We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Sapa
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveler rating
90
45
20
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
45
20
8
3
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 166 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2008

I felt like part of the family that owns and operates this lovely hotel. I visited for 3 days as a side trip from Hanoi . Though I had no prior plan, Tommy and his wife (owners of the hotel) took care of all my varied tour interests every day with no problem. They are fabulously gracious hosts.

About the hotel: The location is great: right in the middle of the main street of Sapa though set a a half-street above it so you get some quiet, some gardens and tranquility. The meals at the hotel were superb and the service was outstanding. The dining room is on the entry level and is centered around a hearth that was fired even tho it was July and it was perfect. Breakfast, included in the price, was wonderful. They serve Vietnamese cafe exactly as it should be, any time of the day.

There are no shower curtains in the bathroom - no surprise there - but the rooms are are modern, spacious, and offer all usual things you need. Internet access is in the lobby. Ask for the rooms with the balcony for a view of the gardens and the street life.

For the price, location and wonderful service, you cannot do better.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank mkatzmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapagarden, Owner and manager at Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2008

Dear all,

First of all I would like to take the opportunity of thanking all of our previous guests who have taken the time to write a review of our hotel - we are humbled by the overwhelming response we have been getting and it motivates all of us to work even harder to make sure that our guests have the best experience possible from their stay at our hotel.

Secondly I am happy to inform everybody that we are finally getting the decorations for our rooms completed and at the same time will be able to do something about our infamous shower curtains (or the lack thereof) which means our guests will finally be able to take a shower without standing knee deep in water. I hope these improvements will please our future guests just as much as it pleases our dear housekeepers who no longer will need to mop bathroom floors 24/7.

Lastly I have to inform that getting these changes done will finally enable us to put our rates at the level they were originally supposed to be which means rates will now be starting at 65 USD per night incl. taxes, service charge and daily breakfast. I hope the added comfort for our guests will justify the price increase and ask for your understanding in this matter.

I hope this information is useful to you and thank you all for your attention.

Have a good day,

Tommy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

This boutique is one of our most unique and pleasant hotel experiences. After living and travelling in the region for 9 years, we give this wonderful hotel a big thumbs up.

The location can't be beat -- it is steps from the main road, but far enough away to dull the din of the nearby people and traffic. It has a beautiful garden area, where we felt it was safe for our children to run about while we were inside.

We learned so much about the local culture from Tommy, who was around to for chat nearly all the time, but in a very unobtrusive way.

We visited two outlying villages based on Tommy’s recommendation and his weather forecast (which was spot on). Tommy's sister-in-law, Ti, was our guide. She was sweet with the children, very informative, and came at a price of $12 a day (though we tipped generously). After a day of hiking with us, Ti walked 1 hour back to her village. She is amazing!

We ate nearly every meal at the hotel restaurant, mainly because my boys loved the pancakes with honey, and I couldn't get enough of the homemade bread and Vietnamese coffee.

We stayed in two rooms. One had a queen bed, which cost US$40 with breakfast for 2. The second room had a queen bed, and a single mattress on the floor, and cost $50 with breakfast for two. While check-in is around noon, we chose to pay extra to secure a room upon arrival in the morning. If the room is empty, Tommy allows you to check in early at no cost. Both rooms were tastefully decorated with beautiful finishings like Toto toilets and rainhead showers. Open shutters allow the nice mountain breeze to enter, and after the oppressive Hanoi heat, was extremely refreshing!

I recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Sapa. Our only regret is not staying on a second night. One night at Cha Pa Gardens is not enough!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Travelin3InTow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Cha Pa Boutique welcomes you with the warmth of a dear friend or family member. The rooms are clean and modern. As others have mentioned, they have flat screen TVs (though not too many channels), balconies, a/c and mini fridges.

The owner and staff are extremely helpful, and they prepare a hearty and delicious breakfast in the morning. They are also quick to answer all of your questions and they can set up guided tours as well. I went on a really nice walking tour with a guide named Ling, organized by the hotel.

The hotel also allowed me to check-in early, and they allow all guests to check out at noon.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MojoMcChachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

In july we stayed 2 nights with my family (2 adults and 2 children of 16 and 14) in Cha Pa hotel thanks to the revieuws on tripadvisor. It is indeed a lovely place with nice rooms, lovely food and the best of all: the atmosphere in which the children could relax. The trekkings we made with the four of us we booked in the hotel, do not book them in advance!.
One of the trekkings was already hampered by the rain and almost to heavy when you're not carrying the correct shoes with you. We should have brought our trekking-shoes which we didn't because we were travelling for four weeks troughout Vietnam. I am very sad by the news of the floods right now and the lovely trip to Bac Ha market must be impossibble right now .
Please spend a couple of dollars more for a stay you will never forget!

Josie

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank josieAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We arrived at the Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel thanks to the positive reviews here on tripadvisor and must say that we had an excellent experience stay here (regret that it was just one night!)

It's a brand new hotel, so everything was in pristine condition. Thanks to the scandinavian background of part of the management there were many european influences visible: the architecture, interior design, quality of materials used, food served, etc etc which blended very well with vietnamese elements.

Some hightlights: the location: just off the mainstreet (more quiet and a nice garden to sit outside!), the best coffee in vietnam, very comfortable beds, big flat screen in the bedroom, french fries with garlic (jummie), the very friendly staff... and so much more! In other words, these guys have great eye for detail :-)

Things to improve were hard to find and most have been mentioned already in other reviews. Value for money was great here and we definitively would stay here again.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Gijski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews