We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view and average hotel”
Review of Sapa Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sapa Summit Hotel
Ranked #53 of 79 Hotels in Sapa
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My family stayed here for two nights. Room was very basic: tiles on floor, no AC (which I didn't need anyway 'cause it was cold and rainy), no back-up generator so candle during power cut, shower hanging over toilet. One big problem was that they turned off the hot water whenever they felt like it and would sometimes forget to turn it on so mostly had cold showers (not nice when it's cold). Wifi in room. Breakfast nothing special: the usual choice between bread jam/butter, bread ommelette, bread scrambled eggs and pancake. Location and view are ok. At little bit uphill but close enough to central square. As with several other hotels in Sapa only one person at hotel (most often manager) speaks english and is away most of the day. rest of the staff don't understand English very well.

Room Tip: shoud choose the new building blog, staying in the room with bacony on 3, 4 floor with nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 312 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel is located in a very bad condition. The room smelled musty and in particular the ceiling. Everything is wet. In addition to several broken lamps, especially the cleanliness in the bathroom was inadequate. But meals and breakfasts are very good even with dishes for vegetarians

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xian.byung_soo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

our 1 night stay in the Sapa Summit Hotel was terrible for the following reasons: 1. rooms are dirty and smell awful. 2. staff is not friendly or helpful. 3. food is not good. 4. bathroom is dirty. 4. our room had no view. 5. check-in in the morning is very chaotic, and you cannot use the rooms upon arrival (as promised by our travel agency). 6. there are not enough common showers and toilets. 7. the restaurant is dirty. 8. the plates are dirty. 9. the tables are dirty. 10. there is not enough space for all the luggage in the small luggage room. In addition, you are staying in this hotel with another 150 guest. nice....

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirjam44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

When I arrived at the hotel I had been ill for several days and taking Gastro Stop had made no difference to my condition Upon arrival to Sapa I enquired about accessing a pharmacy for stronger medication.Sean,the general manager recommended that,as the pharmacist was also a doctor,it might be appropriate to have him make a visit.When he came he put me on a drip ,took some blood samples and returned with the results that I has severe virus from infected seafood (eaten in Ha Long Bay) As the doctor did not speak English,the travel agent and mainly Sean spent a lot of time in the room translating for me,which was greatly appreciated ,especially as he made around 8 visits in the 2 days with medications,drips etc.
The hotel room was excellent ,with the most magnificent view over the mountains,with a small balcony which would take 2 chairs.The bathroom was well fitted out with good toiletries and the bed comfortable.My husband was very happy with the food offered.Unfortunately we didn't do the tours booked,but a hired a driver and were taken on a private tour to a village.
i would love to go back to Sapa and would definitely stay at the hotel.Sean was more than helpful in every way possible -his assistance ensured that we had the best stay possible under the circumstances,

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeighMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed there because of a tour.
We had no view, so we want to change from room. This was oke, and we had a great view. But the sheets were dirty. There were a lot of yellow spots on the white sheets, really disguisting.
The food was terrible, all the meals were included but we ate somewhere else because it was that bad!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The sapa summit hotel was excellent! We ended up at this place through a tour we booked through a travel agency, but the hotel did everything from pick you up from the train station, transf to the hotel, organise the hmong tour guides for the walk, and provided excellent accommodation with meals included.

The going rate for a room is about $20usd a night for a double room including meals for when you are there.

A tour with sleeper bus return from Hanoi including 1 night in the hotel and 1 night home stay is about $65usd per person (shop around - from Flower Travel agent in the Hanoi Municipal Hotel). Expect to pay between $25 - $75 more for a sleeper train (depending on how much they rip you off!)

They have 4 toilets/showers to use on arrival after the sleeper train/bus trip and provide you with breakfast. 

The rooms are great, the room we stayed in only had fans but the view from the hotel is amazing. 

The meals from the Restraunt were filling, fresh and delicious. However the menu became a bit repetitive after a while, predominantly fried spring rolls, soup of the day, rice, bananas and a meat dish of your choosing.

The guides were great and were local hmong people. There was one main guide for our group the 3 days of trekking we did, who looked after our group and provided is with information about where we were. They also have many friends who come with you.

The first day was a 3 hour easy walk down and hard climb up, from the local tourist area in sapa valley.

The second day was a 10km 5 hour down hill trek through villages into the home stay. It's more like a purpose built town full on houses built for home stays, that are like mini hotels. They are built with many many beds, westerner toilets, a bar and a large kitche. Although the house is wooden, and built by locals, do not think by home stay your are going to be invited into someones living room to share in their culture and food. There was about 20 of us in this home stay, which was great.

The third day was a trek out of the home stay, and on to lunch. The last meal was full on as the local Hmong people who have been guiding you through  the mud and down the slippery slopes pressure you to buy their trinkets much more than previously. The walk is about 3km and 3 hours, I which you get many more great views and meet up with the road again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank dpepps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed here as part of a tour to Sapa. We got a room with a fantastic view over the valley. The food was of a high standard and the menu choices had something for everybody. Located up the hill from the main town but only a 5 minute walk. Looks like its still unde construction in a few places. The tours went off without a hitch.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeyjoejoeshabadooJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.5 mi away
Sapa Lodge Hotel
Sapa Lodge Hotel
#26 of 79 in Sapa
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#11 of 79 in Sapa
674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa Auberge Hotel
Sapa Auberge Hotel
#52 of 79 in Sapa
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sapa Snow Hotel
Sapa Snow Hotel
#27 of 79 in Sapa
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Eden Hotel
Sapa Eden Hotel
#40 of 79 in Sapa
438 reviews
0.7 mi away
Olympia Sapa Hotel
Olympia Sapa Hotel
#23 of 79 in Sapa
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapa Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa Summit Hotel

Address: Thacbac Road | Sapa Town, Sapa 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range: $22 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sapa Summit Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sapa Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Sapa
Sapa Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing