We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable pension!”
Review of Pension La Castel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension La Castel
Ranked #9 of 47 Sighisoara B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at this pension in June 2013 and found it to be adorable! The rooms are uniquely decorated and very clean. The owners were very sweet and accommodating of our large family. They even let the kids pick from their cherry tree! It was not too far from the center of town. We had a car but it didn't seem like it was more than a 15min walk. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Pension La Castel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 37 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights last week and would happily recommend to anyone. Located just outside the citadel walls (which means that you can park without any problems). Short walk into the town - beautiful area, lovely cafes and restaurants etc. The owners and their daughter are the nicest people you could wish to meet, very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The house is finished to a very high standard and we loved our room. :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natzthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been to many B&Bs and hostels but this one stands out because someone had a great idea how to make it match the local attraction's (medieval Sighisoara) atmosphere!
The pension looks like a small castle/palace and interior (both rooms and common areas) match "the climate", with old wooden staircase, pictures, cupboards and beautiful, painted furniture in our room.
The room was spacious, well lit and very clean.
The bathroom was pleasant and also very clean.
The pension must have been renovated recently as floors and walls have all new paint.
The owners are super friendly mid-aged couple - unfortunately we do not speak Romanian and they did speak only a little English :-( - be prepared to be treated with a glass of "Palinka" on arrival :-)
WiFi worked very well.
It is located outside of the old city walls but you get there in 10 minutes (nice walk), plus you stay in a quiet quarter, away from tourists!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iggy_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Pension La Castel is a cozy house located near the castel center. The room we stayed in was absolutely beautiful with its painted furniture and high ceilings. The room was also exceptionally clean and the bed was comfy. The owner did not speak much English but was a delight and tried her best to help and direct us in the right direction. It is only a 5-10 min walk up to the castel center.
The only tip I would give is that know the directions well, because it can be difficult to find especially when dark out.
I would recommend staying here and would love to come back sometime:)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictorBjarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

...because that is how i felt like, like royalty! From a warm greeting with sincere kindness and a good housemade pãlinca to the awesomely big ... wood smelling, fresh, squeeky clean rooms all was exquisite! As a romanian living in Germany all i can say is that i never stumbeled on such beauty here, in Germany. Very good prices too! Not to mention the spumante near the bed and the sweets on the 15 pillows :) . I will come back!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bondaru81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Huge room and a good bed. Good shower.
The family who run the pension are very friendly and helpful, gave us maps and told us (despite the language barrier) how to walk to the citadel. Its in a reasonable location – walking distance to the citadel, which was the key attraction for us. The hotel was a bit tricky to find (by car) as the Google map wasn’t very clear – the streets are rather confusing round the citadel!
As noted in other reviews, the wifi strength was very poor in our room (number 6), I had to go down to the front door with my netbook computer to get a signal. If this can’t be improved, at least a desk and chair to sit at near the exterior front door would be good so you could use the internet there.
Lighting in our room wasn’t great (only 2 of the 6 bulbs in the chandelier worked) although bedlamps were provided also.

Room Tip: If wifi access in your room is important to you, ask to check the signal in the room first - I think...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoctorFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in La Castel pension twice in August 2012. The pension occupies the historical building in a quiet residential area 10 min. walk from the Citadel. It is newly renovated and very clean, also the owners are very welcoming and ready to do their best. The hotel offers free wi-fi internert access, which may be important for some travellers.
The pension, however, has just opened and has certain things to improve. The outside area still needs to be arranged, and the big matrimonial rooms, in which we stayed, look rather underfurnished.
Also one morning, when the pension was full, the capacity of the hot water tank turned out to be insufficient.
The hotel does not have a restaurant and does not offer breakfast, and although all the restaurants an cafes in the Citadel are just 10-15 min walk away, I would welcome a minibar or a tea/coffe table with some snacks and bisquits in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulziPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sighisoara hotels
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Sighisoara - Cavaler
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sighisoara
Hotel Sighisoara
#5 of 12 in Sighisoara
228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Georgius Krauss House
Georgius Krauss House
#3 of 12 in Sighisoara
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Central Park
Hotel Central Park
#1 of 12 in Sighisoara
272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Savri
Casa Savri
#2 of 12 in Sighisoara
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Lia
Casa Lia
#2 of 47 in Sighisoara
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension La Castel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension La Castel

Address: Str. Closca 37, Sighisoara 545400, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Mures County > Sighisoara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Sighisoara
Price Range: $34 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Cetatii Hill in Sighisoara, 500 metres from the Clock Tower, Pension La Castel offers free Wi-Fi connection available in the entire building. All rooms come with cable TV. A private bathroom fitted with a shower or a bathtub and provided with free toiletries is comprised in each unit. The La Castel Pension is 50 metres from a bus stop and 1.5 km from a train station. The Targu Mures Airport is within 55 km. Private parking is possible on site for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Pension La Castel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing