We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improvement but not great”
Review of Bamboo Sapa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bamboo Sapa Hotel
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Sapa
Reviewed April 4, 2007

We were told that this hotel was 3 star. Definitely not - we upgraded from their awful Green Bamboo to a room in the Bamboo Sapa. The wanted $45US a night, but we got it for $40. Still not worth it when you compare to other hotels. It is old, paint is peeling from walls, rooms do have a fantastic view and that is its drawcard - but many other hotels in Sapa also have this. Hotel does do a great buffet breakfast. But for the price we were really not impressed. It has TV, but no english chanels - italian was the closest - who knows why. We had all meals at the hotel but wished we could have gone elsewhere, as it seems there was great food to be had, but our package came inclusive of meals. Next trip to SAPA which is an amazing place I would definitely stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
There are newer reviews for Bamboo Sapa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 494 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2006

My husband and I stayed here for one night during our 2 week vacation through Vietnam. We thought the view from our room was breath-taking and we appreciated the fact that we were sleeping in a clean, cool room. Outside of that I thought the hotel was overpriced ($48 US)for the quality of the facility (I think it's showing it's age) and also in comparison to other "budget" hotels that we stayed in during our trip. The food was less than average and I would have preferred a hotel location that was more central vs tucked away at the end of the road like this one.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suzypac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2006

I stayed at the Bamboo Sapa in early Dec.05 I thought the rooms were clean,had everything you needed and well priced at $35 (midweek)The views were stunning.The food was satisfactory and far better than the Royal where I had several meals.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brianstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2006

Given the competition this hotel is looking a little tired and overpriced, with an uninspiring restaurant and an uninviting lobby. The rooms however are pleasant and enough and the views are stunning. Nonetheless we chose to move next door to the brand new Royal View Hotel - much better value.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edwardLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2006

The views, spacious rooms and people of Sapa are amazing. It was the most memorable place I have ever been from a cultural perspective.

Hotel is in a great location with excellent views and spacious rooms. Average quality with a large bathroom (that smells like propane) but more than comfortable. The beds are very soft and the odd pillow cases fit on top of the pillow so that they can fall off during the night.

You will enjoy the surroundings of Sapa including the Black H'Mong kids who try to imitate you when they sell you things.

Lots of eateries around the hotel but the restaurant has poor quality food that is over priced.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hosta_La_Vista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2005

This is a sister hotel to the Green Bamboo, a more upmarket hotel but still well priced (US$45 per night through Vietnamstay.com), built into the side of the mountain (ask for room with mountain view), one of the best views in town. The room was good, nothing flash but very clean and pleasant, the staff were very helpful and would be happy to recommend this hotel.

7  Thank Bayshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Christof I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
#32 of 73 in Sapa
582 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sapa Diamond Hotel
Sapa Diamond Hotel
#18 of 73 in Sapa
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Paradise View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sapa Legend Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#1 of 73 in Sapa
405 reviews
0.4 mi away
H'Mong Sapa Hotel
H'Mong Sapa Hotel
#35 of 73 in Sapa
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Sapa Hotel

Address: 018 Muong Hoa Road, Sapa 0084, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range: $38 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Sapa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Bamboo Sapa Hotel is considered one of the leading Vietnam hotels in Sapa, especially well-known for its incredible views of the valley and its unbeatable service. Guests are provided a unique stay, different from other Vietnam accommodation options. The cosy rooms at Bamboo Sapa Hotel will leave a lasting impression! One of the best restaurants in Sapa is located at Bamboo Sapa Hotel. Serving a rich menu with over 100 traditional Vietnamese dishes cooked by an experienced chef, the delicious food combined with the excellent service continually build this Sapa restaurant's ranking. What better than to eat gourmet Vietnamese food at the foot of Fansipan Mt? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bamboo Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Hotel Sapa
Sapa Bamboo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing