We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, friendly spa staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MenDan Magic Spa & Wellness Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Zalakaros
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We went there as a girls weekend out with my friends. Check in was not that easy since not all of us arrived at the same time. We requested twin bedded rooms in our reservation but this information was somewhere lost. So we did get double bed instead. Room change was not possible but the sofa bed was made...
Wellness is outstanding! It is clean with friendly staff, great service! It was even better what we expected. The only problem was that there were not enough bed to rest.
Restaurant is quiet good. Various food to choose from. Staff is extremly friendly, always happy to help.

Overall, the hotel is nice, reception could improve but on its good way!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for MenDan Magic Spa & Wellness Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 146 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst on business. Check in was ok, to get to the room i had to go up one floor then across a connecting corridor and then up again to the floor i was staying on. once there the key card didn't work! so back to reception.
The room was very average, Wifi patchy, no English TV, bed was ok. dirty balcony, complete with dead wasps nest.
Stayed on a half board basis.. food and service nothing more than average.
The price was very good, but then again, i wasn't paying. Personally i wouldn't have chosen to stay here. nothing terrible, but nothing great either.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Zuribob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

we spent 3 days in the hotel. the staff was amazingly freindly and the service was just too good. the rooms were good and the wellness area also too good. bathrooms were always lean. food served in the restaurant and also the breakfast was good. nothing at all to complain and i would recommend everyone to visit this place. We had a puppy accompanying us and the hotel gave a very good room on the 4th floor which would not bother other guests

Room Tip: if you get a chance then book a room on the first floor near the wellness area.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tushargandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We spent 4 days in this hotel. We had a really big and spacious room but the furniture was a bit old fashioned. Bathroom was always clean. We had a nice view to the main square. Our room had a big balcony too.
The best was the well-equipped playroom and BABYSITTERS who WERE VERY NICE AND FRIENDLY! The staff was also very friedly and helpful.
Food was ok but nothing special: mainly spicy and fatty not really suitable for little children. /like Hungarian cuisine :-) /
The wellness area is big but it needs renovation.
The hotel area is beautiful and Zalakaros offers some freetime activities. We rent a bike and had a 20 km long tour. It was great !!!
To sum up! It is a good hotel but I think not a 4-star superior hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucerna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We spent 2 nights there after a recommendation from one of our friends. The hotel staff were very accommodating of our needs, we had arrived early (11am) and received a room immediately. When we decided that we wanted a late check out, we were told that since no one is coming to that room immediately after us, we could stay until 2:30pm, no extra charge. Our room was very nice and clean, complete with a balcony. The beds and pillows were comfortable.

Breakfasts were excellent, very wide variety of foods although the cold cuts were subpar. On the bright side, a cook was there at all times to prepare fresh eggs to order with toppings of choice. The buffet dinner was OK, but the service was very average. Probably due to our age, we were not take seriously and our drink orders were forgotten both times, the second time a wine arriving in a dirty glass, probably due to a big event taking place and staff being extremely busy. (it was sent back and we received a new clean glass)
The bath facilities were great, the sauna show ( 3 sauna infusions) was amazing. If you like the sauna, I would definitely advise you to try it if you get the chance!!!

Overall a great and relaxing experience, would return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caly1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent 3 nights here with our little girl. Surprisingly the hotel was not able to provide a proper bed for our 1 year old girl, we had to ask and explain the very minimal requirements several times. There were some problems with the room belongings and room cleaning service.
The spa was great, the food was OK although we were really surprised when they announced at 8pm that some kind of foods were run out and they were not able to refill those...

All in all, we would recommend you to try to find another hotel in that area if you want to stay there. (by the way, Zalakaros is wonderful and really enjoyable)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cathy_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Receptionist was very helpful and friendly. Was not the nicest hotel but I think the best in the area. The Restaurant was good. At first they were very unhelpful but once we told them we understand if they cannot speak good English they were actually very friendly then. The buffet was brilliant. it was 6500 Forint per person. Also had nice dishes on the menu for good prices. Room service was very quick and good. Although they don't understand what you ask for which is quite a bit of a mission. It could have been very helpful if they had a person that understands English. Pools were fantastic..real fun and relaxation for everyone. ROOMS HOWEVER WAS RELAY UNHYGIENIC, FILTHY, & DISGUSTINGLY DIRTY!!!!! We had hair all over our bathroom in the corners. The were absolutely no soap in the bathrooms, and it is a four star hotel. Bed was okay. All rooms were to have a mini-bar. But our didn't so we phoned reception and they just said "tomorrow" and did nothing about it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sjibbolet v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zalakaros
0.4 mi away
Hotel Karos Spa
Hotel Karos Spa
#4 of 8 in Zalakaros
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel Zalakaros
Aphrodite Hotel Zalakaros
#1 of 8 in Zalakaros
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Freya
Hunguest Hotel Freya
#6 of 8 in Zalakaros
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Venus
Hotel Venus
#3 of 8 in Zalakaros
106 reviews
15.6 mi away
Kolping Hotel
Kolping Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alsopahok
363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aqua Therm Hotel
Aqua Therm Hotel
#8 of 8 in Zalakaros
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MenDan Magic Spa & Wellness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MenDan Magic Spa & Wellness Hotel

Address: Gyogyfuerdo ter 8, Zalakaros 8749, Hungary (Formerly Hunguest Hotel Damona)
Location: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Zala County > Zalakaros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Zalakaros
Price Range: $130 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MenDan Magic Spa & Wellness Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star MenDan Magic Spa & Wellness Hotel is located in the centre of Zalakaros. The hotel offers relaxation and healing in one place with its proximity to the thermal bath, its 162 rooms and suites, as well as its own bath- and therapy section. At the distance of 0.9 km (0.5 mi) from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your MenDan Magic Spa & Wellness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing