We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Cositorarului

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Cositorarului
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Romantic honeymoon”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here in August 2012 for part of our honeymoon tour of Transylvania. Wow! We were greeted by exceptionally friendly staff who had not only made us a special love heart cake, but whilst we were eating on the terrace, decorated our whole room with candles and rose petals! They even made me a bouquet that I took with me on the rest of our tour and I have kept it as a reminder of the great hospitality and welcoming from this lovely place. Our room was romantic and nostalgic, we truly felt like we were in a land far away. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    17
    3
    3
    9
See reviews for
14
40
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Loved the shower <3 & the terrace.
The location is perfect, in the center of the old citadel, wonderful terrace and very polite and friendly staff.
The room was clean and full of style.
It is a place you shouldn't miss when visiting Sighisoara!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at Casa Cositorarului in 2011. What can I say? Probably the most romantic place I have ever stayed. I felt like I was the star in a lifetime movie! The room was clean and full of style. The bathroom was modern with a large shower. The breakfast was delicious. Very charming, romantic get-away.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kcabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Sighisoara is a wonderful city and this hotel is really in the heart of the city, the rooms with beautiful characteristic and charming features. Unfortunately there it stopped for us: we had made a reservation through the phone and the owner promised us that he'll pick us up from the train station. When I e-mail him when we're coming, he didn't reply and of course didn't show up. If you're making a reservation at this hotel, leave a contact number, otherwise the owner will track you down and call your work, family, anyone just to make sure he won't lose his money and find another occupant for the rooms. The cherry topping was that the rooms weren't cleaned at all any of the day we stayed there - but they assured us this has never happened before!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie117761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I discovered Casa Cositorarului a few years ago and I am a faithfull client ever since! It is a fairytale place, with a gorgeous coffee shop where you can find home made cookies, icecream and sherbet. The location is perfect, in the centre of the old citadel, wonderful terrace and very polite and friendly staff, including the owner, a perfect lady wearing medieval dresses who would take to time to explain the visitors the history of this place. It is a place you shouldnt miss when visiting Sighisoara!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arici78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Try some awesome home-made cakes and enjoy this quiet, ancient style pension. A perfect place, an awesome city.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms as I remeber, both lovely decorated and furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giorgian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siloam Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This Pension was a most extraordinary find. Beautifully decorated in the ancient styles, and a genuine middle ages home from the 1400's. Wonderful amenities and updated without loosing the ancient feel. Personally decorated by the owners who are the most gracious proprietors who take an interest in their travelers. Locally made wines and cognac, cigars and light finger foods. A wonderful European breakfast. A beautiful period dining and entertaining room on the third floor. Once checked in, you don't want to leave. They have a beautiful sidewalk style outdoor dining patio, and all sits just below the Ancient Anglican Church. This is all in a small walled community that has been preserved throughout the ages in the old style, and all designed and built by Vlad Tepesh (Count Dracula) in the 1400's. History says that he led the Crusades for Wachovia and against the Turks and the Ottomans from here.The cost even at the height of the season is more than reasonable, and I can assure you that you will leave feeling like you have touched a piece of ancient history. They have only 3 rooms, so plan ahead and you will not be sorry. I was there in April 2009 and I can't wait to return someday.

Room Tip: Call or contact online early to make arrangements. Off Season is just as wonderful as the height of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hatchiemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sighisoara hotels
0.2 mi away
Georgius Krauss House
Georgius Krauss House
#2 of 14 in Sighisoara
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central Park
Hotel Central Park
#1 of 14 in Sighisoara
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel BinderBubi
Hotel BinderBubi
#3 of 14 in Sighisoara
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sighisoara
Hotel Sighisoara
#5 of 14 in Sighisoara
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Wagner
Hotel Casa Wagner
#9 of 14 in Sighisoara
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fronius Residence
Fronius Residence
#2 of 44 in Sighisoara
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cositorarului? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cositorarului

Property: Casa Cositorarului
Address: Strada Cositorarilor Nr. 8 - 9, Sighisoara 545400, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Mures County > Sighisoara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Sighisoara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Cositorarului reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing