We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent & Charming”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sapa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #62 of 73 Hotels in Sapa
Reviewed September 1, 2010

The hotel is beautiful with excellent amenities! The staff is also wonderful and accommodating. The owner Tommy arranged for his sister-in-law , Sho who is Hmong to take us on a great trekking tour. My husband and I loved our stay at the Cha Pa Garden and it made our Sapa experience extremely memorable. It was well worth the price!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anphammedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 167 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2010

The hotel is nice to start with but cleanlyness and maintenance are not adequately observed. Its true that humidity does not make it easy maintenance but price is high compared with other hotels in our trip, thus we enjoyed a good staying there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpainAna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Cha pa gardens is a charming old renovated house with beautiful gardens. Rooms and bathrooms are immaculate but small which has to be expected of an old house. Location is very central and yet the gardens provide a serene escape from the bustle of the street hawkers on the street. Food is a highlight-it's as good as any five star establishment-presentation is good and food is cooked with love. The owners are very obliging of any request and happy to chat about the local area. If I could give you one tip for sapa's one main detractor - the pushy local Hmong hawkers who are constantly 'in your face'- we found by the end of our trip that no eye contact and a firm but not rude 'no' while keeping walking was the best way to disengage them. Be warned that making eye contact or even hesitating or pausing is seen as your intention to buy. On treks they are happy to follow you for hours-some people may find this charming however it just put us on edge so we felt it best to set them straight at the outset that we had no intention of purchasing (and to be frank the quality of their merchandise is pretty poor). I hope this doesn't offend anyone.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChickybabeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We booked our train tickets via email with Tommy (the owner) about 4 months before we left for Sapa. He booked us on the Fanxipan Express which was very comfortable.
Cha Pa Garden is a beautiful, comfortable and very very friendly boutique hotel in Sapa. The hotel only has 4 rooms, a fairly big living and dining area with a real fireplace. Tommy and his Hmong wife were very helpful and friendly - always smiling and asking us how's our trip so far. We didn't book a guide from them as we decided to trek to Cat Cat village ourselves which was actually quite a trek considering that it was raining one the first day we arrived (we were given our room to rest when we arrived at 6am). Tommy recommended that we take the unbeaten path to Xin Cai village which we did, albeit by motorbike as we were just too tired to walk up the steep hills to the village. We enjoyed every bit of our stay in Sapa and Cha Pa Garden did everything it could to make us enjoy it more. The food in Cha Pa Garden is delicious and we recommend you to order the set dinner. It needs 4 hours advance booking as they obtain all ingredients freshly from the market 50 meters away from their hotel. Imagine having freshly cooked meal in the comfort of your own home by a real fireplace...this is what Cha Pa Garden is....a place where you free right at home!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yujen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

A really lovely place, rooms fairly small but well furnished - modern, with comfy beds, good flat screen TV, fridge, nice linens and nice modern bathroom. We stayed in a standard room but had no problem with the smaller room. The hotel was small with only a few rooms so was pretty peaceful unless early arrivers from the train decided to have noisy conversations in reception when they arrived....We only ate breakfast in their nice restaurant which were really lovely, good choice and nicely prepared - a bit more than the average included breakfast in other places we stayed. The hotel also had a lovely outside garden area with tables, chairs and rabbits! The town is only small so the location was fine and we didn't miss having a view. You see the fantastic views when you are out and about in the day anyway. Tommy and his wife were welcoming and helpful with advice on trips, transfers and train tickets. We booked a trek through Tommy with a guide Sa. The trek was good, amazing scenery but Sa wasn't really a guide. We followed her, so she was a guide in that sense, but we got very little else from her in terms of telling us about the area and talking in general. She seemed v shy and we wished we'd gone with one of the more talkative Hmong, it probably would have been a bit more of an experience. We had 3 women walk with us the whole way for the 'shopping' at the end and we didn't mind buying from them. we were going to tip them anyway for the things they pointed out along the way, which really should have been the job of our guide. red dzao house and baguette and chocolat were the best restaurants we found, Give wild lotus and the restaurant across from cha pa a miss. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niks216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We stayed 3 nights at Cha Pa Gardens in May 2009.

The building is gorgeous, french colonial. It is mere footsteps from the main street of Sapa, with many restaurants, internet cafes and street markets right at the door step.

We loved the exterior, and the dining area was absolutely beautiful, as was the breakfast.

The room itself (a deluxe room with balcony) was a dissapointment. The room was very bare, felt like sleeping in a spare room of someones house. The bed felt sort of like a mattress close to the ground.

There were many dirty marks on the walls about the room which made it feel dingy and grubby, and the bathroom had broken tiles that came loose when showering etc. The shower curtain was also very mouldy and you had to be very careful not to have it flap onto you while showering, quite yucky. I would just replace the plastic cloth or spray with some bleach!

The bathroom itself was TINY and th design was bad, couldnt really have 2 people in brushing teeth etc at the same time. Too small. Basin in odd position, quite uncomfortable to use.

The TV channels rarely worked, but we were offered the use of a DVD collection which was good, but we had trouble finding anything that was not dubbed over with vietnamese or that was very poor quality, so we gave up on watching movies (it rained a few days we were there and were stuck indoors).

It would have been great to have the TV channels work in the bedroom.

Overall, it was a lovely place, but more thought needed in the bedroom design and decoration. Location is spot on, absolutely could not find a better spot in Sapa.

Sapa itself is absolutely stunning, highlight of our trip!

Enjoy :)

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank odyssey1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

A real charming place where you feel like the proprietors are really looking out for your best interest.

Excellent amenities, real trustworthy and helpful staff (cute hmong locals who are just the kindest people). The rooms are cozy, but large. Feels like a nice place to retreat from the hustle and bustle... They offer great tours with local guides, and have good entertainment options in case a Sapa flash flood keeps you inside.

Good restaurant. Great complimentary breakfast. The menu has many western options, if thats what you are looking for. We found that the real gem on the menu are the "local hmong dish" options. Oh, and you can't forget the wine here. Extremely reasonably priced, and excellently maintained at 17.5* Celsius. (Many times in Vietnam, wine was simply left in a rack next to the kitchen in the 40* degree temperatures...)

Overall...I felt like this was an extraordinary value, and just a great place to boot. If I return, I will definitely plan my trip around Chapa garden's room availability.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WholeMilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
4.3 mi away
Sapa Romance Hotel
Sapa Romance Hotel
#8 of 73 in Sapa
67 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sapa Clay House - Mountain Retreat
0.2 mi away
Sapa Legend Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aira Boutique Sapa Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Cat Cat Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 23b Cau May | Lao Cai, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 73 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range: $65 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa is the first hotel of its kind in the town of Sapa and provides a breathing space only 50 m from the busy market. Guests are welcomed to comfortable rooms and friendly service in this beautifully renovated French villa.The restaurant is making great both local and western dishes, and our green garden is unique in center town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel Sapa
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing