We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension am Schneiderturm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension am Schneiderturm
Ranked #1 of 44 Sighisoara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“excellent place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Very Good location and hospitality -We have had two nice days.The pension is located in old city near the gate you have to pay for parking in the city (15 lei/day). The ownersorin is always on hand, extremely helpful for evry body .

Room Tip: We took the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    14
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
119
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
144 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Best value all time. Besides good price and location in the old city of Sighisoara, it's really nice and authentic. The beds are quite comfortable to be in middle Europe and the breafast is really good (don't miss the organic juices). Best of all is the receptionist and the info about which places to avoid and not. I don't think that a stay at any five-star hotel could be better.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, just different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liselott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

A wonderful little place - located within the old walls of the upper town but away from the tourist streets and square. Best possible location. The owner is always on hand, extremely helpful, and just a "really nice guy." I traveled single, so I paid for a single room. It was a bit small (but what does one expect for the price I paid?). Still the room had plenty of storage and shelf space and a very nicely done bathroom. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldguy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
310 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Excellent location, old building transformed into a warm hotel, but still the old smell of wood you can find in the rooms.
The underground restaurant is cool during the summer days.
Breakfast food excellent, including local traditional food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarpatBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were lucky to get a room in this place - there had been a cancellation on the one night we needed to stay. I'd definitely recommend booking in advance!

When we arrived we were greeted with complimentary elderflower juice, which was delicious. In the evening we sat on the terrace and talked to Sorin, who speaks excellent English and is very chilled out and happy to talk. He even gave us free glasses of local wine and homemade cherry brandy! And as everyone has said, the breakfast was out-of-this-world.

The rooms are very nice, and the pension could not be better located. I'd almost recommend a visit to Sighisoara just to stay here!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

A lovely pension built directly into the walls of Sighisoara and a perfect place to stay to discover Sighisoara which is a UNESCO world heritage site. It was very hot in July and the rooms are small, but the window let in a nice breeze. The breakfast had 9 different local cheeses and about 6 different salamis, the coffee was good and there was a selection of breads and cereals.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TassieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband and I have traveled to many different places in the world, the Pension am Schneiderturm is one of our favorite places to stay.The owner (Sorin) is a terrific host who goes above and beyond. The central location is so convenient. Like so many other guests (as you can read in the reviews), we very much liked the breakfast. It gave us the opportunity to taste local fresh food such as elderberry juice, local cheeses as well as salami from bear and boar just to name some of our favorites (delicious). We truly enjoyed the conversations we had with Sorin and the other guests from many different countries during breakfast time and in the evenings on the terrace (with complementary local wine or brandy). Beautiful and relaxing place, definitely the No. 1 !!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite (only one available) which was the largest room and was very spacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sighisoara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Wagner
Hotel Casa Wagner
#9 of 14 in Sighisoara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Georgius Krauss House
Georgius Krauss House
#2 of 14 in Sighisoara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sighisoara
Hotel Sighisoara
#5 of 14 in Sighisoara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel BinderBubi
Hotel BinderBubi
#3 of 14 in Sighisoara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central Park
Hotel Central Park
#1 of 14 in Sighisoara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Lia
Casa Lia
#2 of 44 in Sighisoara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension am Schneiderturm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension am Schneiderturm

Property: Pension am Schneiderturm
Address: Strada Zidul Cetati Nr 4, Sighisoara 545400, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Mures County > Sighisoara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Sighisoara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension am Schneiderturm 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pension am Schneiderturm guesthouse is located in Transylvania, in the medieval town of Sighişoara, near the citadel's main access gate. This medieval house dates back to 1797 and, through construction and architectural style, it forms an integral part both of the Tailors' Tower and of the citadel's Wall. Traditionally restored, the guesthouse has four double bed rooms, one single bed room and an apartment, all of which are furnished with authentic pieces of furniture in massive wood and have their own private bathrooms, fully equipped. In case the tourists staying at the guesthouse would like to pay a two-wheeled visit to the tourist attractions near the medieval town, they will be able to do so, as the guesthouse offers them the possibility to use, free of charge, its high quality, modern and well-kept bikes. Breakfast is on the house and it consists of local food products, purchased from the farmers living in the villages close to Sighişoara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension am Schneiderturm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing