We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not impressed with this accomodation” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Franka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vila Franka
Ranked #6 of 44 Sighisoara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not impressed with this accomodation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

Our room was too dark, it had a small window overlooking a wall. Although the towels were changed every day, the bathroom was not cleaned every day. The bed squicked every time you moved and wasn't comfortable. The radiators started to whistle in the middle of the night, a persistent and very annoying noise. Although we complained to the personnel of the hotel, they didn't do anything about this and the same situation occured the next night. I would not stay here again and I don't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globe_TrotterBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    39
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
63
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

I stayed for only one night, but everything about this hotel was very good. The location, cleanliness, spacious room with nice view at the old town towers and roofs, very clean and new bathroom. The only minus was that they didn't serve breakfast but as other people here mentioned, the location is just right in the area with many restaurants and bars so it's not a problem.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CichoSzaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gooik, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2009

Visiting Romania is very much a modern adventure, in that you never know what to expect. While visiting last year after a long day from Peles over Bran to Kronstadt for supper and then on to Schlosstadt it suddenly turned night on us. having arrived into sighisoara at about 22h, things looked desperate, as we were in a strange city at night and beeing on the road "à l'improviste" as the french say, we didnt make prior arrangements. We parked the car near the foot of the citadel and went to a very nice terrace there, where they serve a great variety of traditional and more mondaine foods and beverages, and we addressed the question of loggings now the inner person had been sattisfied, i must admit, nothing replenishes your batteries better after such a long day on romanian roads then calories and a good nights sleep, luckily i had activated the gprs function on my local prepayed sim which comes reeeealy cheap and after calling bout 6 hotels either at maximum capacity or little overpriced we stumbled upon Vila Franka. surprisingly the hotel was only 150m from the chair i was sitting on when i called the reception, and more exceptional was the fact they offer posibility to park your car in front of the hotel.
the inside of the hotel was just as the service, impecable, in an ambiance of rustique where modern commodities have their place very tastefully hidden
to be honest, if you have never seen Sihisoara, you should definitely go, and if u need a place to stay, vila Franka is not only a pension at the foot of the citadel, its also a place where you can feel the soul of the city and its people..

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RzvS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

Fantastic location with views (albeit not from any of the rooms) of the old town clock tower. Not in the touristic citadel but down (at the bottom of the steps) in the nice medieval part of the town where the Romanians eat and drink. Very friendly town. Hotel rooms not cleaned daily - only on departure. Rooms do not have fridges. But they are quite large with good double beds. Somewhat damp (not a problem in early september), and bathrooms have peeling ceilings. No breakfast provided and none available, but good places very close by.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Londontraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2009

We've stayed two nights in 2009 in the medieval town of Sighisoara. We've slept in a small hotel/pension "Vila Franka" near to the old town. The location of the hotel is perfect, just outside the medieval town walls. The hotel does not have its own car park, but parking is possible in a small street nearby (with limited space though). We took a double "superiour" room, with a four poster bed. I wish we had not - the room was nice but the bathroom stank all the time and we've had a construction site just out the window.

The hotel does not offer any breakfast but there are several restaurants a minute away. The receptionist was polite, helpful and spoke decent English. The room price included wireless Internet and tea/coffee from a machine in the hall.

Overall, the hotel was okay, and its location was its best asset.

There is also another Vila Franka pension and a camping site apparently ran by the same management in a more remote part of the town but we had not seen them.

Helpful?
Thank Lonek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sighisoara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Wagner
Hotel Casa Wagner
#9 of 14 in Sighisoara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Georgius Krauss House
Georgius Krauss House
#2 of 14 in Sighisoara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central Park
Hotel Central Park
#1 of 14 in Sighisoara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sighisoara
Hotel Sighisoara
#5 of 14 in Sighisoara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Lia
Casa Lia
#2 of 44 in Sighisoara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension am Schneiderturm
Pension am Schneiderturm
#1 of 44 in Sighisoara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Franka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Franka

Property: Vila Franka
Address: 1 Dec 1918 Nr. 1, Sighisoara 545400, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Mures County > Sighisoara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Sighisoara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Franka 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Vila Franka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing