We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property but our experience could have been better.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sapa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #67 of 78 Hotels in Sapa
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We wanted to like the Cha Pa Garden. We really did. In fact, there were some things about it that we liked a lot. But some other things that impacted our experience in a negative way.

The Good:
Location
Use of room on early check-in
Service of hotel staff (note: the average service rating we show below was more reflective of the owner than the hotel staff.)
Breakfast
Small garden areas and the building itself are attractive
Furnishings are modern and tasteful

The Bad:
Unreliable transportation arrangements
Poor communications from owner
A/C and heat did not work in our room for the entire 3–day stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mediakzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 167 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

This is a comfortable, small mid-range hotel. Apart from the comfortable, warm, rooms the hotel price included an excellent breakfast and very reasonably priced laundry service. But the standout for me was its social conscience. It both employs people from the local tribes and organises tours using guides local to the area you are visiting. My wife and I organised two one day tours through the hotel while we were in SaPa and both were excellent. The hotel was very helpful in discussing the options available and advising in light of the weather forecast.

My wife and I found the charges for the tours very reasonable at $20USD per person for a half day and $35 for a full day which included lunch, all fees and transport back to the hotel at the end of the walk. The quality of the guides was excellent and, although we can't comment on prices elsewhere in SaPa, our experience of the hotel leads us to accept the statement in their flyer that:

"There are travel agents offering cheaper package tours here in Sapa but we believe in paying our guides a fair salary and hope that their knowledge of the area makes their guests trip to Sapa as memorable as possible."

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We only booked one night initially and so had to be moved when we chose to stay a second. Although b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stillaliveat55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

we had a very pleasant stay here in december. very nice room, friendly staff, nice location and excellent breakfast. would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank businesstraveler2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. It is a lovely looking building - set back from the main road and whilst not the best views of Sapa are found here, we had enough of a view from our window to satisfy us.There are only four rooms and to be honest, I would have expected more personal service from the manager/owner. Both breakfast and dinner were delicious - there is an extensive wine list with drinkable wines - not often found in Vietnam. Our transfers to and from the train were well organized. The rooms were spacious, the bed was not so comfortable, great heating and the bathroom was fine with plenty of hot water. Tall people need to watch their heads on the stairs and going to the lower bathroom - more than one bump occurred during our time there from some of the guests.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

I have stayed at several hotels in Sapa and this one is the best in terms of comfort and price. Other hotels in the area, besides the most expensive, lack character and service. The owner and the staff here make sure you are taken care of and i appreciate that kind of attention.
The rooms are quiet and have all the little ammenities you need. The location is ideal and tours are organized upon request. It also has heat and keeps you warm in the winter! You won't be disappointed with your stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferNYCThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Cha Pa Garden is a lovely small hotel ina beautiful setting, tucked away just off the main street. The rooms were small but very attractive, there was a little balcony to sit out on (if the sun had come out!) and a great fire in the restaurant, an amazing wine-list - and the breakfast was good (lovely home-made jams and delicious home-baked bread). But for the price the facilities were not brilliant (no safe in room, no bath, leaky shower and loo) We were also locked out when we went out to dinner on our first night and no-one answered the buzzer so we had to go back to the restaurant and call to get someone to let us in (it was only 10.30 & we weren't warned that this would happen!) and we didn't receive any apology from the owner next day when we explained what happened. Overall though it was a good experience - and I'd go back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJguapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Expensive compared to most places in Vietnam but this hotel delivers Western style comfort and luxury

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vb9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.5 mi away
Cat Cat Garden Hotel
2.9 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#7 of 78 in Sapa
212 reviews
22.4 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#49 of 78 in Sapa
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Muong Thanh Sapa
Muong Thanh Sapa
#71 of 78 in Sapa
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Sapa Hotel
Boutique Sapa Hotel
#47 of 78 in Sapa
1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#11 of 78 in Sapa
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 23b Cau May | Lao Cai, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 78 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range: $65 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel & Spa is the first hotel of its kind in the town of Sapa and provides a breathing space only 50 m from the busy market. Guests are welcomed to comfortable rooms and friendly service in this beautifully renovated French villa.The restaurant is making great both local and western dishes, and our green garden is unique in center town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel Sapa
Cha Pa Garden Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing