We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic host, magical location, great escape.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension am Schneiderturm
Ranked #1 of 45 Sighisoara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic host, magical location, great escape.”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at Pension am Schneiderturm in Sighisoara in January 2014, and were totally impressed in every possible way. The hospitality is unparalleled, the facilities are of superb quality, and the breakfast is perfection. Sorin is one of the most helpful hosts we have ever encountered, and he will gladly assist in recommending restaurants, excursions, shopping, and even Romanian beer and wine. This was our first visit to eastern Europe, and we truly fell in love with the misty, romantic citadel and surrounding mountains and villages. We were very well cared for and will recommend Sighisoara as well as Pension am Schneiderturm to our friends and family. It lives up to these excellent reviews. Thank you Sorin!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    14
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
126
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
1,799 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,121 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This B&B is the model of what a B& B should be : perfect location , warm atmosphere , great hospitality , home made food , originality , comfort and you feel like family ! This is what you get when you set foot in Pension am Schneidertum and you meet the owner Sorin !
We stayed in the annex , that is the room beside the street ! It is not as original as the rooms built within the walls but it has a great quality : it is BIG !!! In fact one of the biggest rooms we have had in a B&B ! And it was quiet !
Like many guests in the past , we have used the services of Sorin to book us a driver-guide to tour various landmarks of the region and also to select some restaurants to have dinner . On both counts , we were happy with the results !
Make sure not to miss the breakfast and try to go early if you want to try the complete selection of home made bread, juices , cheese and jams ! They disappear very rapidly !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belleretraite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Located just beside the fortification known as the "Tailor's Tower" just a very few walk minutes from the main square, this is a great B&B experience. My single room was quite small, but everything else was wonderful: the fantastic breakfast; the courtyard where you could relax; and the very helpful proprietor who arranged for a driver to take me to the fortified churches nearby for a fair price. Breakfast consisted of many types of smoked meats, cheeses, boiled eggs, jams, natural drinks like eldeflower and various juices in a great basement dining space.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwaysonthearoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at this lovely pension, only for one night. The location is perfect. The owner welcome us with tsipouro (a traditional drink from Greece-because he is half-Greek) and he gave to us from the very first moment information about everything. The room was small but functioned like home to us. The next morning, began the event of the breakfast: everything from every corner of Romania: sausages, cheeses, jams plus juices and every type of coffee. I would like to go again just for the breakfast. Thank him for his hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELENIL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The pension is great. It's part of an old tower that was restaured in 1797 with small but cosy rooms that gives a great feeling that you belong there. It has a wonderful dinning place in the basement with traditional food ( swedish bufet), fruits, non alcoholic drinks( apple juice, tea, coffee etc). The host, Sorin, was very nice. He welcomed us very warmly and guide us through the city akk of our journey. He even borought us a pair of bicycles to ride near the city and afterwards he gave us some refreshment because we were looking very thristy hahaha. At the end he gave us two suveniers (mugs) and called us a cab. I recommend anyone who wants to visit Sighisoara to stay at this pension regarding your age, buget or intensions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian_Tudoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel is gorgeous. My husband and I stayed here for two nights as part of honeymoon. We like to stay in unique places (i.e. on farms, in churches, on boats, etc). This place is right up there with unique! We stayed in the loft room, which I highly recommend as it makes the stay that much more special. Upon arrival owner gave us delicious juice and recommended several places within and outside the town, very helpful. Breakfast was great! We ate Bear! I also cannot eat gluten and he was very willing and able to offer me foods I could eat. I felt we had a very authentic trip to Sighisoara because of this place. HIGHLY recommend this experience.

Room Tip: Get the loft room! The windows were for protecting the city with bow and arrows! You are literally o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Ah, what can I say about this place? Loved it, it’s one of my favourite places that I’ve stayed in the world. STAY HERE. The town of Sighisoara is just adorable. And Sorin has done SUCH a great job with this place, restoring it by hand over 8 years. It has maintained so much of its original charm. Room 6 (I think?) is very quirky and built into the town wall, amazing! And the suite downstairs is pretty much built for royalty. I had a single room and it was well laid out, with a window that overlooked the patio and the town. Everything was spotlessly clean. And the breakfast, amazing!! There’s too much to try for just two nights, you’ll have to stay a week :). Amazing stuff from the surrounding villages; several different sausages, cheese, honey, jam, juices, fresh fruit, etc. The elderflower juice is amazing. And the room where breakfast is is just amazing, incredible, the old cellar of the house that has been so well restored. Words do not describe it. And most of all, Sorin is an incredible host, he is actually genuinely interested in his guests, speaks multiple languages, is super helpful and accommodating. He even drove several of his guests out for dinner one night, and always seems to have juice and wine available. He also loaned me a bike to take the road to Apold, which was just gorgeous and a great activity for the day. Sorin, I think you know what an incredible time I had with you and your awesome place in Sighisoara!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sighisoara hotels
0.1 mi away
Georgius Krauss House
Georgius Krauss House
#2 of 12 in Sighisoara
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Sighisoara - Cavaler
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central Park
Hotel Central Park
#1 of 12 in Sighisoara
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel BinderBubi
Hotel BinderBubi
#4 of 12 in Sighisoara
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Wagner
Hotel Casa Wagner
#9 of 12 in Sighisoara
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Korona Hotel
Korona Hotel
#7 of 12 in Sighisoara
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension am Schneiderturm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension am Schneiderturm

Property: Pension am Schneiderturm
Address: Strada Zidul Cetati Nr 4, Sighisoara 545400, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Mures County > Sighisoara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Sighisoara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension am Schneiderturm 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pension am Schneiderturm guesthouse is located in Transylvania, in the medieval town of Sighişoara, near the citadel's main access gate. This medieval house dates back to 1797 and, through construction and architectural style, it forms an integral part both of the Tailors' Tower and of the citadel's Wall. Traditionally restored, the guesthouse has four double bed rooms, one single bed room and an apartment, all of which are furnished with authentic pieces of furniture in massive wood and have their own private bathrooms, fully equipped. In case the tourists staying at the guesthouse would like to pay a two-wheeled visit to the tourist attractions near the medieval town, they will be able to do so, as the guesthouse offers them the possibility to use, free of charge, its high quality, modern and well-kept bikes. Breakfast is on the house and it consists of local food products, purchased from the farmers living in the villages close to Sighişoara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pension am Schneiderturm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing