We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet villa in the centre of town”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sapa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #72 of 84 Hotels in Sapa
Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Behind the main street this French villa is in a great location. Being low season we paid $70/night for five nights in the deluxe room including breakfast. We had relocated from another hotel which had a serious damp issue and the manager offered us a discount because we wanted a 5 night stay. The room was dry and comfortable. The manager is helpful and arranged a great 12km walk to Ta Phin with a local guide (Pamay). Not as cheap as tours we heard about but a bit different and we can highly recommend walking to a village rather than just spending time in it. We ate at the hotel restaurant once, but in low season there was no atmosphere without other guests.
If they could put a bit of effort in and kept up with maintenace this would be excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F1veStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 166 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2012

The location is good - all that Sapa offers is close by. Our room was small, the bathroom barely adequate. Amenities worked, though the a/c barely coped. Breakfast was satisfactory. We didn't eat 'in' as the prices were high for Sapa, and a range of interesting eateries was very close.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obione980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed at Chapa Garden for one night and we were very disapointed. At first, we booked a room in this hotel, because their reputation was to organize very nice personalized trekking around Sapa just for their customers. Indeed we were sent a document called "Sapa Trekking Experience" explaining their offer.
We arrived in Sapa with a night train and we were picked-up by a mini-van from the hotel (12 dollars per person). The pick-up was very badly organized (3 persons more than the number of seats available and we had a tiring trip to Sapa. When we arrived in the hotel at 6 am in the morning, our room was not ready and we had to wait a little bit. No big issue, if the owner would have offered to us a drink or light breakfast as other hotels are used to do in Vietnam We had a very expensive breakfast in their restaurant (20 euros) and our room was ready at 11 am. Our room was ok, but the bathroom was disguting (moulded joint, the floor had not been cleaned properly...). We were really disappointed with the standard offered for the price (90 euros for one night, this price is the one for a luxury 4 stars hotel in Vietnam).
The worst part of the Chapa Garden experience was the trekking they organized for us: no advice, no choice and we had to go for a very touristic trekking that we paid 3 times more than in other hotels. Our guide was ok, but we had to buy some things in the village to her sister (forced sale). We wanted a very not touristic experience and we were really disappointed.
If you want a good experience in Sapa and get great value, you should better avoid Chapa Garden: it used to be a good hotel, but the current owner is very rude and not customer-centric.
My worst hotel in Vietnam...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Elisa78350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

To my surprise this small "boutique hotel" has the look and feel of a large guest home. Clean, good breakfast, with a good sized room, but small bathroom. Even though the bathroom is small it did have good water pressure and hot water. The hotel does have free wifi. Centrally located.

Room Tip: Rooms are good size, I gave it an average because of the bathroom. The room are spacious and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

If you're going to do something do it properly comes to mind when I think of the room refurb for this hotel. My understanding that the refurb wasn't that long ago but it's already feeling a bit tired. The bathroom is ill conceived, the desk is sagging, the curtains a little faded, the joinery around the windows and doors needs fixing and in some places the floors felt that I may go through. In saying all that, there are pluses. The rooms are large and airy, the location is good with the markets pretty much on your door step, the food is decent (particularly the meatballs) and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaJane892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We wanted to like the Cha Pa Garden. We really did. In fact, there were some things about it that we liked a lot. But some other things that impacted our experience in a negative way.

The Good:
Location
Use of room on early check-in
Service of hotel staff (note: the average service rating we show below was more reflective of the owner than the hotel staff.)
Breakfast
Small garden areas and the building itself are attractive
Furnishings are modern and tasteful

The Bad:
Unreliable transportation arrangements
Poor communications from owner
A/C and heat did not work in our room for the entire 3–day stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mediakzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This is a comfortable, small mid-range hotel. Apart from the comfortable, warm, rooms the hotel price included an excellent breakfast and very reasonably priced laundry service. But the standout for me was its social conscience. It both employs people from the local tribes and organises tours using guides local to the area you are visiting. My wife and I organised two one day tours through the hotel while we were in SaPa and both were excellent. The hotel was very helpful in discussing the options available and advising in light of the weather forecast.

My wife and I found the charges for the tours very reasonable at $20USD per person for a half day and $35 for a full day which included lunch, all fees and transport back to the hotel at the end of the walk. The quality of the guides was excellent and, although we can't comment on prices elsewhere in SaPa, our experience of the hotel leads us to accept the statement in their flyer that:

"There are travel agents offering cheaper package tours here in Sapa but we believe in paying our guides a fair salary and hope that their knowledge of the area makes their guests trip to Sapa as memorable as possible."

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We only booked one night initially and so had to be moved when we chose to stay a second. Although b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stillaliveat55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.5 mi away
Arengo Sapa Hotel
Arengo Sapa Hotel
#56 of 84 in Sapa
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ladybird Sapa Hotel
Ladybird Sapa Hotel
#41 of 84 in Sapa
2 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viet Flower Hotel
Viet Flower Hotel
#31 of 84 in Sapa
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Muong Thanh Sapa
Muong Thanh Sapa
#77 of 84 in Sapa
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anise Sapa Hotel
Anise Sapa Hotel
#22 of 84 in Sapa
29 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sapa Romance Hotel
Sapa Romance Hotel
#30 of 84 in Sapa
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 23b Cau May | Lao Cai, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 84 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range: $65 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa is the first hotel of its kind in the town of Sapa and provides a breathing space only 50 m from the busy market. Guests are welcomed to comfortable rooms and friendly service in this beautifully renovated French villa.The restaurant is making great both local and western dishes, and our green garden is unique in center town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel And Spa
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel Sapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing