We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and excellent staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Binh Sapa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thai Binh Sapa Hotel
Ranked #30 of 65 Hotels in Sapa
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location and excellent staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

We arrived very early in the morning (7am-ish) and the desk clerk had just woken up (or maybe we woke her up??). While check in wasn't until early afternoon, we were allowed to check into our room (one night stay), which was very nice of them. They also served us tea while we waited.

The room was very spacious, although, the furniture was date (no biggie). The bathroom was a bit funky - the lock was on the outside and the shower had a gas operated water heater that didn't really work that well for hot water. The outter door seemed thin - could hear people talking outside (from the building next door I suspect) and the one night there was a dog barking very loudly for a bit (15 mins at least - I thought the dog was outside our door!). Breakfast was good (baked bread bun - pretty good, eggs). And the staff helped us book a trekking tour during our last day in town - they even offered us a room so we could shower following our tour despite us having already checked out - that was VERY thoughtful of them. They offered laundry services (~C$1 per kg of clothes), which was also helpful.

The hotel is ideally located - all the other people in our bus that were dropped off before us (we were last) were swarmed by locals greeting them but also trying to sell them things. Ours was a bit off the busy and noisy main strip, which was good. It's right at the base of Dragon Jaw Mountain (or Ham Rong Mountain), which is a good place to do some exploring. Restaurants and the market is a short walk away too. The hotel is reasonably priced as well (again, it's above a hostel but below the higher end hotels).

The hotel is very basic (no amenities such as gym or pool) but there's more than enough to do in Sapa to keep you busy. Overall, I really liked this hotel despite some of the minor issues (shower, dog). It defiintely had a certain charm to it and the staff were exceptional in my opinion. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gung_ho_in_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    134
    41
    12
    3
See reviews for
67
196
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

We booked a four-night stay at Thai Binh based on all the excellent reviews it has received on Trip Advisor and discovered that they couldn’t have been further from the truth. Also after checking in, we discovered a lot of the information given on their personal website is false.

We booked over the Internet and were extremely impressed with the quick reply. Promptly picked up at the train station at 5am as promised, we took the shuttle bus trip to Sapa. A staff member who didn’t speak English checked us in straight away, but this is where the positive remarks end. There was no offer of breakfast as so many reviewers state. So we left our bags and went to buy breakfast from one of the many restaurants nearby. When we came back to the room we had been checked into, we were overcome by the horrible smell of mould throughout the entire room. It was overbearing! Checking to see what the problem was, it looked as if the bathroom had not once been cleaned since the hotel’s construction (see attached photos). The shower curtain was covered in black mould and the exhaust fan didn’t work. Obviously who-ever must “clean” this place has no idea that a shower curtain, along with bathroom walls, need to be physically wiped down (as opposed to just sprayed with water). We actually bought air freshener that day to try to fix the problem, but it didn’t work because the problem was just too far-gone. There was really no point in complaining to the staff because for one thing, they didn't speak english, and second, it would need to actually be replaced by a new shower curtain to fix the problem (which was not going to happen). The filth of the room did not stop there though. The coffee cups provided were not only filthy (they had coffee drip stains down the side, so had not been cleaned from the previous use), they were sitting in a basket filled with hair and fluff. Once again, I could not believe the poor cleaning standards. Many reviewers feel that this place is clean and good value for money, but they must not have stayed in many places in Vietnam. My husband and I have spend almost 3 months traveling Vietnam, from the Mekong Delta all the way up to Sapa, and I can tell that this place should only cost half as much compared with other hotels in Vietnam. Or alternatively for this price ($25), you would be getting TV with cable channels (in English), fridge, air-con, breakfast, hot water, swimming pool, restaurant. We've even had an in-room dvd player at 2 hotels in Vietnam for that price.

The Thai Binh website states that rooms come with satellite TV, IDD phone and a mini bar. Well, there was a TV in our room….with about 3 Vietnamese channels. Hardly what I’d call “Satellite”. No phone. No mini bar to be seen. There were a couple of bottles of water in the TV cabinet, but definitely no refrigerator. Maybe a few bottles of room temperature water is what they call a mini bar. So basically, for $25 a night you are paying for a bed and hot water. Is that considered value for money?

Not having a TV would usually not be a big concern for me. But in this case it was almost necessary to drown out the continual noise throughout the night. The hotel’s neighbours don’t think it’s important to soften their conversations at night. They continually shout at each other EVERY NIGHT until well past midnight, only to start back up again at 5.30 in the morning! To make matters worse, they have a dog that has clearly never been trained because it just barks continually throughout the night! I honestly don’t know how anyone gets any sleep here. The hotels we have stayed at in Hanoi and Saigon have both been a lot quieter.

All this is such a shame because the staff seem relatively friendly, although we had no idea who anyone was, and never saw any owner or manager that everyone seems to rave about. One of the ladies (the only one who seemed to speak fluent English) helped us out with bus transfers to Bac Ha, which was a bonus. And the wi-fi worked really well. But are they good enough reasons to stay here?. There are so many hotels in Sapa that I would have no doubt that for $25 you could find a much better option.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trutraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights and booked 2 rooms. Although we had arranged our own rail travel to Lao Cai the hotel arranged transport from the station to Sapa and back, All went very smoothly making the trip that more relaxing. The hotel is clean and centrally located. There is some noise from a dog but that quickly quietens down. The staff are great and helpful. the owner is very helpful. They arranged a bus share out into the hills with another family to reduce the cost. The breakfast is great and we saw the hotel provide packed food for guests going trecking. Our son had stayed at other hotels in Sapa and rated this one very well on all counts.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
164 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

The Thai Binh hotel is a good value hotel on the pathway up to Ham Rong park and just behind the church in Sapa.

The rooms were quite large and while the furniture was dated the room had character and some interesting touches. The bathrooms are definitely in need of a refurbishment and the plumbing was not very good but they were not terrible.

The breakfast everyday at the Thai Binh was excellent with wonderful warm crispy bread rolls. It might be worth going here just for the bread!

The hotel manager was friendly, had excellent English and was really helpful. She helped organize tours around the area to be able to see places we wanted (and not just those on the standard tourist trail) and made some great restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank talltaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haifa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

Took me some time to write the review but this hotel and its manager deserves every warm word:
The hotel is nice, clean and the location convenient,
But the special thing here is the manager who is doing every effort to make your stay pleasant. We spent a lot of time together talking about Vietnam, its unique social fabric and the way its political system works. He also arranged us a great guide from the Hamong tribe which made our hikes unforgettable

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

The baguettes they serve you for breakfast (which is included in the price of the room) were amazing. I've travelled all over France and nothing beats these baguettes. The owner, Mr. Lam, quickly recognized my love of his baguettes, and gave us a couple "to go" for free when we went on a day hike. The staff here are very friendly and give you honest advice, especially if you want to hike off the beaten track. Loved the cosy fireplace in the main area and the rooms were really clean and quiet. The location is great because it's off the main strip. The hotel is located on the top of a hill. You have to try the street vendors at the bottom. Don't be afraid to try everything! It's delicious.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NelusBeanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

Thai Binh hotel was a great find in Sapa. We arrived quite early to the hotel but the staff was very accommodating and gave us breakfast and let us shower and check in early. They were able to book us a trekking tour straight away as well and it turned out to be great! Excellent guide for the day and told us all about the local area and people. The room was very clean and had mosquito nets. All in all, was a great stay, thanks!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sacrowley2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sapa Luxury Hotel
Sapa Luxury Hotel
#16 of 65 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elysian Sapa Hotel
Elysian Sapa Hotel
#20 of 65 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#9 of 65 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sapa Lodge
Sapa Lodge
#17 of 65 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sapa Romance Hotel
Sapa Romance Hotel
#19 of 65 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapa Paradise View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thai Binh Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thai Binh Sapa Hotel

Property: Thai Binh Sapa Hotel
Address: Ham Rong street | (Behind the Center Church), Sapa 0203, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thai Binh Sapa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks for your time to read the information about Thai Binh Sapa Hotel. We renovated our hotel recently and now we have 2 DOUBLE, 2 TWIN and 1 FAMILY (A connecting of 2 rooms with interconecting door, 4 beds and 2 bathrooms). To make it convenient for your trip to Sapa, we can also assist you to book train tickets from Ha Noi to Lao Cai and return, pick up from Lao Cai railways station and transfer to my hotel. We also have local guides (speak good English) to be with your for your trek in the beautiful villages of Sapa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Thai Binh Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thai Binh Hotel Sapa
Sapa Thai Binh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing