We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa Mador

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Sighisoara, Mures County, Central Romania, Transylvania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Cristian...
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed November 22, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
4
people found this review helpful

This house is located in the heart of the Sighisoara citadel, being surrounded by all major touristic attractions.
There are 3 apartments, very clean, quiet and comfortable. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything necessary and the owner (Mr. Ovidiu) is very nice and helpful.
Wi-Fi connection is very good and free of charge.
Free parking place is possible on the premises.
You should inform the owner about your arrival time in order to be there to hand over the access keys.
I strongly recommend this place for families

Date of stay: November 2015
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: hospitality
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M
Chisinau, Moldova
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in a gourgeous city”
Reviewed November 9, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We absolutely LOVED our stay at Casa Mador. This was probably one of the greatest acommodation that I have ever stayed at. The owner met us when we arrived in Sighisoara, he was such a nice guy. Our apartment had 2 bedrooms, it was very simply but so tastefully designed and furnished, in the spirit of Sighisoara. I guess the simplicity of the apartment made it so warm and cozy and comfortable. We found unlimited tea and coffee inside, water, even a mini bar (for extra pay, of course). The apartment itself is situated on one of the city's main streets and has a small, old courtyard which gives the whole property a medieval allure, if I can say so. There's free wi-fi and parking and the we had a view to one of the old streets of Sighisoara. This is one lovely place and we'll definetly return here.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We liked everything
Liked least: We liked everything
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviv E
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“1st class hospitality and settings”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We hit it off with a toast to life with our host with the local 'Zuike' and enjoyed the great settings of the rooms. Its in the center of everything you want to see, rooms are very big and comfortable, the porch is amazing for breakfast and there are a washing machine and a dryer. couldn't ask for more on the road

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the welcoming hospitality and large rooms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mih_strik...
Florence, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“2 bedrooms flat, location: perfect, very clean, spacious and confortable”
Reviewed May 16, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

What I liked: the host (helpful and friendly), the location (1 minute from the Clock Tower), the quiet of the rooms, the bathroom & towels (I am a sucker for good towels) and the big bed. Oh, and the fresh coffee in the morning - they have a coffee machine and provided the coffee beans... Life saver this morning.
You can see the Tower from the court yard :) There's a covered smoking place there, as you can't smoke inside the house.
This is one of the things I liked in Sighisoara: the restaurants are non-smoking, which is different from the rest of Romania.
What can be changed: the water heater, the shower water was hot then warm then hot again, then warm. At least it was not cold :)
Btw, they have a number of apartments in the house, we stayed on the ground floor.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: we had everything we needed in the flat, from towels to wine corkscrew
Liked least: the water heater
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmostFif...
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed March 3, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I spent a few days in Romania, staying in different accommodation around the country. This was one of the most unique experiences we had. The flat is directly in the citadel of the old city (up the hill, which made it a bit difficult to find because we did not thing such an amazing accommodation possible!), in the most quaint of surroundings. All the sights were directly outside our door (literally STEPS away!) and parking was also right on the spot. The flat itself was perfect in every way - a sleeping area separated from the "living" area, with more sleeping space if needed. Even though our arrival was late in the evening, "Daniel" met us promptly to let us in, turn up the heat (because he saw I was suffering from a bit of a cold and said it would be better for me) and even left us bottled water in the fridge and plum wine (good for a cold! lol). The flat had the fluffiest towels I have EVER had in a rental (softer even than mine at home!) and a blow dryer was a welcome bonus after our long travels and previous simple accommodations!

I would HIGHLY recommend this accommodation to anyone traveling to Romania if they seek the best accommodation and top quality customer service!

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and customer service
Liked least: That I did not have more time to stay longer!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikev734
East Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service, Remarkable Experience”
Reviewed December 8, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My daughter and I stayed two nights in two apartments here, both of which were terrific. Centrally located, comfortable, well-appointed. But the real standout for us was Ovidiu, the property manager. To compensate for a minor mixup in the booking, he took us on an all-day driving tour of the Carpathians, which included the beautiful town of Brasov, two castles and some extraordinary scenery. Interesting, knowledgeable and very companionable, Ovidiu made this an exceptional experience for us.

I would recommend a tour with this young man as an essential component of your stay. Great guy. Big thumbs up.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish V
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Loved this stay!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed just one night in this apartment and loved it. Its in the centre of the old city with many beautiful sights and shops within easy walking distance. Its simply beautiful there. The communication was excellent and the pictures are accurate. The pick up and drop off of the key was very easy and the gentleman was very kind. If you plan to travel to Romania I would recommend staying at this apartment!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing - we were all very happy with this booking!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.