We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort in the hart of the Medieval Sighisoara”
Review of Hotel Casa Wagner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Casa Wagner
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Sighisoara
Romania
Level Contributor
310 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Excellent resort in the hart of the Medieval Sighisoara”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My first visit was in 2008, for 1 week business training.
After the visit I decided to include the hotel in our cycling tours in Transylvania.
The hotel is in the old square of the Medieval Sighisoara, I suggest to stay during the week, for a real feeling of the life in Sighisoara medieval city.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarpatBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    102
    51
    16
    13
See reviews for
44
101
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

As a family we stayed in the suite with an extra room for one of our kids. The room made us feel like royalty and even overlooked the square. One of the most beautiful rooms (and full of character) I've ever stayed in. For the price it was near perfect.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shankpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Casa Wagner occupies a beautiful historical building on the square in the town's citadel. We had rooms overlooking the square, which were immense and full of character, with floorboards that are centuries old and stucco-work on the ceilings, and a mix of antique and reproduction furniture. The bathrooms are serviceable but ordinary. Travellers looking for state-of-the-art luxury will probably not appreciate Casa Wagner with its character and idiosyncracies but we did not notice any lack of cleanliness as noted by some reviewers. There is what appears to be a more modern extension overlooking charming courtyard at the back of the hotel, and the rooms there may be smaller but less dated. By any standards, though, this hotel is excellent value for money, even if the staff seem to lack enthusiasm...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2010

I only stayed here one night on my way to the airport in Targu Mures over Christmas. To me, having a huge room and a king sized bed was luxurious because I'd been sleeping on a hard sofa couch for a few weeks. Would I have glowing reviews if I were comparing to what I normally consider wonderful in a hotel? No. But, for this one night it was fantastic. Warm, beautiful, perfect location and extremely helpful staff.

The man at the front desk made multiple calls to arrange and confirm transportation for me and the waittress in the dining room was very friendly and professional.

One thing to note, they charge a fee coming into the Citadel, 15 Lei - not a lot, but my ride couldn't even just drop me off so we lugged my bag up the hill. A matter of principal I didn't want to pay the 15 Lei.

I'd stayed at their hotel in Brasov and that's why I decided to stay here - glad I did. And the food was very good.

Walls are a little thin, there was a group of guys that got in late and were a bit loud but I was exhausted and was able to sleep.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

I went there because of the hotel reputation, I was only visiting for few days and wanted something I thought I could trust. The place was a huge disappointment from all points of view. The room was indeed big, that's unusual for Sighisoara, the hotel has rooms in several old buildings. The furniture is old, but don't let the pictures trick you, it is old and NOT well preserved, the doors and drawers don't open or close properly and the inside is dirty and rough, can easily scratch a delicate fabric. The room itself was dirty, dusty, there was hair everywhere, the floors and rugs were sticky. The bathroom was ugly, they matched the old furniture in the room with the cheapest kitch ceramic tiles, like in the cheapest motels. There was mold all around the bathtub, hair and dirt in the drain, towels were dirty, old and torn. Internet was available only near the reception desk. Next morning it all got better. The breakfast room could not accomodate all the guests coming arround 9 AM (there were about 30 people there), so we had to eat on the terrace where nobody was attending to us. Although most guests were americans (they drink a lot of coffee) they were preparing the breakfast coffee in a little filter machine, making about 4 cups at a time. So, there was no coffee available. I asked for coffee from the expresso machine, paid for it and got some warm wattery terrible tasting drink. The rest of the food was also underaverage: chemical juice and cereals, eggs, white toast, cheap cold cuts and cheese. The staff at breakfast was very unfriendly, rude and indifferent. All this is not unusual for a hotel/pension/B&B in Romania. The problem is that the place is the most expensive within Sighisoara Fortress walls, and what you find there is very different from the image they promote. The hotel is not taken care of, they don't invest in maintenance or cleaningless or trained staff. They base their business not on repeat guests, but on the fact that there are very few lodging options within the city walls. Also, people seem to enjoy primitive experiences when travelling to Romania. We were not even asked why we decided to check out right after breakfast, after we booked for 3 days, they couldn't care less. The whole experience was not even worth of a complain, it would not have made a difference.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iarba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sighisoara hotels

New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Casa Wagner is a piece of the charming architectural heritage of Sighisoara's Old Town. It is for the travelers who value Old World Charm over generic, repetitive chain hotels that have more gadgets than one can use in 24 hours. I prefer an escape from the rat race. Casa Wagner does not have air conditioning but it does have cute windows to watch summer night thunderstorms. I could have stayed in the comfortable beds for ever. The bathroom was spotless; some antique furniture pieces enhanced the Transylvanian atmosphere, and the restaurant has delicious Romanian offerings that you can eat at tables under the only tree in the plaza. Keep a watch for the tawny owls and Eurasian jays. Jackdaws on rooftops will be your alarm clock.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamiejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

The hotel is in two parts/houses right on the tiny main square in Sighisoara. The rooms are a decent size with modern bathrooms many of which have big jacuzzi size bathtubs. However many of the windows are small meaning the rooms are rather dark and there's no hairdryer or safe provided. There was a nice big TV with several English language film channels but no CNN or BBC World.The hotel helpfully provide a computer for the guests to check their emails on. I had chicken and chips for supper which was perfectly alright. Breakfast the next morning was rather chaotic with little on offer and necessitated going up several times to the serving area to get spoons, sugar etc because nothing was on the tables. There was a toaster and some fried eggs on a warming plate. They provided some nice peach nectar/juice to drink too but that was about it I think (apart from maybe some cold meats/veg). However what really let the hotel down was the cleanliness. The tablecloths were filthy and I don't think the rugs in my bedroom had ever seen a vacuum cleaner. I put my bare foot down on the rug and it came up as dirty as a wet foot would do in sand! Revolting.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thumbelina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sighisoara hotels
0.1 mi away
Georgius Krauss House
Georgius Krauss House
#2 of 12 in Sighisoara
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central Park
Hotel Central Park
#1 of 12 in Sighisoara
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Sighisoara - Cavaler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sighisoara
Hotel Sighisoara
#6 of 12 in Sighisoara
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Savri
Casa Savri
#3 of 12 in Sighisoara
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel BinderBubi
Hotel BinderBubi
#4 of 12 in Sighisoara
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Wagner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Wagner

Property: Hotel Casa Wagner
Address: Piata Cetatii no. 7, Sighisoara 545400, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Mures County > Sighisoara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Sighisoara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Wagner 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Wagner welcomes you in a unique historic setting on the main square of the citadel where hospitality is at its best. The 400 years old building is on the list of historic monuments of the Unesco World herritage. Each corner has minutely been redecorated and refurbished with antique furniture. The restaurant provides a variety of international and traditional cuisine to please all senses. The wine cellar is the attraction of the house due to its cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa Wagner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Wagner Hotel
Casa Wagner Sighisoara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing