We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best looking hotel around but staffs are great”
Review of Sapa Auberge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sapa Auberge Hotel
Ranked #48 of 68 Hotels in Sapa
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Not the best looking hotel around but staffs are great”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Signed up for a Sapa tour in Hanoi, and only know that we were gonna stay in this hotel on the day itself. It is hidden behind some building and located the main street in Sapa. Dining area has indoor and outdoor though both are pretty small. Will recommend the outdoor area where is much cooler. The room itself is huge. However like the other hotels on highland(eg cameron highland), there isn't any a/c nor fan in the room. For ventilation you have to open your window which faces the corridor directly( security/privacy issue). Toilet is huge - urinal, toilet bowl and yesh a bath tub. However the toilet is poorly lit. To make things worse, on the second day of our stay, the entire Sapa experienced black out and toilet was hardly visible.
The room also come with a fire place that I assume that could be used during winter.
Food wise, the lunch and dinner were great. 2 of us were served like dishes. Upon hearing that we don't eat beef, they immediately swapped it with another dish which we really appreciate.
There is also Wifi in this hotel.
Although the place is nice, I will try other hotels around the corner that face the magnificent view in sapa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeiQiangSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    51
    31
    25
    36
See reviews for
27
76
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Reached the hotel and welcome by a not so friendly receptionist with poor english. In-house breakfast was ok with plenty of choices. Room condition is old and abit dusty. Window cannot close properly and need to use steel wire to lock. Took me more than 15 minutes just to get a hair dryer from the manager. Bad service. The only good point is the good view as I stayed on the top floor.

Country side walking organized by the hotel was terrible as the tour guide brought us walked through construction sites and moving crawler excavator, this is ridiculous!!!

Sleep quality was initially superb due to the good weather, but it turned bad on the next morning, renovation in next room on 7.30am and woke us up with massive noise. Called the manager and thank god they stop the renovation and noise. Second day visiting was not as schedule, we suppose to have lunch by the waterfall, but end up have to walked back to the hotel for lunch.

Food provided by the hotel is above average but they charge for the drinks during your meal!

Definitely will not come back to this hotel, highly NOT recommend to stay in this hotel.

Please try other hotel if you are going to Sapa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cheng C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sapa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The manager was really rude overall our stay at the auberge. When we got to the auberge we discovered that they had overbooked and there was no room for us even thoughg we had paid in advance. We saw a lot of other people with the same problem.
The manager forced us to go eat outside with other tourist even after we told him it was too cold to go eat outside.
we finally got a good room but had to fight for it. The room however was clean and the view was beautiful.
It is important to know that the trekking that you have to do for the homestay is about 7 hours long. We were told it was about 2 hours. We were really suprised and tired. Also the homestay that the auberge planned was with 10 other tourists and only two peolple from tribes. You might wanna try to get the real experience somewhere else.
Would not go back!!!!!

Room Tip: try to get the room with the balcony over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

This place was once a showcase. It is a beautiful building with great views. Maintenance obviously is tough for a building this old, but it's necessary. The lightbulbs in the lamps are either burned out or the lamps do not work at all. The plugs are scarce for recharging and the hair dryer is hard wired to the cords from the wall next to the bed. But I loved the place, it was like a camp. The guest are happy and enjoy swapping tips on favorite Vietnam locations.

One reviewer suggested not to get a package tour but to allow Mahn Nguyen the manager ro book trips. My friend made our arrangements and she thought she could have gotten a better deal before arriving. Some guest had packages with trains and tours. That would have saved us money for sure. But I have to say the tours we took were wonderful, but very expensive. My friend had trouble with all the stairs. But note: this is on the top of a mountain. Be prepared to climb stairs and hills and emmm mountains.
The food was superb and abundant. The rooms were very clean and pretty. There is no shower curtain but the water is hot and the water pressure is fantastic. I enjoyed a long hot soak in the long bathtub. The sink leaked a little and that was annoying to get wet feet when brushing my teeth. But I neglected to mention that to Mr. Nguyen so it's not fair to complain.
Aside from the tours being on the high side of a dong I did enjoy my stay very much.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copemf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Arrived in Sapa after taking overnight train and then detouring to Bac Ha markets.
Arrived at hotel at 5pm, tired and hoping to settle in.
When checking in we were told to wait as the room was not ready.
After 30 minutes of waiting, we asked how long it would be and were told "yeah yeah yeah its ready".
We were then lead to a room half cleaned and waited a few minutes for them to finish.

The room itself was basic and the floor dirty.
The bathroom was old and facilities broken.

We tried to find someone in the hotel to advise us on our plans as we wanted to do an overnight homestay the following day, but we couldn't find anyone at reception after waiting 5 minutes.
No worries, there were plenty of tour organisers around.
The next day we checked out having booked our tour.
As we were checking out, we asked the manager if we could leave our bags at the hotel or have a shower when we returned from the homestay (before taking another overnight train to Hanoi).
He dismissively said no and turned us away.
He obviously was annoyed we had not booked with his hotel despite the lack of opportunity given.

Hotel was not horrible, but relatively bad versus the other great experiences we have had in Vietnam.
From talking to other travellers in Sapa, seems like there are better value options with more friendly and helpful staff available.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank MrBobblyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

First impression for this hotel is friendly, all staff are very young and they are so so lovely. We have 2 lunchs here and both of them are so delicious. It seems that the cooking is a boy, he is around 20 years old but his meals are all very good.

The location is fine, located on a central with many services and restaurants besides.

The room is is .. cold, and some people hire heater 100.000VND/nite, but I reference you use chimney/fireplace (i donot know exactly what they called) on the room, it so so romantic in a place as Sapa.

Many local tour guide can use English and France fluently in Sapa, so do not so worry about that.

Some interrested place for you in Sapa: Ham Rong Mountain (nice view from the mountain)
Cat Cat Village (you should go to the end of this village, every body always go to the waterfall and back to the begining gate, but the view at the end is the best one)
Thac Bac - Bac Waterfall (I will do not back there, cause there are nothing interested)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have a mixed review about this hotel. The staff was very friendly and negligent sometimes. The food was delicious but it was cold. The rates of water and other beverages are very high than normal. What ever, you will have no problem staying here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sai Karthik Red... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#43 of 68 in Sapa
11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elysian Sapa Hotel
Elysian Sapa Hotel
#24 of 68 in Sapa
285 reviews
12.4 mi away
Casablanca Hotel
Casablanca Hotel
#55 of 68 in Sapa
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sapa Memory Hotel
Sapa Memory Hotel
#22 of 68 in Sapa
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Lodge
Sapa Lodge
#21 of 68 in Sapa
550 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Gecko Hotel
Le Gecko Hotel
#37 of 68 in Sapa
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapa Auberge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa Auberge Hotel

Property: Sapa Auberge Hotel
Address: 031, Cau May Street, Sapa, Vietnam (Formerly Auberge Dang Trung Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 68 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sapa Auberge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sapa Auberge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing