We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Making New Friends in Alaska”
Review of Anglers Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sterling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anglers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My son and I had a wonderful Alaskan fishing experience and appreciate the hospitality from all
at Anglers Lodge. The lodge provides a home away from home environment and the guides make
your day of fishing a lot of fun. The owners of Anglers Lodge are very conscious of providing and
recognizing the "little things" that make your visit very enjoyable. We both agreed Anglers Lodge
was a great choice and look forward to visiting our new friends as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gamaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Anglers Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 44 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed for four nights, fished three days. Even though king fishing was slow we still had a great time. Enjoyed everything about the lodge. The Anglers Lodge crew treated you like you were one of the family. Already planning to come back and stay longer next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IMJIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I spent a lot of time on the internet looking for an Alaskan lodge that had a river location, its own fishing guides and equipment, rooms with private bathrooms and meals; Anglers Lodge had all these things in their Lodge and it was all excellent . The guides love to fish, are knowledgable and are a pleasure to fish with. The location is beautiful, located right on the Kenai River, NOT in town, but only about 10 minutes by car to Soldonta. The breakfast is set up for fisherman leaving early, with many food choices ( including Almond Milk for the lactose intolerant} lunch is packed for you and the homemade sandwiches are prepared on really hearty whole wheat bread, dinners are absolutely delicious as well as the great deserts.The reason all of the above happens is because the owners Roger and Marlene take pride in their operation and are there on the premises 24/7 overseeing and managing the operation. If you like to fish, head for Anglers Lodge and the only thing you need to bring is your suitcase.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paco30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I always stay at Anglers Lodge when we visit Alaska (we've been 5-6 times). We enjoy the peaceful location of Anglers Lodge (much better than the busy lower Kenai River), the experienced and friendly guides and the great food. The view from the deck is worth the price alone. The owners are amazing and really create a personal and memerable experience for guests. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnikaS899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed for 5 days, its everything its advertised as. The owners put a lot of effort into the food they cook for everyone-asking also if any allergy's, gluten etc. Breakfast is self serve as it should be for those 4am and 5 am fishing trips. The rooms are clean, comfy and the right size. We enjoyed the hot tub, the double swing, river view, large screen tv and the occasionally moose walking down the driveway. Help your self refrig for drinks. We had a great time with all 4 fishing guides, lots of fish, lots of laughs. The nice thing Roger does is rotate the guides so you get someone different everyday, makes it a new experience everyday. The owners are super nice and friendly- except when woken up by inconsiderate people who blast the car music and wake half the lodge people up at 4am (not everyone fishes at the same time) yes we were there when this happened and it was rude of those other guests. Great place great deal no one else offers all food included its a deal

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank califcruiser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Myself and three friends went on a "once in a lifetime" fishing trip to Alaska and we chose this lodge over others primarily because of the all-inclusive package they offered. Breakfast was a get it yourself type setup which was fine considering that you had to be ready to leave for fishing at 5 AM. Lunch and dinner were great with home cooked meals prepared by Chef Marlene who with her husband Roger own the lodge. She had her own vegetable garden from which the guests all benefitted. The room we had was very basic, no TV, but comfortable enough except for the bed which had a very noisy (I was alone!) and uncomfortable mattress. The lodge itself was great, exactly what you envision when you think of an Alaskan fishing lodge. There was a BIG TV in the lodge which connected us to civilization via satellite. Seems like since there was already sat TV on site that they could put a basic small flat screen in each room. I bring that up because the only major fault we found with Anglers was the family reunion that the owners had while we and other guests were there. I estimate that with their children and grandchildren there were more than a dozen of them. Until my friend mentioned to Marlene that the kids making a lot of noise etc was preventing anyone from watching/enjoying the Olympics on the only TV on site, it was quite annoying. From that point on she did what she could to keep the kids in a different section of the lodge when guests were present in the main part of the lodge. On more than one occasion I watched as guests stood in line behind family members to get drinks etc during meals. Bottom line is that it's their lodge, their family, and they can do whatever they want with either. BUT, since this reunion must have been well planned given that the family came from 5 different time zones around the States, I think it would have been appropriate to mention it to guests with reservations and give them the option to cancel or change the dates of their visit. The family running around day and night certainly took away that quiet, relaxing, Alaskan fishing lodge experience where fishermen sit around at the end of the day discussing the days fishing experiences and swapping fish stories from the past. One final note. As per information provided by an on-site fishing guide, and our own experience, don't expect to catch any salmon from the banks of the river on the lodge property. Apparently, as per the guide, a big storm a few years ago forced large ice flows down the river changing the composition of the bottom in front of the lodge. As a result of the new bottom structure, salmon no longer appear to stage there. We watched as fisherman directly across the river from us pulled in salmon one after the other while neither we nor any other guests I observed caught salmon at our lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bertram4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Great location, right on the river. Accommodations were comfortable and the food that was cooked was delicious. The guides were terrific all three days, working extremely hard to find us the hot spots, which they successfully did as we caught our halibut limit each day. We unfortunately woke the owners up our first morning as we got ready to make the trek to the Cook Inlet at 4am, which we apologized profusely for. Then at dinner that evening, the owner proceeded to scold our bewildered group of adults in their mid 30's for waking him and his wife up, telling us that we should "think before we act". We "thought" we were at a fishing lodge that we paid good money for. Other than the owners' short fuses, the experience at the lodge was great.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank bggrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
7.8 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
81 reviews
7.3 mi away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#2 of 8 in Soldotna
139 reviews
7.6 mi away
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Salmon Catcher Lodge
Salmon Catcher Lodge
#4 of 18 in Kenai
73 reviews
11.3 mi away
Diamond M Ranch Resort
3.9 mi away
Kenai Magic Lodge
Kenai Magic Lodge
#4 of 12 in Sterling
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anglers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anglers Lodge

Address: 36020 Stephens Drive, Sterling, AK 99672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Sterling
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anglers Lodge is a family-owned and operated business established in 1987. Our all-inclusive packages and comfortable accommodations provide a home-away-from-home experience for each of our guests. Mark and Julie are the new owners of Anglers Lodge along with their children. Mark is on sight to help you with your fishing needs and Julie is readily available to provide the warm hospitality that the previous owners set into motion 29 years ago. You will enjoy the family atmosphere, the beautiful garden, fresh-baked goodies, delicious home-cooked meals and the atmosphere for telling those great fishing stories at the end of the day! Our lodge is located on the banks of the World Famous, Kenai River in Sterling, Alaska in a park-like setting. We are full service fishing lodge, providing you with wonderful rooms, excellent food and a variety of fishing opportunities. We are happy to accommodate our non-fishing partners and can help recommend outings and activities throughout the Peninsula for your group to enjoy the beautiful scenery, see wildlife and enjoy Alaska's great outdoors. We are centrally located on the Peninsula and just a short drive from Kenai, Soldotna, Seward and Homer, Alaska. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anglers Lodge Alaska/Sterling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing