We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stopover near Munich airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Landhotel Hallnberg
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We needed somewhere to stay for one night near Munich airport, as we were going on to drive into the Austrian alps. Although this hotel is quite difficult to find (it's in the middle of nowhere, on the outskirts of a small village with poorly signposted roads), once we got there we found it clean, pleasant, well-appointed and with really delightful staff. We couldn't make the SatNav work on our hire car, and the young man on reception was eager to help. Another nice young man the next day helped us out with another minor car problem. The hotel has an excellent restaurant - the food was really good, a rather refined version of the typical Bavarian cuisine. The breakfast buffet was a cut above the normal, as you could also order freshly made scrambled or fried eggs, with or without bacon (rather than the usual congealed stuff more normally offered). The rooms were nothing fancy, but clean, with pleasant bathrooms. We'd definitely stay there again, and it was a MUCH better option than the single night in Munich itself which we opted for before our flight home. No sign of the mosquitoes mentioned by a previous reviewer, by the way!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 35 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

CHECKIN & PARKING: No problem. Lots of space for parking, friendly and professional checkin. Nicely presented small lobby with bar - charming for for small hotel. They take Amex/visa.
ROOM: Ok but not a strong point. It was "functional", small. Clean but charmless. Having said that I slept well which counts for a lot! Internet worked well.
Bathroom was clean but small - hard to find space to put anything down. No bath, just a shower. One bath towel! Somewhat minimal. On the other hand modern and cleanly tiled etc.
BREAKFAST: usual buffet deal - nothing to rave about. Tea was ok. Nice ham but cereal selection was basic.
DINNER: Hallnberg excels here. Very good - I ate here all four evenings of my stay. Excellent each time. Very tender beef for example. Imaginative starters and desserts. Friendly staff and I get the impression local people drop by for dinner here which is a good sign. I recommend dinner here.
STRONG POINT: very friendly staff. The soccer was going on at the time, and this gave rise to some great discussions!
LOCATION: I was here around mid June so the evenings were bright. The walks around the hotel are wonderful - you are in the middle of the countryside. The farmers were making hay and the smells were delightful. If you enjoy getting away from the city this is for you. I really enjoyed this location. Not sure it would be of much interest in mid-winter however. Do note that this hotel is far from any town. Not so far away is a village called Walpertskirchen - I dropped off there and had a quich look round. The church is worth a look - it's about walkable from the hotel (use the back lanes not the main road if walking). Did not see any restaurant or even bar there however. There is a small store.
OVERALL AND WOULD I COME BACK: Food and location make this an address worth keeping. I'd come here again - espec in summer. Overall 4/5.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_Big_Apple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed at Hallnberg this week for 3 nights. The first evening when I arrived the window was slightly opened, and I noticed a mosquito or two which I crushed, and closed the window. This was just the beginning of a bloodbath, having to battle with mosquitoes all through the night, finally getting about a dozen bites and killing about 30 of the little critters...
The second day the hotel staff probably noticed the blood points on the bed (mine, the mosquitoes', who knows) and placed a mosquito repellent, and still left the window open, so this night I was just stung a few times, and the third night I asked that they leave the windows closed so I was able to sleep safely.
Anyway, that was a horrid experience, as I was on a business trip, not a camping trip... The hotel itself was okay, the breakfast was fine, the service was nice, but oh, those mosquitoes... stay away!

Room Tip: Prefer a higher floor to avoid the mosquitoes and make sure they don't open your windows during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 64Chris_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Manulein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas L, Manager at Landhotel Hallnberg, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Schnuribus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poesiealbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walpertskirchen
5.3 mi away
Hotel Victory Therme Erding
6.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Muenchen Airport Erding
4.6 mi away
AZIMUT Hotel Erding
AZIMUT Hotel Erding
#16 of 17 in Erding
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel und Gaststatte zum Erdinger Weissbrau
4.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Munich-Airport
12.1 mi away
Hotel & Hostel Hallbergerhof
Hotel & Hostel Hallbergerhof
#7 of 10 in Hallbergmoos
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhotel Hallnberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhotel Hallnberg

Address: Hallnberg 2, 85469 Walpertskirchen, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Hotel Restaurant Hallnberg)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Walpertskirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walpertskirche...
Price Range: $93 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Landhotel Hallnberg 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Landhotel Hallnberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing