We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay in a stunning setting”
Review of Hotel Sighisoara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sighisoara
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Sighisoara
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A good place to stay in a stunning setting”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Sighisoara is an exquisitely lovely town. If you are visiting Transylvania, it is a must see.
Hotel Sighisoara is situated in the centre of the historic citadel. It is not a new hotel, not luxurious, but provides comfortable accommodation and a great atmosphere. Everything was neat and clean. Furnishings were showing their age a little, but were perfectly satisfactory. The bed was comfortable, although the mattress may be a bit firm for some tastes. Breakfast was good and the staff pleasant to deal with.
Our one complaint concerned the bathroom. It appeared to be newly renovated, was spacious and sparkling clean. However, it was poorly ventilated and lacked an exhaust fan. Steam and odours from the bathroom were a slight problem!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julietheoracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    90
    26
    7
    11
See reviews for
36
80
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

From the moment we arrived until we left, we had a wonderful experience. The hotel is in a perfect location. We were able to walk the town, visit the history museum, the citadel, the old Dominican church, and of course the house where Vlad was born and where he lived. The beds were a little hard but it did not stop us from having a good night's sleep. Breakfast the first day we were there was order off the menu. The breakfast was OK. The second day there was a buffet breakfast and we both enjoyed that more. The staff was great! Would definitely go there again if we were ever in the area!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The hotel is in a building that was built in the 1500s. It isn't a grand hotel but it is good value and the staff are hardworking and efficient, perhaps a little brusque at times,but reliable.
Our room which overlooked the main square was large, and airy, and had all the bits and pieces we required.
We stayed there for three nights and early in the evenings the noise from the square could be plainly heard from our room. It was May Day holiday time and there were a lot of tourists around so the noise was a little unusual, but later in the evening it was quiet and peaceful.
The hotel isn't modern, there isn't a lift, and it is a little dark inside some of the passages, but it has a nice feel about it and it is clean and tidy.
The location is unbeatable. Close to everything in the citadel and only a short walk down the hill tithe town restaurants and normal town facilities.
We used the restaurant a couple of times and we found the service be Romanian slow and the dishes only reasonable.
It is within walking distance from the station (perhaps a longish walk) or a couple of minutes in a taxi for a couple of dollars.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the square can be a little noisy early in the evening. Be aware of this, but the upside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank In60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
418 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The hotel could not have been in a more perfect location. With a view of the Unesco Heritage site at the end of the street and a view of the town and valley from our room, you couldn't ask for more.

We felt like we were princesses in the tower or more like the princess and the pea. The beds and pillows were hard but that didn't seem to stop us from sleeping through the night.

Breakfast was okay.

The climb up the citadel is a must do.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100countries_or_bust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwick, new york
Level Contributor
180 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I've been to London,Ireland, Canada,and most of the fifty states.Sighisoara turned out to be the most enchanting city I have ever seen.It is one of a handful of medieval citadels that still are active cities.I arrived by taxi in late winter evening ready to go straight to bed.The streets have built in spotlights illuminating what appeared to be a hollywood set for "The three musketeers".I grabbed my camera instead,for a photo op of the winding cobblestone streets and 15 century architecture.
My stay at Hotel Sighisoara was equal to the setting.It's halls were lined with museum quality medieval furnishings. My room was large and spotless. Huge push out windows complemented high ceilings and antique style furniture.The staff couldn't do enough for me.They helped me with everything from my lap top to my travel plans.My room at $54 US actually included a sit down breakfast in their restaurant.The restaurant was awesome with brick ceilings and the food outrageous.It was easily my most memorable Romanian stop.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I am always prejudiced toward Romania, but this is the coolest hotel in Europe in my opinion. Not only is it located at the top of the ancient citadel and a couple of blocks from Vlad the Impaler's birthplace, but it is decorated in medieval style with all the modcons you need. You will be expecting Vlad Dracula to appear just around the corner. It has a lovely patio and decent food, though my pick for dinner would be Vlad's house just down the street for the atmosphere (including a mural believed to be Vlad's father) and the great mamaliga. This hotel will make your Sighisoara visit memorable.

Room Tip: overlooking courtyard is nice, but pretty quiet at night in any case
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Restaurant only (we stayed at Residence Frosnius):
There is nowhere really nice to eat in Sighisoara and this is about as good as we found. Decent local food served by a helpful waitress and very good value, but nothing more. Perhaps the rating should be 5 for Sighisoara? Don't be put off, but don't expect too much.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Piney69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sighisoara hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Sighisoara - Cavaler
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central Park
Hotel Central Park
#1 of 12 in Sighisoara
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Georgius Krauss House
Georgius Krauss House
#2 of 12 in Sighisoara
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel BinderBubi
Hotel BinderBubi
#4 of 12 in Sighisoara
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Savri
Casa Savri
#3 of 12 in Sighisoara
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Wagner
Hotel Casa Wagner
#9 of 12 in Sighisoara
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sighisoara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sighisoara

Property: Hotel Sighisoara
Address: Scolii Street 4-6, Sighisoara 3050, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Mures County > Sighisoara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Sighisoara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sighisoara 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sighisoara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing