge
#4 of 18 in Kenai
73 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alaskan Wooden Bear Cabins
Alaskan Wooden Bear Cabins
#8 of 12 in Sterling
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Alaska Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Alaska Adventures

Address: 33881 Sterling Hwy, Sterling, AK 99672-9510 (Formerly Great Alaska Adventure Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Sterling
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Great Alaska Adventure Hotel Sterling
Great Alaska Adventures Sterling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing