We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat”
Review of Hotel Casa Wagner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casa Wagner
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Sighisoara
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Casa Wagner as part of a Untravelled Paths (UTP) trip to the Ice Hotel. I had made UTP aware that's it was my partner's birthday so they had arranged for us to have the best room overlooking the main square, with champagne on arrival. The room was very spacious and well decorated. The bathroom had a corner bath but lacked a curtain for using the shower. The queen size bed was comfortable and the breakfast was adequate with a scrambled egg option. Cannot comment on price as this was part of out UTP package, but overall a pleasant stay in Brasov.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jedipoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    103
    51
    16
    13
See reviews for
45
101
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Casa Wagner two nights between Christmas and New Year's Eve; a welcome break from extended family festivities. We had booked this accommodation in advance and weren't sure if it would match our expectations. Well, it surpassed them!

The location is fantastic, in the heart of the historical part of Sighisoara, close to the Clock Tower and the Covered Staircase.

We arrived there before midday and were immediately taken to our room. However, we were advised that if we were happy to wait until 2pm, we could be upgraded for free to Room No 2 - the best room in the hotel - for free. We were happy to do so as we were advised that room had a sofa bed which would be just right for our 5-year old son.

The room we were initially shown to was newly refurbished - with a gorgeous wooden floor and a very stylish bathroom. The furnishings were typical Romanian and it was obvious the restoration work had been carried out with the purpose to preserve and enhance the period features. This may not necessarily be obvious to the untrained eye but as one of our couple is of Romanian origin we can testify to the authenticity of this place.

We left our luggage in the room we were shown at first and returned at 2pm to check into the Room No 2. This room is absolutely great; it has a big bathroom, a nice entree and a very big bedroom. The double bed is massive - all three of us could have comfortably slept in it. The ceilings are typical arched ceilings and the floorboards are authentic wooden floors. There is a small fridge - not furnished with any drinks, but which can be used if you buys stuff from outside. There is a big flat screen TV with a wide selection of TV channels in Romanian and English - not that we watched much. There is also a sofa bed that was perfect for our 5-year old.

The staff were incredibly nice and helpful - arranging taxis for us, advising on places to visit and places to eat at.

We had breakfast included and this was fine, with typical Romanian breakfast fare. The restaurant looks very cosy and it was beautifully decorated for Christmas. We did not eat there apart from breakfast and can't tell if cuisine is good or not.

Our son absolutely loved this place - the staff were so friendly, Romanians absolutely love children - and keeps asking to go back to Room No 2 in the "pink hotel".

We would definitely go back and can say that for Romanian standards - and tourists who had travelled far and wide but have no experience of Romania may disagree - this place is spot on. If you want character, proper Romanian service in a wonderful medieval setting this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Just ask for room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sylvadianu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slobozia, Ialomita, Romania
2 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hotel Casa Wagner was a great choice for the New Year’s Eve. I enjoyed the old refurbished furniture in the rooms (I think it suites the surroundings very well) and the renovated bathrooms. We have booked the New Year Package that included accommodation and 3 dinners. The food was plenty and very tasteful. Breakfast was also quite good, although no variations for the entire period.

The staff was open to all our requests and quite helpful.

One small downfall: there was no hairdryer in the room as advertised on the website.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IonescuGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The first contact with this so called "three star" hotel was the small room with no fridge in it and it's very poor furniture: an old wardrobe with lack of space and two chairs, one smaller than the other in the bedroom, dirty laundry, had to yell at the receptionist in the middle of the night.

Second, they missed to bringone item of the menu they said we'll have for the big night. Next evening, they charged us without any reason for a wine bottle (which was free).

The old look of the furniture was the sort of extremely used and felt unconfortable to use it.

Sorry Tripadvisor recommended it.

SO, NEVER AGAIN FOR ME.
Dont' let you fooled by their Internet webpage.

Room Tip: Inspect the room before accepting to stay there. Ask for for the items you need and never accept the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danmar_ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sighisoara hotels

Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We spent one night in Casa Wagner just between X-mass and New Years. We were lucky enough to get a free upgrade in one of the rooms. Instead of a double room with a king size bed we got an apartment. The rooms were great, with old and stylish furniture and decoration. It was very warm and the bed was just huge. A huge TV, big bathroom... In short excellent from this point of view.

The service however could've been better. While the staff was OK their lack of enthusiasm was obvious. Maybe they were a bit wrecked after the Xmass groups and they weren't looking forward for the New Year groups...

Anyway, another thing that it's worth mentioning: when we arrived the place smelled like gas. Asking the staff we found out that they have used gas for the wooden panels.

Thus the cellar (one of the reasons of picking the place) couldnt be used. One could feel the smell in the restaurant as well so we picked another place for dinner.

Breakfast was OK. One thing easily noticeable is that dishes are ancient. And I don't mean classic, but I mean old and chipped and obviously need replacement.

The location of the hotel is perfect, just in the main plaza of the old town.

In short one place we can recommend but definitely the customer experience could be better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AriesInMotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed for one night during our visit of the Siebenburger of Transylvania. The hotel is situated right in the center of the old city close to every possible tourist attraction. The room was huge with a small hall. The bathroom is also quite big.

Breakfast was OK. The staff kind and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Felt special to spend a night on a main square of the citadel. The hotel provided an A+ experience. The room was huge,simply decorated and elegant. Loved the peacefullness and stillness of the night. The breakfast was perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. We were very satisfied with everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesouth42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sighisoara hotels
0.1 mi away
Georgius Krauss House
Georgius Krauss House
#2 of 12 in Sighisoara
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central Park
Hotel Central Park
#1 of 12 in Sighisoara
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sighisoara
Hotel Sighisoara
#6 of 12 in Sighisoara
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Sighisoara - Cavaler
0.1 mi away
Casa Savri
Casa Savri
#3 of 12 in Sighisoara
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Restaurant-Pensiunea Joker
Restaurant-Pensiunea Joker
#7 of 12 in Sighisoara
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Wagner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Wagner

Property: Hotel Casa Wagner
Address: Piata Cetatii no. 7, Sighisoara 545400, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Mures County > Sighisoara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Sighisoara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Wagner 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Wagner welcomes you in a unique historic setting on the main square of the citadel where hospitality is at its best. The 400 years old building is on the list of historic monuments of the Unesco World herritage. Each corner has minutely been redecorated and refurbished with antique furniture. The restaurant provides a variety of international and traditional cuisine to please all senses. The wine cellar is the attraction of the house due to its cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Casa Wagner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Wagner Hotel
Casa Wagner Sighisoara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing