We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sapa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa
Save
You added Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Ranked #46 of 51 Hotels in Sapa
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
426 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We did not stay here, but visited on an afternoon as it looked really nice from outside. There are only 4 rooms and we were shown 2 types of room, and they looked nice. The staff was very accommodating too.

We went back at 10pm that night for a drink, and the staff generously served us although they were closed. They had earlier told us that restaurant closes at 10pm but we are welcomed after that to have drinks. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highfever88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    45
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
22
105
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A beautiful B & B style hotel with an excellent breakfast (and dinners) too! Very friendly people work there and the location is excellent - close to the trekking starting points, restaurants and the market.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2468PWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights. Nice small hotel,nicely decorated with a beautiful small garden. Perfect location. Breakfast average.service very good. The staff is friendly and helpful.wifi poor. Heating is good in room.

Overall very good hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Chapa Garden hotel for two nights and enjoyed the stay. The team is extremely friendly, and does everything to make the stay as comfortable as possible. Booking and transportation from Lao Cai by minibus shuttle worked very well. Rooms are nicely decorated and can be sufficiently heated even when it is cold outside (we had about 5 degrees C). We could even get into our room straight away even though we arrived at 7 am. Food was good, and other facilities were fine as well. Would recommend it by all means.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snooping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We visited Sapa in December and stayed at Cha Pa Garden for two nights. Pick-up service and transfer to hotel from Station by minivan is seamless. The hotel arranged early check-in (6;30 am) for us which is very good after overnight train. Room is cosy and with heat which is very important for we visited Sapa in the coolest month. The room is small but deco is nice. Room is clean with very good lighting. A nice litlle garden for relaxing. Breakfast (except pancake) is good and delicious. WIFI is strong in the dining room but just next to none in our room. Downside is that hot water is run out (I was the second to take bath) and I had to finish bathing within a very short time on the first day. Leakage at water closet though not serious and not a issue for us. Room for improvement for the bedding. We booked a private tour guide for the 12km walk to the villages, which cost triple than the small group (6 pax) tour organised by the Tourist Information Centre. "Home-made meal" is included. We expect hot meals cooked by villagers in their homes. It turns out a cold baguette with a few pieces of raw bacon (no drinks included) brought by tour guide from the hotel. We are quite disappointed at this point.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Chapa Garden and really enjoyed our stay. We celebrated Christmas there and it really felt a bit like home: nice dinner close to the fireplace, friendly atmosphere.
I believe for the time being there are only 4 rooms which I find really nice - it is not one of these big unpersonal hotels.
I definitely would recommmend this hotel to all travellers who are not only looking for a clean and cosy room but also for friendly staff.
Staff were indeed smiling, very accomodating, very helpful (travelling with baby) and simply just kind.
Excellent choice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in a standard room at Cha Pa Garden Hotel for 3 nights and were a little disappointed.  We had arranged for the hotel to book us seats in a shared minivan from Lao Cai train station to Sapa, however the driver was not waiting for us on arrival so we ended up being hustled into another van by the local minivan mafia and were overcharged as a result (150,000 VND pp should have been 50-60,000 VND pp).

We were able to check straight  into our room on arrival which was welcome after a long night on the train.  The hotel had an excellent location, just off the main street near to the markets where we had plenty of options for food /drinks.

We stayed in room 202 which had a small balcony and views toward the mountain.  We thought the room was very average for the price we paid (1,470,000 per night $72), the bed was a little lumpy (although it did not keep us awake after long day trekking!), the ceiling was mouldy and as a result the room smelt damp & musty.  The mould was probably caused by the inadequate bathroom, the shower was tiny and water sprayed all over the floor despite taking care to keep the shower curtain on the inside and the toilet cistern had a slow leak onto the floor.  As a result we had to wear our thongs just to go into the bathroom - not ideal!  Wifi in the room was patchy at best but available from the dining area.

The reception staff were friendly & helpful although some had very limited English.  Breakfast was good, we didn't eat any other meals at the hotel and did not see anyone else eat there the whole time either.   Overall I wouldn't choose to stay there again.  I heard Sapa Rooms was a better option for a similar price, we didn't see the rooms ourselves but booked an excellent trek from there and the food was also fantastic.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsySoulImages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.0 mi away
Elysian Sapa Hotel
Elysian Sapa Hotel
#15 of 51 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thai Binh Sapa Hotel
Thai Binh Sapa Hotel
#23 of 51 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa Vista Hotel
Sapa Vista Hotel
#16 of 51 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#7 of 51 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Topas Ecolodge
Topas Ecolodge
#12 of 51 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Sapa Hotel
Boutique Sapa Hotel
#19 of 51 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 23b Cau May | Lao Cai, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 51 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa is the first hotel of its kind in the town of Sapa and provides a breathing space only 50 m from the busy market. Guests are welcomed to comfortable rooms and friendly service in this beautifully renovated French villa.The restaurant is making great both local and western dishes, and our green garden is unique in center town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel And Spa
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel Sapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing