We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodations and restaurant”
Review of Sapa Auberge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sapa Auberge Hotel
Ranked #47 of 76 Hotels in Sapa
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I stayed here the one night I was in Sapa. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The owner and his staff were unbelievably helpful. I had developed some kind of sore just below my nose before I arrived. The owner was so concerned about it that he sent his staff to the pharmacy to get something to help it heal. He kept checking in with me about it over the two days I was there!

The owner was also very helpful in setting up tours of Sapa. All tours of the minority Hmong villages in Sapa are much the same but it was nice to see that there was a Hmong woman who worked in the Auberge.

The restaurant at the Auberge had the best food I've had at a guest house/auberge ever. The chef's food was unbelievable and the menu was incredibly extensive. I was particularly happy to see so many vegetarian options. In fact, it was one of the reasons I decided to stay at the Auberge Dang Trung. I had what were quite possibly the best cold spring rolls I've ever had at the Auberge's restaurant! The food was truly unbelievable.

As a final plus, the Auberge is up on a bit of a hill so you get a great view of the surrounding mountains. The rooms are also reasonably priced (around $18 or $20 USD per night).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbunny_toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 209 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2011

We did not stay here but booked a tour through this hotel. The manager sat us down with free tea and went through all the options, explained it all thoroughly. We chose the 3 day 2 night trek and arranged it for the next day. Next morning we came to the hotel and everything was ready to go. Our guide (named Song from the Hmong tribe) was so great, the food was amazing and plentiful, and the homestays were very authentic. The only downside was the families spoke very little English but it wasn't really a problem and we are in their home so it shouldn't be expected. At the end of the three days our pickup back to Sapa was there when expected and upon returning he let us have a warm shower upon returning. He also helped us adjust the time of our train ticket and gave us a free ride to the train station. Overall it was just fantastic and I would highly highly recommend booking a tour through this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keithm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We arrived off train at 6.30 a.m. had to climb stairs and when asked for help with the bags were ignored. Did not expect to go straight to room but owner was quite rude to us and told us off for booking through an agency and not directly with him. Very reluctant to talk to us and kept talking on his phone and ignoring our questions. Room was large but toilet backed up after first flush and no light in bathroom. Felt we were a nuisance everytime we wanted to talk to him. Had booked for two nights but left after first day. First time that we had struck a lack of hospitality in Vietnam

Room Tip: In Sapa check if there is a lift if you need it as the climbs to your room can be extremely difficul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Arrived early morning as arranged; we were 3 and had agreed to a 3 bed room if no other available; however, after having initially had to dump our luggage into a grotty room with no available lockers (they were either taken or had broken locks), we were finally shown a room by lunchtime. The room had damp, mould and a musty smell; a cracked washbasin, dodgy wiring to hairdryer and lamp, broken curtain rail, no hot water until much later in the day. When we pointed this out the owner stated that there was nothing else available for 3 (which as previously explained had not been an essential requirement) and claimed joint between new and old parts of Building caused damp. No heater in the room and none was provided although it was requested. Food adequate but not generous.

Room Tip: Insist that rooms must meet hotel standards. Note that most rooms in that hotel might have accommod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LOUIE787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Family run hotel with great view. The owner and family work hard to give you a good experience. No wet blankets or towels from our point of view; just a nice room and good hot shower after a wet day of trekking. They actually had shoe drying service!
All the tours were well organized by the hotel and they were quite flexible. As said in other reviews: ask for ms Mo for guide!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafioli_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I went to Sapa with a group of 5 in Oct 2011 and stayed in Auberge Dang Trung for a night. We had booked 3 rooms in total and all the rooms are in good conditions. The manager, Dang Trung Thuc is very polite and provides an excellent service to us. The food provided was great and he arranged our tour to the local villages. He even arranged transportation to train station and send us to there personally. He makes sure all of us get our train ticket before he left us (for your information: it is very confusing to get a train ticket in the station without knowing their language). Overall, we had a very good experience with Auberge Dang Trung Hotel. =D

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BudgetTraveller0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Owner and family run. The owner is also the coordinator of the Sapa tours, if you booked one from Hanoi. Hotel is located centrally in the tourist district in Sapa, but set back from the street. He is very courteous and helpful. The hotel architectural style is very European-- beautiful grounds and building.. All rooms have a fireplace, but I recommend not using it unless you want to smoke yourself. They are clean and comfortable. The included meals were scrumptious, served group style.

Be warned: The hotel has a "curfew"-- the doors lock completely at 11 pm.-- no exceptions. The owner is a very principled and religious man, and believes that guests are here to rest (sleep) at night. If you are here to sample the pubs, nightlife, or mating opportunities of Sapa, make suitable sleeping arrangements.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jollyguy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sapa Panorama Hotel
Sapa Panorama Hotel
#26 of 76 in Sapa
551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain View Hotel
Mountain View Hotel
#35 of 76 in Sapa
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa View Hotel
Sapa View Hotel
#61 of 76 in Sapa
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casablanca Hotel
Casablanca Hotel
#59 of 76 in Sapa
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Lodge Hotel
Sapa Lodge Hotel
#24 of 76 in Sapa
567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoang Ha Sapa Hotel
Hoang Ha Sapa Hotel
#30 of 76 in Sapa
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapa Auberge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa Auberge Hotel

Address: 031, Cau May Street, Sapa, Vietnam (Formerly Auberge Dang Trung Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 76 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range: $15 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapa Auberge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sapa Auberge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing