We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, with beautiful yard”
Review of Sapa Auberge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sapa Auberge Hotel
Ranked #48 of 73 Hotels in Sapa
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We booked this hotel as a part of an organised Sapa tour out of Hanoi and were pleasantly surprised by its quality (especially compared to the one we stayed in on Cat Ba island). The hotel manager was very friendly and took very good care of us and wanted to make sure that we have a good time at the hotel. He even made us sandwiches and drove us on his motorbike to the bus to Lao Cai, as we were a bit late for our train back to Hanoi. We really had the feeling that it was very important for him that we will be on time for our train.
The room was had many windows and was very spacioius with two large beds. The only downside was that there was no heating in the room, so if it would have been very cold (which luckily wasn't the case) we would have needed to rent heating blankets from the hotel (which come with an extra charge). The food was very good and they had stable WiFi.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Jens J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for Sapa Auberge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 203 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

Had an amazing time in Sapa due to the staff at Auberge. Being in sapa in the winter was chilly but the staff made every effort to keep us warm by bringing firewood to our rooms to use in our fireplace. They provided lots of warm clean blankets and the tour we took from their company was excellent. Amazing guides that were very knowledgable! The food had enough variety but was a bit limited if you are vegetarian. The views are breathtaking and the outdoor seating is amazing. Never experienced any problems with power outages, just amazing service!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel could receive a 4 or a 5 with its nice view, great food and good location and nice rooms but...

The power would go out a fair bit and returning to a room with no power was the norm - staff were helpful with this (mostly). Also I went out with my friend to a pub and returned at 10:30 to find that all of the lights were off and staff were nowhere to be seen. This meant that we couldn't buy fire wood for or fire place as we had planned. The night was a little less comfortable than it could have been. It would have been nice to know this would be case beforehand.

I quite liked this place though despite these service hiccups.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank SeanAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The Hotel on top of the hill , one of the best view , beautiful & so clean for the very old Hotel.
Service was the best so far that I travel all over the world & so friendly, food was very good, family stype that I love so much. a very sweet friendly tour guy girl & very helpful little but so Big Heart help me when I fall twist my encle ,she was so small & I'm a 200 lbs man & she did not care how big a man live me, just help me back to the Hotel, she the best little girl that I ever meet.

Room Tip: 401 the corner suite very nice view room are large & sunny
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chininh2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel and had a very negative experience. Besides a dark, dank, cold room, it was not an easy hotel for travelers to get too...a long steep incline followed by another long incline.
The restaurant is hectic and when we gave them laundry, it came back damp and barely folded.
And to top it off, when we were to leave on the bus, the owner told us to follow him up the hill to the bus. He then hopped on his scooter up the hill, disappearing into the crowd, while we tried to keep an eye on him while lugging our luggage. He did not wait for us at the top of the hill and we were very lucky to find a taxi to get us to the train just in time.
All in all our ONLY NEGATIVE experience our full three weeks in Vietnam.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ritabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We arrived early in the morning, the staff made us welcome and gave us breakfast even though they were in the middle of getting people away on tours. The room was ready so we were able to check in and relax after our night train. The rooms are basic, but clean and adequately furnished, bathroom was ok, shower over the bath. The food was good; we were invited to join the owner for dinner that night, which we did attend along with some other guests, but the owner was absent! Nonetheless the food was very good, and plenty of it. The hotel is situated up a fairly steep slope just off a very busy street, so be prepared for the climb, but the staff are at hand to help with luggage. It is right in the centre of things with many bars and restaurants, trekking/climbing equipment shops and a small market nearby. It is family run and very friendly; they also run a tour company and are able to provide all sorts of treks and tours. We took their tour to Cok Li (?) market and they dropped us off at the train station on the way back. The tour guide, aBlack Hmong woman and her friend, both has excellent English and stayed with us to arrange the delivery of our ticket and were reluctant to go before our train arrived. The friendliness and support throughout our stay was second to none. Well done.

Room Tip: The hotel has no lift, we were on floor three of five and the steps were easily manageable. The vie...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandRKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel but joined the sapa tours which have been arranged by khanh sinh tours in Hanoi.

We were picked up at Lao Cai station and made our way to Sapa via a bus arranged by the agency. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were served a simple breakfast and invited to sit in front of the fireplace to warm ourselves up which was a nice gesture.

However, things went downhill from then on.. the other 2 couples met their guide and left for their homestay after breakfast. For us, we were staying in a different hotel and were supposed to have a half day tour. We were informed to check in first to our hotel for some rest before coming back to the agency for lunch. We would start trekking after lunch since the weather was quite misty in morning. The staff asked us for the service voucher while in the car to confirm the hotel which we were supposed to stay in. We showed him the voucher and told him the name of the hotel but he insisted we were staying in another one, dropped us off and left without ensuring there were no problems with the check-in! The staff at the wrong hotel managed to contact the correct hotel after looking at our voucher and confirmed that we had a reservation there before calling up auberge dang trung to send us to the correct hotel. This time round, only the driver came back to pick us up and there were no apologies!

Relieved to be finally checked in and after taking a hot shower, we went to our hotel lobby to wait for pickup back to auberge dang trang for lunch and trekking. However, after waiting for half an hour, no one turned up. We had to get the hotel to contact the Hanoi office as we forgot the name of the agency and no one there seemed to be informed regarding our correct hotel location (which we later found out was just a 5min walk from auberge dang trang!). Finally, someone showed up and led us back to the agency for lunch and trekking. Again, there were no apologies and they could not explain why no one showed up at the time which we agreed on. The staff just shrugged his shoulder and said he didn't know.. After lunch, we finally went on our tour to Cat Cat village with our delightful guide. We really enjoyed our tour as there were only 2 of us so we could do it at our own pace.

On our second day, we had another trekking tour to Lao Cai and Ta Van. The path was really muddy so we were lucky to have rented boots. We were joined by a big room of local women who helped us along the slippery paths. Bought some souvenirs from them at the end of the trek as they didn't cost too much and we would definitely have fallen down without their help! Lunch was provided at a small hut overlooking the river. Do note that drinks are only included for breakfast and all other drinks are chargeable! (This seems to be the norm even at halong bay)

We had to catch the night train back to hanoi on the second day but the director did not seem interested when I brought it up on our first day there. He just brushed us off and said that his staff would make arrangements. We had to approach him again after our tour on the second day before he actually took down our train details and started to coordinate transfers to the train/bus station for the other hotel guests. We also had to carry our own luggage to the hotel's restaurant for dinner and subsequently to the bus. The staff and driver did not offer any help to my mother who was struggling with her heavy luggage despite her request!

In summary, the tours organised by auberge dang trang were great but the inattention to simple details such as sending guests to the correct hotel, helping out with luggage and proper communication regarding the itinerary and meeting times really spoilt our experience.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
6  Thank yluah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Elysian Sapa Hotel
Elysian Sapa Hotel
#25 of 73 in Sapa
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapa Panorama Hotel
Sapa Panorama Hotel
#27 of 73 in Sapa
547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#44 of 73 in Sapa
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hoang Ha Sapa Hotel
Hoang Ha Sapa Hotel
#29 of 73 in Sapa
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casablanca Hotel
Casablanca Hotel
#57 of 73 in Sapa
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa View Hotel
Sapa View Hotel
#58 of 73 in Sapa
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapa Auberge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa Auberge Hotel

Address: 031, Cau May Street, Sapa, Vietnam (Formerly Auberge Dang Trung Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 73 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range: $11 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapa Auberge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sapa Auberge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing