We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fronius lives up to expectations”
Review of Fronius Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fronius Residence
Ranked #3 of 44 Sighisoara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whidbey Island, Washington
Level Contributor
290 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 556 helpful votes
“Fronius lives up to expectations”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Based on the positive reviews on Trip Advisor, my wife and I selected Fronius Residence. I can find fault with nothing. Our room #7 had a beautiful view of the clock tower. The free WiFi functioned well in our spacious room most of the time.

Breakfast was super. Andreea & Livia were helpful during our two night stay.

This is very special place, the nicest accomodations we had in Romania. Chose it and you won´t be sorry.

Room Tip: Ours was perfect.. Herminia, I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromBrazil71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fronius R, Front Office Manager at Fronius Residence, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hello,

It's a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoy their stay at Fronius, that's our first goal.
I wish you all the best and hope to see you again.

Andreea Lazar
Fronius Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    18
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
72
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taree NSW Australia
Level Contributor
355 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

On entering the lobby, we knew we were in for something special. Entering our room was like stepping back in time. The decor is as original as possible (the original was damaged, but not destroyed by the great fire of 1676) and some ceilings still bear the marks of that fire. The ceilings are furrowed by arches of sculpted stone. The furniture is old, being in tune with the atmosphere of the house and apparently has all been sourced from different areas of Transylvania.
As the hotel is situated in the old city, up on the hill, the tendency is to stay in that area - but it is easy to walk around the cobbled streets and plenty to see. This is a highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazar A, Front Office Manager at Fronius Residence, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for these kind words, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest.
We try to do our best to create this "wow effect " you've mentioned and we are very thankful that you appreciate it.

I wish you all the best and hope you'll visit us again.

Andreea Lazar
Fronius Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Well this was a surprise!Great place, great service!The owners daughter made us feel very welcomed and accommodated all our requests with a smile on her face and a friendliness I wish I could find more often.And they definitely have the best coffee in town!
The breakfast was great with lots of local products.
I definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazar A, Front Office Manager at Fronius Residence, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for this wonderful review. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family, it was enjoyable. I hope you had a great time in your other trips too.

All the best and hope to see you again.

Andreea Lazar,
Fronius Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Can't imagine staying anywhere else in Sighisoara. Fronius is a gorgeous botique hotel with a lovely garden. The rooms are exquisite and well-appointed with quality furniture and beautifully decorated. Wonderful antiques adorn the hotel as well as the rooms - we saw a few of the rooms - each a bit different but all very charming. We stayed in the Patricia room and our bed was extremely comfortable and the room large. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Andrea who is a true asset to Fronius. Breakfast was excellent with varied & unique items - one of our best in Romania. Hands down I recommend this beautiful property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4EverTraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fronius R, Front Office Manager at Fronius Residence, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello,

I would like to thank you for these wonderful words. I'm glad to here that you had a great time in Sighisoara, at Fronius, and you need to know that our door is open whenever you decide to visit us again.

All the best an hope to see you again,

Andreea Lazar
Fronius Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have been in 7 of the "best" hotels in the region in the past 10 days and this one is hands down superior. The room was large, decorated superbly with a great view of the clock town. The breakfast was amazing. The town was fun, especially at night. I highly recommend this choice if you visit this town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our drive through Transylvania in mid August. This small hotel was recently renovated with old world charm and all modern conveniences. From the moment you walk through the front door, down a brick lined entry, you feel like you've just traveled back in time about 400 years. We stayed in the Herminia room which was on the top floor. We had a nice view of the clock tower over red roofs of old medieval buildings from our room. Fronius is within the citadel walls, so very close to everything. Breakfasts were the best we had on our trip with fresh fruits, meats, cheeses and eggs. The staff here is excellent and really know how to take care of their guests. The only down side to our room was that it was hot while we were there and the air conditioner could not keep up with the heat. We had to leave the windows open at night, which was fine because it cooled down to the 60's at night. I doubt you would need air conditioning in Sighisoara much of the year anyway. The room price was the highest we had paid in Romania, but in relation to this quality of accommodation in the U.S., it was a steal. Overall experience was excellent and look forward to coming back for another stay.

Room Tip: If staying here in July or August, request rooms on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited the Fronius Residence on the 8th of August 2013 and we stayed in Victoria room.
The residence is great and the service is exceptional. The breakfast is based on traditional homemade products and it is delicious.
I highly recommend this location.

Room Tip: Although all rooms are decent, I would recommend Patricia and Victoria.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GimiBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sighisoara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central Park
Hotel Central Park
#1 of 12 in Sighisoara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Georgius Krauss House
Georgius Krauss House
#2 of 12 in Sighisoara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel BinderBubi
Hotel BinderBubi
#4 of 12 in Sighisoara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Savri
Casa Savri
#3 of 12 in Sighisoara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Sighisoara - Cavaler
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Wagner
Hotel Casa Wagner
#9 of 12 in Sighisoara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fronius Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fronius Residence

Property: Fronius Residence
Address: Scolii Street 13, Sighisoara 545400, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Mures County > Sighisoara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Sighisoara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Fronius Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Fronius Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing