We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous with Old World Charm!”
Review of Fronius Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fronius Residence
Ranked #3 of 48 Sighisoara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Can't imagine staying anywhere else in Sighisoara. Fronius is a gorgeous botique hotel with a lovely garden. The rooms are exquisite and well-appointed with quality furniture and beautifully decorated. Wonderful antiques adorn the hotel as well as the rooms - we saw a few of the rooms - each a bit different but all very charming. We stayed in the Patricia room and our bed was extremely comfortable and the room large. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Andrea who is a true asset to Fronius. Breakfast was excellent with varied & unique items - one of our best in Romania. Hands down I recommend this beautiful property.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4EverTraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fronius R, Front Office Manager at Fronius Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Hello,

I would like to thank you for these wonderful words. I'm glad to here that you had a great time in Sighisoara, at Fronius, and you need to know that our door is open whenever you decide to visit us again.

All the best an hope to see you again,

Andreea Lazar
Fronius Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 167 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have been in 7 of the "best" hotels in the region in the past 10 days and this one is hands down superior. The room was large, decorated superbly with a great view of the clock town. The breakfast was amazing. The town was fun, especially at night. I highly recommend this choice if you visit this town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alicia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our drive through Transylvania in mid August. This small hotel was recently renovated with old world charm and all modern conveniences. From the moment you walk through the front door, down a brick lined entry, you feel like you've just traveled back in time about 400 years. We stayed in the Herminia room which was on the top floor. We had a nice view of the clock tower over red roofs of old medieval buildings from our room. Fronius is within the citadel walls, so very close to everything. Breakfasts were the best we had on our trip with fresh fruits, meats, cheeses and eggs. The staff here is excellent and really know how to take care of their guests. The only down side to our room was that it was hot while we were there and the air conditioner could not keep up with the heat. We had to leave the windows open at night, which was fine because it cooled down to the 60's at night. I doubt you would need air conditioning in Sighisoara much of the year anyway. The room price was the highest we had paid in Romania, but in relation to this quality of accommodation in the U.S., it was a steal. Overall experience was excellent and look forward to coming back for another stay.

Room Tip: If staying here in July or August, request rooms on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited the Fronius Residence on the 8th of August 2013 and we stayed in Victoria room.
The residence is great and the service is exceptional. The breakfast is based on traditional homemade products and it is delicious.
I highly recommend this location.

Room Tip: Although all rooms are decent, I would recommend Patricia and Victoria.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GimiBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My grandson and I had a fantastic holiday touring Transylvania. The first residence we stayed at was Fronius in Sighisoara, a beautiful setting. I can only rave about it. The people were very friendly, the room was spacious and well appointed and breakfast was very nice. Thank you for making the start of our trip so memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margareta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We loved our stay in Sighisoara, particularly because we stayed at the wonderful Fronius Residence. We had a lovely suite overlooking the cobbled street and the room was extremely tastefully renovated, comfortable and a delight to stay in. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was delicious with organic hams and cheeses. Thank you Fronius for making our stay in Sighisoara a perfect holiday!

Room Tip: The front two rooms are large suites for three people and look over the cobbles streets - they are r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rache-Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

2 night stay on a tour. Rooms are on 3 levels--no elevator. Big job hauling luggage up. Pleasant reception. Looked at 3 rooms before choosing #13--because it had a lot of light & a shower. Many rooms are very dark & have tubs with the usual hand held sprayer. My bathroom was very large with big walkin shower. But, terrible, weak lighting--couldn't see to shave. Some dripping water next to my room??Loads of antiques. No Kleenex. The toilet paper holder fell off & they didn't repair. Bed comfy; but right next to street. If there was action in town, you would never sleep. Breakfast good. Courtyard sort of dingy. Lobby area poorly lighted.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmurrayolympic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sighisoara hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Savri
Casa Savri
#2 of 12 in Sighisoara
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Sighisoara Binderbubi Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Georgius Krauss House
Georgius Krauss House
#3 of 12 in Sighisoara
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central Park
Hotel Central Park
#1 of 12 in Sighisoara
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Sighisoara - Cavaler
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sighisoara
Hotel Sighisoara
#6 of 12 in Sighisoara
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fronius Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fronius Residence

Address: Scolii Street 13, Sighisoara 545400, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Mures County > Sighisoara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Sighisoara
Price Range: $103 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fronius Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fronius Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing