We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge rooms in atmospheric city”
Review of Hotel Sighisoara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sighisoara
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Sighisoara
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Literally 5 steps from the main square, famous clock tower and a Dracula house, on a very neat and "festive" School street. Great stylish rooms with very high ceiling, large bathroom with a bath (rather narrow I must say) and a shower. It's not a modern shiny hotel - it is a kind of "noble", a little old-fashioned hotel, but still very clean and functional.
Breakfast was ok; and I didn't have a chance to visit its famous restaurant in a courtyard, but in any case it looks very cosy.

Oh, but the wireless was rather slow :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alyonam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 237 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

Hotel Sighisoara is so unique - it's actually inside the Sighisoara Medieval Citadel itself! Wow! Of course, being a hotel built into a very narrow historical building, there are compromises to be made. But again - location, location, location. Most of the rooms have no airconditioning. That was a bit scary in the middle of summer. But we were assured it got cooler in the evenings - and it did.

The citadel still retains the very rough round stones that make up the streets and alleyways from the ancient days. That made it difficult to bring the luggage from the main square to the hotel. We had to climb up several flights, given the narrowness and the very small number of rooms. Of course they have no elevator but they did have an “elevator man” who brought our heavy luggage upstairs.

Breakfast was a bit on the Spartan side and the queue for the food was cramped.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
Thank JGR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

I did not stay in the hotel, but I got to enjoy two wonderful meals in the hotel's restaurant. The food was excellent, the service was quick and the staff very polite.

The prices were also good - main course, dessert and drinks for two about 60 lei.

The hotel has a very nice interior garden and as the weather was nice this is where we served our meals.

Stayed: July 2012
Thank CristinaTarsoaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

A very nice hotel, i was more than satisfied with everything. The staff is great (i had a meeting organized there, for 20 people, we even had dinner at the location). it was great.

overall: the room was epic, i loved the fact that they played with the old and new, giving it a special note, flowers everywhere altough it was december. Clean, tidy, spacious (don't forget, this hotel is in an 500 year old building)the view was great. The staff deserves an A+, they were great, the location is super, the parking was a bit difficult but we managed. I can't think of anything that would have bothered me. I would go back on my honeymoon :)

I.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ildi_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

breakfast : really bad
room : we got a double room (59 euro) at 4th floor. The room was dark and only a small window. It was not worth 59 euro. I would say 3 star hotell max, and would pay max 40 euro.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Sighisoara is an exquisitely lovely town. If you are visiting Transylvania, it is a must see.
Hotel Sighisoara is situated in the centre of the historic citadel. It is not a new hotel, not luxurious, but provides comfortable accommodation and a great atmosphere. Everything was neat and clean. Furnishings were showing their age a little, but were perfectly satisfactory. The bed was comfortable, although the mattress may be a bit firm for some tastes. Breakfast was good and the staff pleasant to deal with.
Our one complaint concerned the bathroom. It appeared to be newly renovated, was spacious and sparkling clean. However, it was poorly ventilated and lacked an exhaust fan. Steam and odours from the bathroom were a slight problem!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julietheoracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

From the moment we arrived until we left, we had a wonderful experience. The hotel is in a perfect location. We were able to walk the town, visit the history museum, the citadel, the old Dominican church, and of course the house where Vlad was born and where he lived. The beds were a little hard but it did not stop us from having a good night's sleep. Breakfast the first day we were there was order off the menu. The breakfast was OK. The second day there was a buffet breakfast and we both enjoyed that more. The staff was great! Would definitely go there again if we were ever in the area!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sighisoara hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Savri
Casa Savri
#2 of 12 in Sighisoara
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Sighisoara Binderbubi Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central Park
Hotel Central Park
#1 of 12 in Sighisoara
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Sighisoara - Cavaler
0 mi away
Hotel Casa Wagner
Hotel Casa Wagner
#9 of 12 in Sighisoara
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Korona Hotel
Korona Hotel
#8 of 12 in Sighisoara
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sighisoara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sighisoara

Address: Scolii Street 4-6, Sighisoara 3050, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Mures County > Sighisoara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Sighisoara
Price Range: $51 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sighisoara 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sighisoara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing