We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy villa in town centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sapa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa
Save
You added Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Sapa
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Cosy villa in town centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We arrived early in the morning after taking the night train to Sapa the manager was very accommodating towards us. Let gave us an early check in at no extra cost and the room was lovely, very spacious and clean. We stayed for 3 nights and had no complaints whatsoever. Breakfast was delicious and a good choice offered. Its a beautiful small homely hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    45
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
22
105
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yallingup, Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Behind the main street this French villa is in a great location. Being low season we paid $70/night for five nights in the deluxe room including breakfast. We had relocated from another hotel which had a serious damp issue and the manager offered us a discount because we wanted a 5 night stay. The room was dry and comfortable. The manager is helpful and arranged a great 12km walk to Ta Phin with a local guide (Pamay). Not as cheap as tours we heard about but a bit different and we can highly recommend walking to a village rather than just spending time in it. We ate at the hotel restaurant once, but in low season there was no atmosphere without other guests.
If they could put a bit of effort in and kept up with maintenace this would be excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F1veStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

The location is good - all that Sapa offers is close by. Our room was small, the bathroom barely adequate. Amenities worked, though the a/c barely coped. Breakfast was satisfactory. We didn't eat 'in' as the prices were high for Sapa, and a range of interesting eateries was very close.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obione980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed at Chapa Garden for one night and we were very disapointed. At first, we booked a room in this hotel, because their reputation was to organize very nice personalized trekking around Sapa just for their customers. Indeed we were sent a document called "Sapa Trekking Experience" explaining their offer.
We arrived in Sapa with a night train and we were picked-up by a mini-van from the hotel (12 dollars per person). The pick-up was very badly organized (3 persons more than the number of seats available and we had a tiring trip to Sapa. When we arrived in the hotel at 6 am in the morning, our room was not ready and we had to wait a little bit. No big issue, if the owner would have offered to us a drink or light breakfast as other hotels are used to do in Vietnam We had a very expensive breakfast in their restaurant (20 euros) and our room was ready at 11 am. Our room was ok, but the bathroom was disguting (moulded joint, the floor had not been cleaned properly...). We were really disappointed with the standard offered for the price (90 euros for one night, this price is the one for a luxury 4 stars hotel in Vietnam).
The worst part of the Chapa Garden experience was the trekking they organized for us: no advice, no choice and we had to go for a very touristic trekking that we paid 3 times more than in other hotels. Our guide was ok, but we had to buy some things in the village to her sister (forced sale). We wanted a very not touristic experience and we were really disappointed.
If you want a good experience in Sapa and get great value, you should better avoid Chapa Garden: it used to be a good hotel, but the current owner is very rude and not customer-centric.
My worst hotel in Vietnam...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elisa78350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
159 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

To my surprise this small "boutique hotel" has the look and feel of a large guest home. Clean, good breakfast, with a good sized room, but small bathroom. Even though the bathroom is small it did have good water pressure and hot water. The hotel does have free wifi. Centrally located.

Room Tip: Rooms are good size, I gave it an average because of the bathroom. The room are spacious and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

If you're going to do something do it properly comes to mind when I think of the room refurb for this hotel. My understanding that the refurb wasn't that long ago but it's already feeling a bit tired. The bathroom is ill conceived, the desk is sagging, the curtains a little faded, the joinery around the windows and doors needs fixing and in some places the floors felt that I may go through. In saying all that, there are pluses. The rooms are large and airy, the location is good with the markets pretty much on your door step, the food is decent (particularly the meatballs) and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaJane892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We wanted to like the Cha Pa Garden. We really did. In fact, there were some things about it that we liked a lot. But some other things that impacted our experience in a negative way.

The Good:
Location
Use of room on early check-in
Service of hotel staff (note: the average service rating we show below was more reflective of the owner than the hotel staff.)
Breakfast
Small garden areas and the building itself are attractive
Furnishings are modern and tasteful

The Bad:
Unreliable transportation arrangements
Poor communications from owner
A/C and heat did not work in our room for the entire 3–day stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mediakzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
2.9 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#7 of 51 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sapa
5.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sapa Paradise View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thai Binh Sapa Hotel
Thai Binh Sapa Hotel
#23 of 51 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Boutique Sapa Hotel
Boutique Sapa Hotel
#18 of 51 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 23b Cau May | Lao Cai, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa is the first hotel of its kind in the town of Sapa and provides a breathing space only 50 m from the busy market. Guests are welcomed to comfortable rooms and friendly service in this beautifully renovated French villa.The restaurant is making great both local and western dishes, and our green garden is unique in center town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel And Spa
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel Sapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing