We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place to stay.”
Review of Sapa Auberge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sapa Auberge Hotel
Ranked #47 of 70 Hotels in Sapa
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly place to stay.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our stay at the Hostel was booked in Hanoi, by the Hostel where we were. They arranged everythin (bus ticket and stay at Sapa). When we arrive at Sapa was waiting for us the person who took us up to the Aubergue. The first impression was a nice hostel with friendly staff. The rooms were clean and large enough. The meals were all included and everything was tasty. Definitely a place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristinadrocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    52
    31
    25
    35
See reviews for
26
76
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel. My six meals were with them (included in my sapa tour), n they served the same food for every meal. Terrible!!!
Not yet, they don't provide mineral water in your room. And when you asked for it, they gave you without saying any words. So I thought it's free. Till the last day, they told me to pay for it in a very rude way. I told the manager, his name is Manh, "I can pay for it, but i think you should have informed me that it's chargeable". Guess what, first time I saw a manager argued with his customer, he raised his voice n tole me, " when you stay in my hotel, you should read the hotel's policy what you are supposed to get for free, and what are not". He then pointed his finger on me, till i asked him to stop arguing, as I told him I agreed to pay n told him i was polite to him. Why he behaved in such a rude way to me, as his customer. He then kept quiet and let me go.

2 nights i was there, room was not changed. Services seems nv appeared. I have paid for everything that's y I could not change to other hotels.

Please do not stay here! Trust me!! Food, service, accommodation all terrible.
Sapa is a nice place to visit, especially those who like adventure. The local, black h'mong can speak english well.

Recommend way to visit sapa, take a flight to hanoi, then take a cab ( only take NoiBai taxi)straight to Thanh Ha st for another 30 mins ($15 usd ). When u arrive there, you can take a walk around, explore the old traditional way of doing business, or culture. You then can find a lot of place provide tour information at no cost. Just walk in n ask them for sapa tour, many options to go for. Ask them for discount if you are traveling in groups. (Average $150/3 days 4 nights including 2 nights on train, 2 night in hotel, tour tickets, meals)
Or, just walk in n buy a train ticket (choose 4 beds, soft/coach), it costs around 30$ usd/way. Then reach Lao Cai station, take a bus to sapa (40 mins away). Once you reach sapa market (the center of sapa) you will find lots of hotels n tour information are there. Ok, here you go!! Believe if you doing home stay over-there will only cost you around $20-30 usd per night. But worth it, you will not believe what you have seen.
Note: prepare sleeping bags, jackets, umbrellas, mosquito or insect spray. Wearing sport shoes or slippers, cos you will need to clim up n down the mountains. Backpack is the best way to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank IvyTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sapa hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We did not stay at this hotel. We arranged our Sapa trip through Vietnam Awesome Travel (excellent company) and they used this hotel for transport, meals and trekking in Sapa.
The transport at Lao Cai was there to pick us up from the train but the person did not speak to us throughout the whole trip to Sapa so there was no information forthcoming.
Our brekky at Auberge was average at best. We ate two dinners there which were okay - there are better places to eat in Sapa. The manager was very keen that we eat every meal there but it was not really enjoyable. The staff are not that helpful (compared to other places where we have stayed and ate in Vietnam) and insist on sitting you all at a table together which means being crammed around a small table sharing communal plates of food with strangers.
The trekking was great in Sapa and we really enjoyed it.
Do yourself a favour and find another place to eat and stay - there are a lot better around than this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We did not actually sleep at this hotel and therefore cannot comment on the rooms. We organized trekking from Hanoi and were to stay a night in a home-stay, with Auberge as our base hotel. On collection from the train station in Lao Cai, there was absolutely no communication as to what the plans were or even if we were on the correct bus. On arrival at the hotel they served a very average breakfast. The service was terrible and the manager abrupt and unhelpful. He was also trying to advertise himself as someone who helps the community however spoke rather patronizingly of the local minority people. On return from trekking we had to ask for a shower, as was originally promised as part of the package, but were shown to what looked like staff quarters where the shower was a trickle so had to resort to using a small plastic bucket and the basin to wash ourselves... On the outside of the door there was no handle (only the pin sticking out), but this didn't stop staff from entering while we were trying to shower. There was also confusion and no communication around plans to return to the train station in Lao Cai, where we were all expected to catch the train back to Hanoi that evening. Once we had finally left, the driver drove recklessly and fast as some tourists were going to otherwise miss their train. In the end we were put on the wrong train, which messed up our transport arrangements on arrival in Hanoi. This was very poorly communicated to us at the time. All in all - not impressed and a complete contradiction to service we had experienced elsewhere in Vietnam. Trekking in Sapa is a must and shouldn't be missed - however make sure that your package doesn't include this hotel. We highly recommend doing a home-stay and thoroughly enjoyed ours - where the shower was actually better!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ross T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Signed up for a Sapa tour in Hanoi, and only know that we were gonna stay in this hotel on the day itself. It is hidden behind some building and located the main street in Sapa. Dining area has indoor and outdoor though both are pretty small. Will recommend the outdoor area where is much cooler. The room itself is huge. However like the other hotels on highland(eg cameron highland), there isn't any a/c nor fan in the room. For ventilation you have to open your window which faces the corridor directly( security/privacy issue). Toilet is huge - urinal, toilet bowl and yesh a bath tub. However the toilet is poorly lit. To make things worse, on the second day of our stay, the entire Sapa experienced black out and toilet was hardly visible.
The room also come with a fire place that I assume that could be used during winter.
Food wise, the lunch and dinner were great. 2 of us were served like dishes. Upon hearing that we don't eat beef, they immediately swapped it with another dish which we really appreciate.
There is also Wifi in this hotel.
Although the place is nice, I will try other hotels around the corner that face the magnificent view in sapa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeiQiangSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Reached the hotel and welcome by a not so friendly receptionist with poor english. In-house breakfast was ok with plenty of choices. Room condition is old and abit dusty. Window cannot close properly and need to use steel wire to lock. Took me more than 15 minutes just to get a hair dryer from the manager. Bad service. The only good point is the good view as I stayed on the top floor.

Country side walking organized by the hotel was terrible as the tour guide brought us walked through construction sites and moving crawler excavator, this is ridiculous!!!

Sleep quality was initially superb due to the good weather, but it turned bad on the next morning, renovation in next room on 7.30am and woke us up with massive noise. Called the manager and thank god they stop the renovation and noise. Second day visiting was not as schedule, we suppose to have lunch by the waterfall, but end up have to walked back to the hotel for lunch.

Food provided by the hotel is above average but they charge for the drinks during your meal!

Definitely will not come back to this hotel, highly NOT recommend to stay in this hotel.

Please try other hotel if you are going to Sapa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cheng C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The manager was really rude overall our stay at the auberge. When we got to the auberge we discovered that they had overbooked and there was no room for us even thoughg we had paid in advance. We saw a lot of other people with the same problem.
The manager forced us to go eat outside with other tourist even after we told him it was too cold to go eat outside.
we finally got a good room but had to fight for it. The room however was clean and the view was beautiful.
It is important to know that the trekking that you have to do for the homestay is about 7 hours long. We were told it was about 2 hours. We were really suprised and tired. Also the homestay that the auberge planned was with 10 other tourists and only two peolple from tribes. You might wanna try to get the real experience somewhere else.
Would not go back!!!!!

Room Tip: try to get the room with the balcony over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#43 of 70 in Sapa
12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elysian Sapa Hotel
Elysian Sapa Hotel
#24 of 70 in Sapa
287 reviews
12.4 mi away
Casablanca Hotel
Casablanca Hotel
#56 of 70 in Sapa
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sapa Panorama Hotel
Sapa Panorama Hotel
#26 of 70 in Sapa
540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa Memory Hotel
Sapa Memory Hotel
#21 of 70 in Sapa
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa View Hotel
Sapa View Hotel
#57 of 70 in Sapa
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapa Auberge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa Auberge Hotel

Property: Sapa Auberge Hotel
Address: 031, Cau May Street, Sapa, Vietnam (Formerly Auberge Dang Trung Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 70 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sapa Auberge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sapa Auberge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing